Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
54 Reviews
1234.907415
Write A Review
November 7, 2014

more

November 7, 2014

I work for a national, partner NGO and I am nothing but impressed at the capacity and demonstrated success of this organization. This small group of individuals has a large impact on any campaign they set their sights on. We are in the fourth year of a campaign where OEC has provided the strategy, coordination, technical expertise and outreach that is all needed to move the needle on an issue. When my organization is talking about other campaigns, I frequently find myself referencing the successful models I've seen implemented by OEC. Huge kudos to this valuable asset of the Oregon community.
October 26, 2014

more

October 26, 2014

Having recently completed an internship with Oregon Environmental Council, I not only enjoyed the creative ambience of OEC's working group of dedicated and vibrant professionals, but was made to feel right at home and was always considered as an important contributor to the team effort. The team effort here is no small item: OEC is at the forefront of coalition building for positive environmental change across the entire state of Oregon. Their efforts may not be of the flashy type so often hyped by some members of the environmental community, but they are real; backed by good science and built to last. I call this good work and I applaud OEC for tackling tough issues and designing programs that really work. Thanks guys!!
October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

My first experience with OEC was in the 1980s when as a non-partisan legislative analyst I worked with the group on solid waste and recycling legislation. What attracted me to the organization was its fact-based collaborative approach. Over the years I have volunteered, served on the Board of Directors, and since my retirement from the board have worked with its staff on a wide range of issues that involve agriculture and Oregon's continued sustainable development. With nearly 30 years of experience working with the organization, I have come to rely on OEC as both authoritative and flexible in seeking long term solutions to the challenges facing both urban and rural Oregonians.

Jock Mills
October 3, 2014

more

October 3, 2014

I manage civic engagement processes on major public policy issues. OEC has consistently been one of the most important participants in these processes because they are so effective and respected. Whether sitting on an advisory committee, bringing issues before agencies and decision makers, working one-on-one with peers and/or those who would be seen as "opponents," OEC staff and board members have always been among the most productive at achieving real progress in public policy. This is not only because they are effective at articulating and advocating for their positions, but because they know how to work in collaborative processes to seek and find solutions that are genuinely viable in the short term, while making sure decision-makers and other parties don't lose sight of the long-term goals.
July 14, 2014

more

July 14, 2014

I have worked with various OEC staff on different sustainability issues over the past six years. The staff is always very professional, dedicated and collaborative. They focus on getting good things accomplished without getting distracted or bogged down. They have shown great flexibility to work with different types of organizations and base their decisions and actions on good data and information whenever possible. They are a great asset for Oregon.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 11, 2014

more

July 11, 2014

Toxins in our everyday environment and consumer products is an issue I prioritize, and unlike a lot of environmental organizations, so does OEC! I respect and appreciate the work they do in this area, as well as the profound strides they've made over the years in other sustainable areas on behalf of Oregon and the Pacific Northwest. OEC's leadership is deeply respected and well earned. Thank you for all the fabulous work you do!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 9, 2012

more

May 9, 2012

As the Sustainability Program Manager for Cambia Health Solutions/ Regence BlueCross BlueShield of Oregon, I really value the work that OEC does at the intersection of the environment and human health. They fill an important niche that other environmental and health groups do not. They take complicated subjects and make them accessible so that people can understand them and take action. I appreciate the leadership role that they've taken especially on the topic of green chemistry. OEC staff have been a great resource and sounding board for me.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 9, 2012

more

April 9, 2012

I have worked with OEC for the past 7 years. They do really wonderful work, and their staff is just superb. They are true leaders on issues like climate change and toxic chemicals. One of the best organizations that i know.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 4, 2012

more

April 4, 2012

Oregon Environmental Council is one of the leading conservation nonprofits in Oregon, and has a long history of being effective. They do a good job bringing together the diverse aspects of the field: human health, clean water, healthy food--and are affective at bringing policy change about. A recent example is the Multnomah County ban on Bisphenol-A in child bottles and cups. They're strategic thinkers, effective advocates, and good partners.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 2, 2012

more

April 2, 2012

I was an employee of OEC for 2.5 years, as the National Program Manager for the Eco-Healthy Child Care (EHCC) program. Created by OEC in 2005, EHCC helps early childhood learning environments be as healthy, safe and green as possible by reducing children’s exposure to toxic chemicals. I was hired in early 2008 to pilot this program in other states to confirm that the program model would succeed on a national scale. The EHCC program has proven to be highly effective in supporting child care professionals in making eco-healthy changes within child care settings. EHCC has received EPA’s 2006 Children’s Environmental Health Excellence Award and the IPM Institute of North America, Inc. 2009-2010 Childcare and School IPM Recognition Award for its innovative and effective approach. In October of 2010, EHCC was transferred to Children's Environmental Health Network (CEHN), a national non-profit organization. OEC is a strong organization, with a clear mission and motivated and effective employees. The EHCC program is only one of their many successful efforts; a model which is now practiced and celebrated nationally.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers