Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
8 Reviews
1234.3755
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I relocated from Tucson, AZ to Northern Idaho 4 years ago to volunteer and help with marketing for Orphan Acres. This horse rescue has been around for 30 years and Brent Glover does a great job with all of the horses. We always need help with volunteering and so many of them would love a good home. I just moved to 6 acres in Lenore, Idaho and I am getting up fencing so I can take two maybe three of them. I am a beginner rider and I know who ever I take, will be welcome at our home. We have 4 rescue dogs and 8 cats. 5 of our barn cats live in the loft of our cabin. I love going to Orphan acres as often as I can and I also donate when I can too. If you are in the Palouse area, we love volunteers and also need help with representing our booth at the Farmers Market in Moscow on Saturday mornings.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more volunteers to help us with putting up a barn and taking care of chores.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 14, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

February 14, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

I have been donating and volunteering at this organization for almost two years, and I find Brent's (the president of Orphan Acres) dedication and tenacity inspiring. Currently, over 80 horses reside at this wonderful nonprofit, either living out their lives, or waiting to be adopted into a forever and loving home. Some horses are brought from horrific situations, and are then rehabilitated at this sanctuary. Most horses are brought in because the owner could either no longer care or afford the horse, so many of these horses have great potential and would make a great family pet. Going out and volunteering is really a great experience because you get to bond with all different kinds of horses, and help your community. This organization is in great need of help, for both manual labor, and financial expenses. I would definitely recommend this place for anyone.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to get more people involved, by getting more volunteers, donors, and fundraisers going. Also, there is a huge misconception about this organization. Many individuals have been spreading rumors about this place that are false. This individual (s) has gone to every review of this organization to try to spread false information, like that there's a private breeding stock, animals are abused, and other garbage to try to hurt this nonprofit. All these rumors are false, and I want to clarify that.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 21, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 21, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I only volunteered at Orphan Acres a couple of times. Wish I would have gone more often especially since I don't live in that area now. I don't have much horse experience, but everyone was made to feel welcome. I most enjoyed going out to the barns, feeding/grooming. There's always work to be done here. I'm sure Brent can use help any day/time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 12, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 12, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I have been working with Orphan Acres, Horse Rescue for two years. I love all animals, especially horses and when I met Brent Glover from Orphan Acres, the summer of 2009, on the internet, I had to go up to Viola, Idaho and meet him and the horses he has rescued. I flew up 3 times the summer of 2010. Brent has 75 abused, abandoned and orphaned horses that he takes care of. Some of them have been so abused, they can never be rehomed. He has found homes for 2500. In the 35 years, he has devoted his life to taking care of horses, he knows each of them by name. They respond to him, run to him and he is like the Horse Whisperer. I relocated from Tucson, AZ up to Princeton, Idaho to help him with fund raising and also take care of my "Horse fix.". I had 3 of his horses this summer on my 8 acres. I brought my husband, my 4 rescue dogs and 3 indoor cats. Brent is loved and respected by all of the people in the Palouse Community. That entails the City of Moscow, the City of Pullman, Washington, Troy, Viola and other surrounding cities. He has many volunteers that come out to help take care of the horses and we also have Washington State Vet students that come out to get experience with taking care of the horses. I highly recommend this sanctuary and respect the work that Brent does. Come out and visit us or see us on the internet at www.orphanacres.org.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Being able to go out to Orphan Acres Inc. and do good work - knowing that it is helping both people and animals is a great feeling. It doesn't feel like volunteer work -it feels good, its not boring, not hard and most of all it IS important. Brent Glover was nice enough to allow Alpha Rho Chi the opportunity to help build a new barn for the horses. We are rushing to get it done before winter and although we have run into challenges throughout the process of the build so far we are constantly learning and making progress. We are able to harness our skills to give back to the horses and community. We are lucky to have this opportunity to work and use our skills to help the horses in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 4, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I first became aware of Orphan Acres when I needed to do some research for a screenplay which in part included a horse rescue operation. In doing so, I became fascinated with the place and the dedicated man behind it. I have never visited Orphan Acres in person but have followed as closely as possible via news, website and social networks. You do not have to go to Idaho in order to comprehend what Brent Glover and his volunteers do. Running any kind of animal rescue is not for the faint of heart but one man made it his mission to save horses. While I am able to do very little from TN except for raising awareness, I commend all the local people who show up to lend a hand.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

November 3, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

In a time of an unstable economy many people are leave their pets. One of the hardest hit industries is the equine industry. Brent Glover of Orphan Acres Inc. has taken it upon himself to home these animals in hopes they can find love and a family somewhere else. They always have something different to do when volunteering. Sense volunteers are the main support of the rescue I find myself doing different things everyday. My only wish is that this place be more organized for volunteers, other then that is warm welcoming and I feel like I am helping and making a difference.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 20, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

more

July 20, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

theyve been mailing me crap for over 6 months and refuse to unsubscribe me or explain where they got my information

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers