Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
1234.736845
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 11, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
February 14, 2014

I have been donating and volunteering at this organization for almost two years, and I find Brent's (the president of Orphan Acres) dedication and tenacity inspiring. Currently, over 80 horses reside ... more

November 11, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I am both a volunteer and donor at this fabulous organization. I know that every cent goes to the cause, which is why I have been donating and fundraising to Orphan Acres Inc. for several years now. I did a lot of fundraising such as yard sales, snow-shoveling driveways, and going to the local Farmer's Market to inform others of this amazing rescue in need of help. Financial stability is key for a successful rescue, especially when horses are involved since they tend to be very expensive to care for. I wish to see more efforts to help this organization and their life-saving work. More community involvement needs to take place for this non-profit to grow. Orphan Acres Inc. has been life-changing for me, because several years ago, I had a horse sponsored under my name, and was able to care for her myself. We went on walks, I brushed and fed her, and she had the most beautiful last years. Sponsoring a mare there was nothing short of a fantasy come true, since I had always wanted a horse to 'call my own'. She was the most beautiful thing that has come into my life, and I am so thankful that Orphan Acres Inc. made her senior years golden. If it weren't for Orphan Acres Inc., my sweet, sweet Cassidy wouldn't have had the life she so much deserved. Along with every other horse that has come through those gates, there is a story untold, a companion waiting for his/her new adoptive owner, and an individual unlike any other. Knowing that my fundraising and money goes to such a great cause makes my heart rise.
February 14, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

I have been donating and volunteering at this organization for almost two years, and I find Brent's (the president of Orphan Acres) dedication and tenacity inspiring. Currently, over 80 horses reside at this wonderful nonprofit, either living out their lives, or waiting to be adopted into a forever and loving home. Some horses are brought from horrific situations, and are then rehabilitated at this sanctuary. Most horses are brought in because the owner could either no longer care or afford the horse, so many of these horses have great potential and would make a great family pet. Going out and volunteering is really a great experience because you get to bond with all different kinds of horses, and help your community. This organization is in great need of help, for both manual labor, and financial expenses. I would definitely recommend this place for anyone.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to get more people involved, by getting more volunteers, donors, and fundraisers going. Also, there is a huge misconception about this organization. Many individuals have been spreading rumors about this place that are false. This individual (s) has gone to every review of this organization to try to spread false information, like that there's a private breeding stock, animals are abused, and other garbage to try to hurt this nonprofit. All these rumors are false, and I want to clarify that.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 18, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 18, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have been volunteering here about once every weekend or other weekend for the past year and I find that Orphan Acres is not only a great place for the horses to go when they need help, but it is also a great learning experience for those that come out to volunteer. Whether its learning how to feed them, haltering, putting blankets on, brushing, walking the blind horses or working on many of the construction projects there you will always learn something. Going out there for over a year, I find that I still learn something new every time, but I also try to teach those that come out for there first or second time. Recently we started putting blankets on for the winter and I learned how to put the blanket on, then showed several people how to catch, halter them, and put blankets on. The horses there are often very friendly because of the care that they get there. This shows that the horses truly are getting rehabilitated, but also allows the volunteers to enjoy the company of the horses as well and helps them become less afraid and more confident around horses. Overall, this is a great organization that Brent has going there and he could definitely use all the help that he can get whether monetary or as volunteer work.
October 30, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

My daughter and I have had the distinct pleasure of volunteering at Orphan Acres for a few years. Brent Glover has made it his life's work to give neglected and rejected horses a home. Brent is a patient man and has taught us so much about horses, ourselves and life. Although his place seems and appears (at first sight) to be run down, it is just the opposite. Orphan Acres currently has over 80 horses they care for and when no volunteers are able to be there, Brent does everything on his own. With what little money he obtains from donations, he insures these horses have a food in their bellies, roofs over their heads and medication when needed. Brent has truly made his ‘mark’ in this world. We love Orphan Acres and our time spent there. Brent is a wonderful individual and ‘Horse Whisperer’. Brent Glover is a very dedicated, caring individual that has earned the respect of his volunteers and horses that supersede anything I’ve ever seen. If you are in the area, I highly recommend stopping by for a tour. Thank you Brent for all you do and for all you have taught us. –Lynelle and McKenzie
October 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My children, my high school students, and I have volunteered occasionally at Orphan Acres for over 10 years. Brent Glover, the director, is selfless in his dedication to the horses. He effectively models and mentors others in the art of "gentling" horses. Volunteers are always needed, and Brent is more than willing to share his expertise to train them. Orphan Acres is a great place to help horses who have been mistreated or neglected and to give something back to these majestic and deserving creatures.
October 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I've been to Orphan Acres several times, and I can guarantee that it's an amazing place, yet it needs your help. Brent is a hardworking man, and his work deserves more recognition. He has dedicated his life to rescuing horses from all different kinds of neglect. You can help Orphan Acres by donating, volunteering, and following their work on social media; Facebook. It's a great cause, and your help will make a difference in the horses' lives. Help is always needed, I highly recommend this non-profit organization.
October 28, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 12, 2012

I have been working with Orphan Acres, Horse Rescue for two years. I love all animals, especially horses and when I met Brent Glover from Orphan Acres, the summer of 2009, on the internet, I had to go... more

October 28, 2014

I relocated four years ago from Tucson to come and help Brent and his wonderful horses. I love volunteering there each weekend. Brent truly cares for each and every horse. He has rehomed 3900 horses in 39 years. He knows each horses name and their story. We love donations and if you are local here in Northern Idaho come and volunteer. My company Earth and Animal wellness helps with safe products at the horse rescue and at the ranch. If you want to know how you can help with fund raising email me at Cindy earthandanimalwellness.com
November 12, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

I have been working with Orphan Acres, Horse Rescue for two years. I love all animals, especially horses and when I met Brent Glover from Orphan Acres, the summer of 2009, on the internet, I had to go up to Viola, Idaho and meet him and the horses he has rescued. I flew up 3 times the summer of 2010. Brent has 75 abused, abandoned and orphaned horses that he takes care of. Some of them have been so abused, they can never be rehomed. He has found homes for 2500. In the 35 years, he has devoted his life to taking care of horses, he knows each of them by name. They respond to him, run to him and he is like the Horse Whisperer. I relocated from Tucson, AZ up to Princeton, Idaho to help him with fund raising and also take care of my "Horse fix.". I had 3 of his horses this summer on my 8 acres. I brought my husband, my 4 rescue dogs and 3 indoor cats. Brent is loved and respected by all of the people in the Palouse Community. That entails the City of Moscow, the City of Pullman, Washington, Troy, Viola and other surrounding cities. He has many volunteers that come out to help take care of the horses and we also have Washington State Vet students that come out to get experience with taking care of the horses. I highly recommend this sanctuary and respect the work that Brent does. Come out and visit us or see us on the internet at www.orphanacres.org.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Orphan Acres and Brent, who runs the sanctuary, are the real deal. The horses come first no matter what. My partner and I volunteered to help at the sanctuary about 4 years ago when we were on the road traveling. Brent treated us like we were family those 4 days when we were helping on the ranch which is the same way he treats all of the horses under his care--like family. He has a magic touch with these animals which was a joy to see. They know he's there for them 100%. We've been donors to OA ever since that wonderful experience. Keep up the great work for the horses, Brent!
October 28, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

Orphan Acres is one of the few non-profit organizations that actually dedicates 100% of their time into doing their work. Orphan Acres is an organization that deserves every penny donated to them, and much more. The people of this organization show a pure passion for what they do. They save the lives of countless animals of all species, but not only that, they change the lives of all the people that get involved. Without Orphan Acres, thousands of lives would have been lost. I highly recommend not only donating to this organization, but volunteering also. You will not only change the lives of the animals you help, but they will change your life too. Orphan Acres is an incredibly important organization to the community of Latah County. It has inspired hundreds of people from all walks of life, including high schools, elementary schools, and the community as a whole. I HIGHLY recommend this incredible organization.
October 28, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have volunteered for Orphan Acres for 5 years. They show true care and compassion for all the horses. One person who is the heart and soul of Orphan Acres has devoted his life to saving these noble animals.
October 27, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

This organization shows true care and compassion to those who really need it. Getting to see these animals revived and full of life again is amazing, and being part of that is a real gift. Not only do I get to help the horses and give them a second chance, but they help me too. I have always had a small fear of horses. The atmosphere, other volunteers, and sweet animals have helped me in overcoming this fear.
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers