Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
1234.777785
Write A Review
November 11, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
February 14, 2014

I have been donating and volunteering at this organization for almost two years, and I find Brent's (the president of Orphan Acres) dedication and tenacity inspiring. Currently, over 80 horses reside ... more

November 11, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I am both a volunteer and donor at this fabulous organization. I know that every cent goes to the cause, which is why I have been donating and fundraising to Orphan Acres Inc. for several years now. I did a lot of fundraising such as yard sales, snow-shoveling driveways, and going to the local Farmer's Market to inform others of this amazing rescue in need of help. Financial stability is key for a successful rescue, especially when horses are involved since they tend to be very expensive to care for. I wish to see more efforts to help this organization and their life-saving work. More community involvement needs to take place for this non-profit to grow. Orphan Acres Inc. has been life-changing for me, because several years ago, I had a horse sponsored under my name, and was able to care for her myself. We went on walks, I brushed and fed her, and she had the most beautiful last years. Sponsoring a mare there was nothing short of a fantasy come true, since I had always wanted a horse to 'call my own'. She was the most beautiful thing that has come into my life, and I am so thankful that Orphan Acres Inc. made her senior years golden. If it weren't for Orphan Acres Inc., my sweet, sweet Cassidy wouldn't have had the life she so much deserved. Along with every other horse that has come through those gates, there is a story untold, a companion waiting for his/her new adoptive owner, and an individual unlike any other. Knowing that my fundraising and money goes to such a great cause makes my heart rise.
February 14, 2014
8 people found this review helpful

I have been donating and volunteering at this organization for almost two years, and I find Brent's (the president of Orphan Acres) dedication and tenacity inspiring. Currently, over 80 horses reside at this wonderful nonprofit, either living out their lives, or waiting to be adopted into a forever and loving home. Some horses are brought from horrific situations, and are then rehabilitated at this sanctuary. Most horses are brought in because the owner could either no longer care or afford the horse, so many of these horses have great potential and would make a great family pet. Going out and volunteering is really a great experience because you get to bond with all different kinds of horses, and help your community. This organization is in great need of help, for both manual labor, and financial expenses. I would definitely recommend this place for anyone.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to get more people involved, by getting more volunteers, donors, and fundraisers going. Also, there is a huge misconception about this organization. Many individuals have been spreading rumors about this place that are false. This individual (s) has gone to every review of this organization to try to spread false information, like that there's a private breeding stock, animals are abused, and other garbage to try to hurt this nonprofit. All these rumors are false, and I want to clarify that.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 9, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 9, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I volunteered here and I loved it. It is obvious to me that everyone there really cares about the animals. They were also extremely nice to volunteers, showing how greatly appreciated we were. They gave us hot chocolate because it was cold and windy outside while we were working. I helped give the horses de-wormers and brushed their coats. Everyone there was amazing to work with. It's a great place.
December 7, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 7, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I met Brent Glover several years ago as a delivery driver in his area. After researching his organization I find that very few people are as compassionate and knowledgeable about horses as he is. His dedication is understood only after a visit to his rescue. His organization is responsible for saving literally thousands of perfectly good horses. The proof is in the pudding!
December 6, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 6, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Loved volunteering here! Everyone was so kind and truly showed a passion for what they do! It's easy to tell that their intentions are genuine and that they have a true love for helping others!
December 6, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 6, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Today was my first time volunteering here! It was such a great experience. Everyone was so friendly and helpful in showing me the ways. It was a great place to help out and spend some time with the horses! All the people at this place are just wonderful and have great ambitions and heart!
December 6, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 6, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I loved volunteering here. It was my first time and everyone there helped me out and showed me the ropes. The owners were awesome and very helpful! All the horses were friendly. I really enjoyed spending my time here.
November 29, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 29, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I’m a volunteer at Orphan Acres. I admire Brent’s dedication and respect for the horses, the boundless patience and infinite love he has for them. I love going to Orphan Acres, working there and meeting other volunteers. This is such a noble cause and it is the most rewarding work you can ever do. You can help care for the horses, get to know them and have memorable moments with these wonderful animals. I feel like what you give comes back to you tenfold. It’s an amazing experience. I wish I had known about Orphan Acres many years ago and volunteered a lot sooner.
November 29, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 29, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I have gone to Orphan Acres about 3 times now, and every time I am amazed by the selfless dedication of Brent Glover, the president of the organization. He toils year long through thick and thin with the help of other volunteers to give the horses of the sanctuary the best possible lives. Despite not being what one would call an "animal person," the satisfaction of knowing I did something to help these animals is enough to ensure that I will return.
November 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been to Orphan Acres about 5 times, in the times i have gone there i have brushed the horses, fed them, and cleaned stalls. Orphan Acres, however, really needs more volunteer help, along with donations. Brent (the president of Orphan Acres) cares for the 80 horses on their property and cares for them 24/7. I wish to see this organization grow to be able to support the current animals and future ones as well. The reason I put 4 stars in stead of 5 is because it needs more support to reach its full potential in the near or far future to come.


P.S. (It also counts for volunteer hours if thats something you need)
November 18, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

November 18, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

I have been volunteering here about once every weekend or other weekend for the past year and I find that Orphan Acres is not only a great place for the horses to go when they need help, but it is also a great learning experience for those that come out to volunteer. Whether its learning how to feed them, haltering, putting blankets on, brushing, walking the blind horses or working on many of the construction projects there you will always learn something. Going out there for over a year, I find that I still learn something new every time, but I also try to teach those that come out for there first or second time. Recently we started putting blankets on for the winter and I learned how to put the blanket on, then showed several people how to catch, halter them, and put blankets on. The horses there are often very friendly because of the care that they get there. This shows that the horses truly are getting rehabilitated, but also allows the volunteers to enjoy the company of the horses as well and helps them become less afraid and more confident around horses. Overall, this is a great organization that Brent has going there and he could definitely use all the help that he can get whether monetary or as volunteer work.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers