Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
45 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
September 11, 2014

more

September 11, 2014

I am a student of Psychology from the United Kingdom, and managed to attain an internship with OAR during the summer of 2014. This internship was one of the most rewarding and valuable experiences, particularly considering my areas of study and interest. The staff are driven and supportive; without a doubt, one of the best autism-focussed organisations I have ever come across. Myself and my fellow intern produced resources for siblings of children with autism (can be checked out here: http://www.researchautism.org/family/familysupport/SiblingSupportInitiative.asp), and I am confident that we wouldn't have been able to undertake such an important project without the guidance of Ben Kaufman, director of programs and outreach.
On a personal note, I have a brother with autism, and would fully recommend the use of OAR's resources to anyone that would like support/guidance/to learn more about autism. Such a wonderful organisation that truly listens to the demographic it targets; it was a pleasure to be a part of it for 3 months!
September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

Interning with OAR this past spring was one of the most valuable and rewarding experiences of my college career. Not only did the staff go out of their way to make me feel welcome and part of the team, but I was able to work on a project (called Autism in the Schoolhouse) that was relevant to my interests and actually makes a difference in the lives of people with autism. As a frequent DCPS volunteer it's easy to see a huge need for autism understanding and awareness in the public school system, and OAR is doing an amazing job of providing accessible, comprehensive materials to educate both students and teachers. In my opinion, the best thing about OAR is their knack for pinpointing the exact type of resource that may have been overlooked by the rest of the autism community and doing everything in their power to remedy that void. Their resources make a huge difference in quality of life on both an individual and institutional level, and anyone who has worked with them will be sure to tell you the same thing.
August 21, 2014

more

August 21, 2014

OAR is a great organization that is one of the few out there funding applied research. They are so willing to help anyone in need whether it be parents, autism professionals, school teachers, or military families. Keep up the good work OAR!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 15, 2014

more

August 15, 2014

I spent close to two months volunteering for OAR, and it was an excellent experience. My duties were to summarize scientific proposals and outline them in non-scientific terms. These summaries would then go onto the website. Everyone at OAR made the process easy and enjoyable, as I was new to an office environment. Everyone was respectful, and willing to help me whenever I had a question regarding my duties. OAR serves a great cause and proves to be a helpful resource to the Autism community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

I think what makes OAR special is the thought they put into every decision. Everything is personal, and every decision is made with the best interests of the people they're serving: parents, professionals, military members, self-advocates, and families. They know that wading through research when you already have a lot on your plate isn't easy, so they try to streamline the experience of parents and educators. They just... get it. Which is why their resources and fundraising just make sense and end up being so helpful. It was a pleasure to get to work with them, and they'd be the first place I'd send someone looking for autism resources, information, and fundraising opportunities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 4, 2014

more

August 4, 2014

This charity is among the few research foundations offering support for behavioral science research on autism spectrum disorders. Grants funded by OAR have resulted in peer reviewed publications by new investigators as well as by established investigators, and funded projects have also provided preliminary findings to enable a competitive proposal for large scale government sponsored research projects. The scientific advisory board reviews grant proposals and recommends awards based entirely merit. While scientific soundness is the majore priority in grant proposal evaluations, projects are also rated as to the practical benefit that might result to affected individuals and their families. Created by a group of dedicated former U.S. Marines, this organization demonstrates compassionate values in support of families and service providers by also disseminating practical information that has been reviewed for scientific validity on autism spectrum disorders free of charge on it web site.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

I work with a state department of education. I have utilized the Organization for Autism (OAR) resources since coming into my role at the state level. My primary position is to provide professional development across the state and I do this in many forms (phone, emails, in person workshops, networking at conferences, presenting at conference sectionals, and keynotes).

It has been fantastic to be able to refer families and educators to common resources which are high quality, evidence based, come in multiple formats (booklets, downloadable printable documents, online videos, dvds) and are FREE! I have used both the English and Spanish versions of presentation materials from OAR in various presentations. Currently I am thrilled to be able to provide educators with yet another high quality free resource from OAR - their Understanding Autism DVD: A Guide for Secondary School Teachers. Although these videos are geared towards secondary teachers, I feel they are a great resource for anyone working in schools with students on the autism spectrum.

The staff at OAR have been incredible in response to my interest in these videos. I have arranged to receive several free copies to distribute to regional program support teachers in the field of autism as well as receive several copies to provide to school sites who are developing professional learning communities to assist students with autism. I also was very easily able to talk with OAR staff to provide two webinar opportunities for educators and families to learn more about these resources and share stories of successful interventions for students with autism in public school settings.

It is very hard to find quality national non-profit resources which are free and transfer to both families and educators. I am glad OAR is there to help fulfill this need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage them to continue to make videos for educators and families. Keep up the good work.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

As a military family affected by autism, I'm grateful for OAR's work to address the challenges facing military families. Their Military Family Autism Journey Guide is one of the most comprehensive resources available today that address the unique challenges and needs of military families. It is a great tool to help empower parents with the knowledge and resources they need to advocate for their child.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

I found OAR through a mutual friend and started volunteering by writing for the newsletter and blog. I have always been treated with gratitude and respect in all dealings with this organization. Thrilled to be part of OAR which is helping all families with autism.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 3, 2013

more

October 3, 2013

REACH for a Difference in Abilene, The Autism Spectrum Partnering Network, reachforadifference.org
is currently in partnership with OAR in creating Autism Awareness in the classrooms across the country through the wonderful resource they offer "What's Up With Nick?"
This valuable resource
is being used throughout our community and spreading across the nation.
OAR has been our organizations most valuable resource to date and look forward to partnering together for this most crucial cause.
P.S. Ben Kauffman ROCKS!!!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers