Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
54 Reviews
1234.907415
Write A Review
April 17, 2012

more

April 17, 2012

I volunteered as a design intern at OEC last summer. From the first day on, I was so inspired by the staff's passion for their work. They are dedicated, intelligent, kind, funny, and creative, among other things. I couldn't have asked for better people to work with. I didn't want to leave when the summer ended and I had to return to classes. I learned so much, not only about design, but also about important environmental issues in Oregon. Thank you OEC for such a fantastic experience!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We became members of Oregon Environmental Council in the early 1970s, when it first was created. I worked in the Oregon Legislature in 1971, when Oregon passed its initial "bottle bill" with OEC as the prime sponsor. Over the years, OEC consistently has been at the forefront of those working to protect and enhance the environment, advocating its positions strongly while retaining credibility as a sophisticated "non-fringe" organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 16, 2012

more

April 16, 2012

I teach environmental science at a community college in Portland. Jen Coleman from OEC has given several fantastic presentations to my classes about the chemicals and other toxins found in personal care products. Her presentations are fantastic and inspirational, and give us the 'cold hard truth' a in straightforward and easy to understand way. These presentations are spreading a very important message into the hands of the community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 16, 2012

more

April 16, 2012

As a volunteer writer and researcher for OEC, my experiences have been superb! The staff is so friendly and very much a team...if my question or request needs to be answered, I may be working with someone new every time! It shows that all of OEC is intelligent and in the loop about all the current topics. Its great getting to know the team! With such interesting research ideas, I'll continue to contact OEC for the educational opportunity in working with my community....sustainably!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 16, 2012

more

April 16, 2012

I first found out about OEC in 2010, when I was concerned about bisphenol-A in children's products and food, and found out that Oregon was considering a ban on BPA. I connected with OEC when I wanted to testify as a citizen at the Legislature in Salem in February 2010, as well as writing letters to the editor and calling representatives. After that bill failed, I testified again in 2011, again with helpful support and resources from OEC. After that statewide bill failed narrowly, a similar one was considered in Multnomah County. I was able to testify as a citizen and this ban passed unanimously and has now gone into effect as law. OEC has shared resources and studies that illustrate the concerns of chemicals in consumer products, let citizens know when crucial hearings or votes take place, and worked tirelessly to make our community and environment safer. I'm so grateful for their studies and focus on dangerous chemicals. Not all of us are scientists or legislators but everyone deserves safe products and to participate in our political system. Thank you to OEC for everything they do.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 9, 2012

more

April 9, 2012

I have worked with OEC for the past 7 years. They do really wonderful work, and their staff is just superb. They are true leaders on issues like climate change and toxic chemicals. One of the best organizations that i know.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 4, 2012

more

April 4, 2012

Oregon Environmental Council is one of the leading conservation nonprofits in Oregon, and has a long history of being effective. They do a good job bringing together the diverse aspects of the field: human health, clean water, healthy food--and are affective at bringing policy change about. A recent example is the Multnomah County ban on Bisphenol-A in child bottles and cups. They're strategic thinkers, effective advocates, and good partners.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 2, 2012

more

April 2, 2012

I was an employee of OEC for 2.5 years, as the National Program Manager for the Eco-Healthy Child Care (EHCC) program. Created by OEC in 2005, EHCC helps early childhood learning environments be as healthy, safe and green as possible by reducing children’s exposure to toxic chemicals. I was hired in early 2008 to pilot this program in other states to confirm that the program model would succeed on a national scale. The EHCC program has proven to be highly effective in supporting child care professionals in making eco-healthy changes within child care settings. EHCC has received EPA’s 2006 Children’s Environmental Health Excellence Award and the IPM Institute of North America, Inc. 2009-2010 Childcare and School IPM Recognition Award for its innovative and effective approach. In October of 2010, EHCC was transferred to Children's Environmental Health Network (CEHN), a national non-profit organization. OEC is a strong organization, with a clear mission and motivated and effective employees. The EHCC program is only one of their many successful efforts; a model which is now practiced and celebrated nationally.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 15, 2012

more

February 15, 2012

I began my time at OEC as an intern for a carbon reduction program and I was soon hired on part time after my internship was complete. I have since moved on from OEC but only after spending time on OEC's Emerging Leaders Board. I cannot speak highly enough of the value of that internship and board experience to both my professional and personal development. While many friend's internships at other organizations resulted in boring administrative tasks and paperwork, I was given significant responsibility and creative freedom to work on the project. It opened up so many doors, more than I could have ever imagined and I am lucky to have chosen a non-profit that does such important work for Oregon's environmental causes. OEC enacts real change in Oregon and truly safeguards what I care about most in the state. I highly recommend contacting and talking with the staff at OEC, regardless of whether you are interested in volunteering, interning or become a full time staff member.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 6, 2012

more

February 6, 2012

The Oregon Environmental Council sets the bar for state-level environmental advocacy. A national leader on environmental policy at the state level, their work on protecting children and adults from the harmful effects of toxic chemicals in our everyday lives has been a model for other states, as has been their Eco-Healthy Child Care program. For over 40 years they have worked tenaciously to protect Oregon’s environment and people. But the importance of their work goes beyond the borders of the state. Through their collaborative efforts, OEC’s innovative policies and programs and practices have helped states all over the country. We are proud to work with the Oregon Environmental Council and appreciate how their work helps not only the people and environment in Oregon but contributes to good policy across the country, as well.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers