Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
October 19, 2014

more

October 19, 2014

As the founder of Autism Plugged In and Bass for Autism, two organizations that are dedicated to supporting autism research, I can attest to OAR's integrity and efficiency as a charitable organization. They have been very accommodating and supportive of our projects, and have a message that supporters can easily get behind. I've been raising funds for OAR for years now, and will continue to do so in the future! Keep up the good work, guys.
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

As the mother of a little 8 yr old girl with HFA, this organization has been invaluable. They have provided booklets to use when teaching her class about Autism (along with materials to teach 3 other classes). They have also provided training materials for all of the educators in her school. Having teachers (and fellow classmates) who have been trained in Autism (and how to best teach her) has been instrumental in helping her to reach her full potential. I have only great things to say about OAR.
October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am Owner-Advocate/Consultant/Presenter for Ohio Special Education Advocacy & Consulting and P/T Shelter Advocate for Genesis House Domestic Violence Center, OAR has created and provided wonderful & useful resources for Families, Schools & Professionals. I have recommended the Organization for Autism Research website to many families and professionals looking for practical & useful information and materials in the areas of transition, sexuality, safety, health/wellness, etc. I encourage everyone to sign up for the OARacle to receive up-to-date, current information on a vareity of subjects and issues related to autism. Keep up the great work Ben and the others at OAR!

Barbara Rutt, S.W.A.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As the Executive Director of Autism Speaks, the National Capital Area Chapter, I am proud to say that we have and continue to partner with Organization for Autism Research on a number of initiatives. They have created quality resources that are practical and valuable for schools in the area (e.g. “Curriculum in a Box”) as well as other materials, such as resources for siblings with autism. I would recommend any family, individual or organization connected to autism to navigate their site and browse through the great materials they have to offer.

Marley Rave
Executive Director
Autism Speaks, NCA
October 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am the Program Manager at the Autism Society of Southeastern Wisconsin and have used OAR and their materials on many occasions. I am especially fond of their programs that can be used to teach awareness of autism in the middle school. I have handed out the materials for parents to share with their child's school, to teachers to use in their classrooms as well as even requesting materials for entire schools to share this program with their students. OAR has always been enthusiastic and happy to fulfill these requests. A special thanks to Ben as well as the entire organization.
September 11, 2014

more

September 11, 2014

I am a student of Psychology from the United Kingdom, and managed to attain an internship with OAR during the summer of 2014. This internship was one of the most rewarding and valuable experiences, particularly considering my areas of study and interest. The staff are driven and supportive; without a doubt, one of the best autism-focussed organisations I have ever come across. Myself and my fellow intern produced resources for siblings of children with autism (can be checked out here: http://www.researchautism.org/family/familysupport/SiblingSupportInitiative.asp), and I am confident that we wouldn't have been able to undertake such an important project without the guidance of Ben Kaufman, director of programs and outreach.
On a personal note, I have a brother with autism, and would fully recommend the use of OAR's resources to anyone that would like support/guidance/to learn more about autism. Such a wonderful organisation that truly listens to the demographic it targets; it was a pleasure to be a part of it for 3 months!
September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

Interning with OAR this past spring was one of the most valuable and rewarding experiences of my college career. Not only did the staff go out of their way to make me feel welcome and part of the team, but I was able to work on a project (called Autism in the Schoolhouse) that was relevant to my interests and actually makes a difference in the lives of people with autism. As a frequent DCPS volunteer it's easy to see a huge need for autism understanding and awareness in the public school system, and OAR is doing an amazing job of providing accessible, comprehensive materials to educate both students and teachers. In my opinion, the best thing about OAR is their knack for pinpointing the exact type of resource that may have been overlooked by the rest of the autism community and doing everything in their power to remedy that void. Their resources make a huge difference in quality of life on both an individual and institutional level, and anyone who has worked with them will be sure to tell you the same thing.
August 21, 2014

more

August 21, 2014

OAR is a great organization that is one of the few out there funding applied research. They are so willing to help anyone in need whether it be parents, autism professionals, school teachers, or military families. Keep up the good work OAR!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 15, 2014

more

August 15, 2014

I spent close to two months volunteering for OAR, and it was an excellent experience. My duties were to summarize scientific proposals and outline them in non-scientific terms. These summaries would then go onto the website. Everyone at OAR made the process easy and enjoyable, as I was new to an office environment. Everyone was respectful, and willing to help me whenever I had a question regarding my duties. OAR serves a great cause and proves to be a helpful resource to the Autism community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

I think what makes OAR special is the thought they put into every decision. Everything is personal, and every decision is made with the best interests of the people they're serving: parents, professionals, military members, self-advocates, and families. They know that wading through research when you already have a lot on your plate isn't easy, so they try to streamline the experience of parents and educators. They just... get it. Which is why their resources and fundraising just make sense and end up being so helpful. It was a pleasure to get to work with them, and they'd be the first place I'd send someone looking for autism resources, information, and fundraising opportunities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers