Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

OH is hands down the best non-profit I have ever had the privilege giving my time and money too. Jennifer is an angel. A gift from God that blesses so many families. She IS the reason my husband and I had the courage to adopt our three beautiful children from Ghana. She gave me direction, strength, inspiration, help, love, encouragement......all straight from her heart. She is an amazing mom, a tireless warrior for those in need and has a heart bigger than anyone I know. She is truly a gift. She is kind and honest and the hardest worker......THANK GOD for OH!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 1, 2012

more

July 1, 2012

I was blessed to learn of Orphans Heroes through my daughter. Her work in Ghana led her to this organization and when she returned I was invited to join her. Jenn'a devotion to the cause goes far beyond what I can describe. Her concern for the children is evident in every step she takes. I returned from my week in Ghana knowing someone was in the kids' corner and leading a charge to provide for them and ultimately improve every aspect of their lives. They are not standing alone thanks to Orphans Heroes. Having worked in education for close to thirty years I know how critical mentors/advocates are for children. Jenn is a true advocate whose ultimate goal is a better life for these children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 30, 2012

more

June 30, 2012

The work of Orphans' Heroes (OH) is truly changing lives. I write this from a volunteer perspective as I have now traveled to Ghana, Africa twice to volunteer to work in orphanages and teach music with children. The second time I visited Ghana I brought my entire family and a few friends along with me. Under the direction of Jennifer Millett-Barrett of OH we were aware of the specific needs of the children before we arrived at the orphanage, and so we brought many supplies overseas with us. Jennifer's outstanding leadership of Orphans' Heroes has made this non-profit soar. Jen is constantly researching and building awareness about the needs of vulnerable children world-wide. Her passion and dedication is infectious and creates a feeling of commitment among all of us who support and volunteer through OH. She has become a mentor to me, and a friend. I have plans to return to Ghana soon to help OH with caring for children, researching, or anything they might need. I believe, 100%, in the integrity and vision of Orphans' Heroes.

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 30, 2012

more

June 30, 2012

Words cannot express the continued support and gratitude our family feels towards Orphans Heroes (OH) under the strong leadership of Jennifer Millett-Barrett. In 2010, our family of 8 volunteered for two weeks at an orphanage in Hohoe, Ghana that was supported by Orphans Heroes. When we arrived I felt such sadness about these precious children having no parents and being brought up in an orphanage in general. They were in such great need. Upon our arrival, we heard about Jennifer of OH and officially met her during one of her visits to the orphanage. Jennifer sailed into the orphanage bringing games, laughter, and joy along with her. We learned about what Jen was accomplishing through OH: enabling the orphanage to have educated teachers, housemothers, food, water and educational trips. Orphans Heroes has also secured financial sponsors for many of the children. It was originally Jennifer's e-mail expressing the needs in this orphanage that inspired our family to take this trip and bring along with us 12 extra suitcases of supplies for the children. My husband, daughter and I have become active donors and advocates for Orphans Heroes. We are so grateful for the opportunity to be a part of their important and life-changing work.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Meeting the children that are being served by Orphans Heroes. Seeing the opportunities they have had for growth and education because of funding from OH.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes, opened my eyes to the great need for support for children all over the world.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Like I could truly make a difference.

June 30, 2012

more

June 30, 2012

I have never felt better about giving my time, effort and money to an organization than I do about Orphans' Heroes (OH). To know the heart of President and Founder Jennifer Millett-Barrett, you trust that the children and families OH touches are provided an opportunity among bleak circumstances. From the moment I heard about and reached out to OH, I felt connected and in the loop as to what the mission was, how the goals would be reached and what I could do to help get there. There is an intimate feel with OH that I've not found with any other non-profit. The children in Africa who are blessed with connections to OH have an unwavering advocate in their corner with Jennifer Millett-Barrett at the helm.

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 30, 2012

more

June 30, 2012

I was first introduced to Orphans' Heroes when we got involved with an orphanage in Ghana in 2010. I met Jennifer and have had the privilege of returning to Ghana with her on a subsequent trip. My family and I have an ongoing relationship with OH as volunteers and donors. In my life I have met many people who have stepped up to help others....but none as dedicated as Jennifer. Her heart is HUGE.....but more importantly.....her knowledge of the people and culture in Ghana, as well as all her connections with the different organizations that are working together to provide food, education, medical assistance and even homes to so many children is definitely making a difference in the world. Her continued work to save so many children from the sex trafficking trade as well as to bring water to so many communities has impressed me repeatedly. I truly believe this is one of the most reputable and worthwhile organizations I am involved in and I am very grateful to Jennifer for keeping me in the loop regarding the child we are sponsoring through OH. My family and I will continue to support Jennifer and Orphans' Heroes and look forward to returning to Ghana with her soon.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 30, 2012

more

June 30, 2012

We first met Jen during a family mission trip to Ghana. We spent 10 days volunteering at an orphanage in Hohoe. She was like an angel to all the kids there. She exudes love and compassion for children. Most importantly she takes action! She is completely devoted to helping others in need and has led OH to an ever growing mission in Africa. We are so thankful to know her, and happy to support OH.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

I was drawn to OH in 2009, because I loved how personally Jen approached the people of Ghana. She truly believes that every child is worth fighting for, and she goes to bat for them in the most ethical and respectful ways possible. Since 2009, I have watched OH transform hopeless children into bright, successful young adults on their way to making a difference in their families and communities. Jen is committed to stopping the root causes of poverty and trafficking, and she continues to include others who have passion and experience to offer that mission. Being involved in OH has forever changed who I am, what's important to me and how I will choose to live my life in the future. I am forever grateful for the friendships, lessons and inspiration that OH and Jen have given me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

When I first met Jennifer Millett-Barrett she told me that when she was a small child she told her mother that she wanted to "cure world hunger." Since then, she has devoted her life to saving the lives of African children, first in Ghana, and then in Kenya. She told me about Orphans' Heroes, her charity, and I immediately made a donation to help put a roof on the school connected with the orphanage. Jen has always, without acception, been able to told her donors exactly what happens and who is helped by the money we give. She has not abandoned one project just to take on another. When she is devoted to particular children and their families, there is complete follow-through, no matter the obstacles. I have donated to this charity exclusively, and yearly, ever since we first met. I am humbled when in her presence and very, very proud to be her friend and "in it for the long haul-donor to Orphans' Heroes. Vicki Sara Blumberg, M.D.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

Jen is a true hero and inspiration! The organization that she runs, Orphan's Heroes, is making a real difference to children in Africa. Saving children from slavery, sex trafficking and preventable disease is all in a day's work for Jen. But it does not end there. She really cares. So with education, teaching them skills and by being someone to watch over them, she provides of environment of safety, growth and love.

This is a true life calling for Jen, and the love and passion she has for it is visible. Very little of the funds are used for administrative expenses because nearly all of it is going to help the children. Once children are in a safe environment, Orphan's Heroes is providing education, clean water, and skills that set the stage for a life of independence and empowerment. It is amazing what a difference small amounts of money can make to these children. For the cost of a lunch, one child can have health care for a year!

For all of us, the fortunate ones, we should support and help Jen in whichever way we can.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers