Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
1234.95
| 1 ... 3 4 5 |
Write A Review
April 16, 2012

more

April 16, 2012

I first found out about OEC in 2010, when I was concerned about bisphenol-A in children's products and food, and found out that Oregon was considering a ban on BPA. I connected with OEC when I wanted to testify as a citizen at the Legislature in Salem in February 2010, as well as writing letters to the editor and calling representatives. After that bill failed, I testified again in 2011, again with helpful support and resources from OEC. After that statewide bill failed narrowly, a similar one was considered in Multnomah County. I was able to testify as a citizen and this ban passed unanimously and has now gone into effect as law. OEC has shared resources and studies that illustrate the concerns of chemicals in consumer products, let citizens know when crucial hearings or votes take place, and worked tirelessly to make our community and environment safer. I'm so grateful for their studies and focus on dangerous chemicals. Not all of us are scientists or legislators but everyone deserves safe products and to participate in our political system. Thank you to OEC for everything they do.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 9, 2012

more

April 9, 2012

I have worked with OEC for the past 7 years. They do really wonderful work, and their staff is just superb. They are true leaders on issues like climate change and toxic chemicals. One of the best organizations that i know.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 4, 2012

more

April 4, 2012

Oregon Environmental Council is one of the leading conservation nonprofits in Oregon, and has a long history of being effective. They do a good job bringing together the diverse aspects of the field: human health, clean water, healthy food--and are affective at bringing policy change about. A recent example is the Multnomah County ban on Bisphenol-A in child bottles and cups. They're strategic thinkers, effective advocates, and good partners.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 2, 2012

more

April 2, 2012

I was an employee of OEC for 2.5 years, as the National Program Manager for the Eco-Healthy Child Care (EHCC) program. Created by OEC in 2005, EHCC helps early childhood learning environments be as healthy, safe and green as possible by reducing children’s exposure to toxic chemicals. I was hired in early 2008 to pilot this program in other states to confirm that the program model would succeed on a national scale. The EHCC program has proven to be highly effective in supporting child care professionals in making eco-healthy changes within child care settings. EHCC has received EPA’s 2006 Children’s Environmental Health Excellence Award and the IPM Institute of North America, Inc. 2009-2010 Childcare and School IPM Recognition Award for its innovative and effective approach. In October of 2010, EHCC was transferred to Children's Environmental Health Network (CEHN), a national non-profit organization. OEC is a strong organization, with a clear mission and motivated and effective employees. The EHCC program is only one of their many successful efforts; a model which is now practiced and celebrated nationally.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 15, 2012

more

February 15, 2012

I began my time at OEC as an intern for a carbon reduction program and I was soon hired on part time after my internship was complete. I have since moved on from OEC but only after spending time on OEC's Emerging Leaders Board. I cannot speak highly enough of the value of that internship and board experience to both my professional and personal development. While many friend's internships at other organizations resulted in boring administrative tasks and paperwork, I was given significant responsibility and creative freedom to work on the project. It opened up so many doors, more than I could have ever imagined and I am lucky to have chosen a non-profit that does such important work for Oregon's environmental causes. OEC enacts real change in Oregon and truly safeguards what I care about most in the state. I highly recommend contacting and talking with the staff at OEC, regardless of whether you are interested in volunteering, interning or become a full time staff member.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 6, 2012

more

February 6, 2012

The Oregon Environmental Council sets the bar for state-level environmental advocacy. A national leader on environmental policy at the state level, their work on protecting children and adults from the harmful effects of toxic chemicals in our everyday lives has been a model for other states, as has been their Eco-Healthy Child Care program. For over 40 years they have worked tenaciously to protect Oregon’s environment and people. But the importance of their work goes beyond the borders of the state. Through their collaborative efforts, OEC’s innovative policies and programs and practices have helped states all over the country. We are proud to work with the Oregon Environmental Council and appreciate how their work helps not only the people and environment in Oregon but contributes to good policy across the country, as well.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 27, 2012

more

January 27, 2012

I recently moved to the Pacific Northwest and wanted to volunteer while looking for work and taking classes. OEC has a bevy of interesting initiatives and programs that I found interesting, so I inquired about volunteering. I was grateful that OEC made an effort to bring me on board and up to speed quickly, and I was impressed that staff brought a list of projects I could work on during my first meeting. OEC did a great job of aligning its needs with my interests and skills. All staff members were extremely appreciative of my time and effort, and I enjoyed interacting with other volunteers and staff.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 26, 2012

more

January 26, 2012

After a layoff, I wanted to work while looking to get back into the job market - and my sister had heard about the Oregon Environmental Council - I looked at their web site and was very impressed with their work - after sending my info to them and speaking to them I started working as a volunteer - it was a great decision on my part, and I feel as though it's been a privilege working for this organization - I've been learning so much. This agency contributes a wealth of knowledge to the community, as well as changing lives for the better - and the staff is incredible. Working on the Media and Communications database I see many legislative successes and hope for the future. Most of all - attention is focused on areas that are critical - climate, water, food, air, energy alternatives, and so many other areas - that are so important for future generations, and they've been accomplishing this for 40 years with great positive effect.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 22, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 22, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

As a graduate student in nonprofit management, I wanted to intern with an organization whose operations were of the highest caliber of professionalism, and I haven't been disappointed in any way with my experience at OEC.

A key element of professionalism, I think, is a focus on impact.
It's easy--and dangerous--for staff to concentrate instead on internal operational efficiency and to lose sight of the bigger picture. But, maybe because it has such a passionate leadership team, staff at OEC do a pretty good job of keeping their daily activities aligned with the production of real-world results.

I'm involved with OEC's strategic planning effort right now, and it's inspiring to see the board in action--a great group of smart, passionate, and connected people. I'm looking forward to seeing the course they chart in the final plan, but I've already learned a lot from the process itself, and it's confirmed my sense that this really is a great nonprofit.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

raising awareness of the key environmental challenges facing Oregon

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give it a bigger budget

April 30, 2010

more

April 30, 2010

After my first year in college studying Environmental Engineering, I came back in the summer and interned with OEC for about three months. I interned with the Development Team at OEC and did mainly prospect research along with various other tasks including help with events, grant proposals, and reports. The first thing that struck me most about OEC was how friendly and approachable everyone at the office was. Everyone, amidst their very hectic schedules, was willing to take time out and help me with any of my questions. Along with an excellent work environment, everyone there is so enthusiastic about their work and ultimately, saving the environment! It was inspiring to intern with such passionate people who always came to work excited and ready for the day. OEC has done and is working on many productive environmental projects that have pushed Oregon, and especially Portland, to the forefront of successful environmental action. All in all, my experience with interning at OEC was unforgettable--the people and the work environment made interning their a lot of fun and really rewarding!

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

The people there really made my experience. Everyone was very willing to help me out with my questions and it never cease to surprise me how passionate people were able their work.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers