Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
39 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

I work with a state department of education. I have utilized the Organization for Autism (OAR) resources since coming into my role at the state level. My primary position is to provide professional development across the state and I do this in many forms (phone, emails, in person workshops, networking at conferences, presenting at conference sectionals, and keynotes).

It has been fantastic to be able to refer families and educators to common resources which are high quality, evidence based, come in multiple formats (booklets, downloadable printable documents, online videos, dvds) and are FREE! I have used both the English and Spanish versions of presentation materials from OAR in various presentations. Currently I am thrilled to be able to provide educators with yet another high quality free resource from OAR - their Understanding Autism DVD: A Guide for Secondary School Teachers. Although these videos are geared towards secondary teachers, I feel they are a great resource for anyone working in schools with students on the autism spectrum.

The staff at OAR have been incredible in response to my interest in these videos. I have arranged to receive several free copies to distribute to regional program support teachers in the field of autism as well as receive several copies to provide to school sites who are developing professional learning communities to assist students with autism. I also was very easily able to talk with OAR staff to provide two webinar opportunities for educators and families to learn more about these resources and share stories of successful interventions for students with autism in public school settings.

It is very hard to find quality national non-profit resources which are free and transfer to both families and educators. I am glad OAR is there to help fulfill this need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage them to continue to make videos for educators and families. Keep up the good work.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

As a military family affected by autism, I'm grateful for OAR's work to address the challenges facing military families. Their Military Family Autism Journey Guide is one of the most comprehensive resources available today that address the unique challenges and needs of military families. It is a great tool to help empower parents with the knowledge and resources they need to advocate for their child.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

I found OAR through a mutual friend and started volunteering by writing for the newsletter and blog. I have always been treated with gratitude and respect in all dealings with this organization. Thrilled to be part of OAR which is helping all families with autism.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 3, 2013

more

October 3, 2013

REACH for a Difference in Abilene, The Autism Spectrum Partnering Network, reachforadifference.org
is currently in partnership with OAR in creating Autism Awareness in the classrooms across the country through the wonderful resource they offer "What's Up With Nick?"
This valuable resource
is being used throughout our community and spreading across the nation.
OAR has been our organizations most valuable resource to date and look forward to partnering together for this most crucial cause.
P.S. Ben Kauffman ROCKS!!!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

My summer internship at OAR was an unbelievable experience. Never before had I felt so valued by an organization for my efforts, and working in a small team gave me the opportunity to see firsthand exactly where the donations go. Everyone on the staff is passionate about the cause, and also extremely friendly. Working for OAR, I had the chance to develop resources, one for teachers and one for students, that I am confident will have a significant impact on the school environment for children with autism.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

I was an intern here for a semester during college. This organization is truly passionate about what they do- provide resources to those associated with people with autism, as well as people diagnosed with autism. They also fund autism research which is essential for the future development of assistance to those affected by autism.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 27, 2013

more

September 27, 2013

I have been involved in OAR in several capacities over the last few years. First, I hava an 11 year old with Asperger's or HFA!! I am also a child clinical psychologist practicing in Roanoke, VA and I see individuals, families, and also do groups for those on the spectrum and for those who love these individuals. I have done the Run for Autism marathons 4x now and am signed up for a 5th race with them. They conduct excellent research that is very clinically relevant. I recently was asked to be at the OAR booth at the Commonwealth Autism Services conference to help talk about OAR and to help those at the conference to obtain services for their clients, students, and/or children.
OAR is an organization beyond reproach and I can think of nothing I would change. I did LOVE their conferences, which they seem to no longer have as I understand it was not economically feasible. I'm sad about this as we would go to Arlington for several days, help with the conference and booth at the run expo, gain CE credits and hear wonderful talks for 2 days and then I'd run the marathon! It was perfect personally and professionally:)

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

The Organization for Autism Research stands out from other autism focused non-profits by providing families and those affected by autism with information and sources to help them get through challenges they face daily. Whether it be tips for bringing a child with autism to the movies, how to work with teachers to make the classroom a more sensory-friendly environment, or how to have your child tested for autism. OAR also supports the research and education fields by funding studies who have similar missions in trying to find solutions to problems people and families of individuals with sensory-sensitive issues. Further, OAR is also striving to make their fundraising efforts fun and simple by trying to keep up with the latest fundraising technologies for their supporters to use. OAR is the perfect blend of supporting research and assisting families with problems they are facing now.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have a bigger staff so they can accomplish even more!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 23, 2013

more

September 23, 2013

I have worked closely with the Organization for Autism Research in developing programs and trainings for community health workers in South Texas. It has been a pleasure working with this organization as they have always been willing to help out and provide materials. Additionally, the community health workers we have trained have enjoyed the materials sent by OAR and have begun to disseminate these resources with the community. This organization is by far one of the best organizations I have worked with, I had no trouble contacting the director and others in OAR and getting abundant support for my research project. Great job OAR!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None, it has done a great job!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 23, 2013

more

September 23, 2013

I have collaborated with OAR on developing and disseminating resources, and it has been a wonderful experience. The people I have worked with through OAR truly care about making a difference in the lives of individuals with autism, their families, and the many professionals and community members who interact with individuals with autism. I greatly appreciate OAR's attention and dedication to providing practical and useful resources that will benefit individuals with autism, their families, and the public at large. They are wonderful advocates for the autism community.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers