Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
1234.055
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Masters in harassment, misinformation and coverups. Do not give them personal details, or expect a scientology-like campaign to follow if you donate to anyone else. A really disappointing group, totally ungrateful and nothing is ever enough.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Stop harassing and publicly defaming donors. Stop spending so much energy harassing anyone else who tries to do something to help orangutans, especially school children,

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What would you tell others about this organization?

Do not give personal details or money to this group. Do not involve children or schools with this group. They will twist every word, every activity to make the childrens contributions feel inadequate and use abuse to attempt to ignite more activity.

July 18, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

July 18, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I am not only a Donor I am a volunteer and a friend of oranguntans and Mr. Richard Zimmerman. I have been donating and raising funds for OO since their start. OO is one of the most reliable non-profit organizations working to ensure the safety, rehabilitation, love, care for wild orangutans that have been victims of pet trade, orphans whose mothers were slaughtered by palm oil, coal or other workers. I have nothing to hide an my name can appear publicly (as a difference to the ones who write lies and want to make a bad name with no reason) saying all these remarks about the quality and tranparency of Richard and Orangutan Outreach. Today I have donated money to OO and will continue to do so until I die. Great work and long live wild and captive orangutans all are important and equal individuals.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

It is not with login in with fake names and making false accusation to Orangutan Outreach that you will get what you think you deserve! It is repulsive and childish to see the lies agains that Organisation that does all in their hands to save remaining orangutans. They do not do anything fullish or out of their ego to save like some other want to be organization. They support true people on site,..not uneducated unprofessional bored people turned to Indonesia for fame. You should be ashamed of yourself to log with fake names and continue your jealousy incited war against them. What they do is there in front of all world to see.. Hence they will get stronger and will have some people like yourself who are jealous to make everyting possible at their hands to stop the good once from doing a precious job. But this will not stop them. SHAME ON YOU!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I cannot speak highly enough of Richard Zimmerman and Orangutan Outreach. The efforts of OO are far reaching and I know when I donate to them, the money is actually going to genuine orangutan conservation efforts on the ground, where it matters and where it will have the best impact. OO support other genuine NGO's in Kalimantan like Nyaru Menteng, IAR, JAAN and COP. As the Director of Orangutan Outreach I find the integrity that was displayed by Richard by severing ties with another "orangutan conservation effort" in Sintang, when a baby orangutan named Luna mysteriously "disappeared" from forest school speaks volumes about this organisation and the people behind it. To OO and Richard this was a totally unacceptable occurrence and they walked away, but not before ensuring the remainder of the orangutans in Sintang were taken to a genuine, legal rehabilitation centre (IAR) with qualified, experienced staff. I take my hat off to Richard and OO for all they have done and continue to do for orangutans.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 16, 2012

more

July 16, 2012

I was also involved as a school donating to this organization. I was shown by a colleague the public messages Richard Zimmerman has been writing on Facebook about students in our schools raising funds and nearly fell off my chair. It is like an angry elementary student with a foul mouth. I will be writing to him seeking an apology, and we will no longer be supporting this cause.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Orangutan Outreach is a very bad organization for young people to be involved in. Today I was directed to comments made by Richard Zimmerman that are both profane, offensive, totally based on lies, and totally against the wellbeing of the mission he is claiming to support. Our school had been involved in supporting orangutan outreach as part of the student learning. We are very disappointed to learn this organization is so nasty, immature and dishonest.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

I am head mistress of a small primary school. Our students were motivated to help orangutans as part of their learning. We were encouraged to support Orangutan Outreach. We will actively discourage others from doing the same again as I was today encouraged to stop after seeing the messages from Richard Zimmerman. He is a very angry, nasty man who has personally upset my children.

July 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Simon, it seems that you need to get your facts right about Orangutan Outreach. You need to learn what the organisation represents along with what all its members stand for. The real hero's of the orangutan cause can all be found on the Orangutan Outreach facebook page. Some are known and some are not. Without question, Orangutan Outreach are doing the right thing when it comes to helping the orangutans in every way possible (unlike some other people who are more interested in garnering a reputation that is not deserved due to media hype and are nothing more than legends in their own minds). Orangutan Outreach is all about total dedication and passion for the orangutan cause and doing everything that is possible to help them. International Animal Rescue are one of the most dedicated organisations in the world when it comes to helping orangutans and it's no mistake that Orangutan Outreach are working closely with them in trying to save the lives of orangutans. Do you think that you've had some sort of success in destroying the reputation of Richard Zimmerman? You are highly mistaken Simon!!!! Do something constructive and adopt an orangutan today. http://redapes.org/adopt If you have further issues with the Orangutan Outreach organisation, Richard Zimmerman, its memebers or anything else related to the orangutans, don't hesitate to drop by the Orangutan Outreach page on facebook where dialogue can be pursued.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Orangutan outreach is a great organisation that assures money donated reaches the ones who need it most! By working closely with various organisations in Borneo such as, the center for orangutan protection, the BOS Nyaru Menteng Reintroduction Center founded by Lone Dröscher, and international animal rescue. Orangutan outreach also keeps orangutan lovers up to date with everything orangutan via Facebook and twitter. Creating a truly engaging online community of orangutan supporters.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

When my 7 year old daughter told me she wanted to save the orangutans I looked on line to find a web site that she could use to learn what to do. We contacted Richard Zimmerman at redapes.org and was met with support and enthusiasm. He was delighted to help a young child find ways she could help. At first it was just spreading the word about palm oil. My daughter Allie, was able to easily negotiate the web site and print materials needed to educate her friends and family. Now at age 14 she has started Purses for Primates and Antiques4apes. She has raised over 3,000.00 and has given every penny to Orangutan Outreach. We had the pleasure of meeting Rich Zimmerman and my daughter will tell you it was a thrill. She had the opportunity to meet her hero. Over the last 7 years Richard has provided Allison with the support and information she needed to continue her fight to save the great red ape. We trust this foundation with all her hard work and money earned. We know every penny will be put to good use. I can honestly say there has never been a moment of doubt or wonder. We trust this non-profit and its leader. He is a roll model for my daughter and other kids as well. He understands that it is important to support the children in their endeavors. If kids care about a cause the sky is the limit.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

This organization actively campaigns against other orangutan conservation groups, attacks school children who donate to any other organization, and make up lies to discredit and diminish their efforts when they do. You'll never know where your money goes - but, you can be sure it won't go to conserving orangutans in the wild, they now favor taunting caged orangutans with iPads, which last on average 7 seconds in the hands of these animals. This organization has become about building a personal media empire and, seem to have a real scarcity mentality around anyone else trying help orangutans (even those who focus on wild orangutans, not caged orangutans which seems a different effort to iPads in cages). My students will no longer be donating, and we'll actively push other schools to stay right away from this organization. They are a bad role model for conservationists and certainly not good for kids to be involved with.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

raising funds to help orangutans at our school. Next, we learn that this organization is attacking students (very personally) and trying to create a campaign against school students who may donate to other orangutan conservation efforts. Our students were disheartened and felt very offended.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Stop trying to attack other organizations, focus on making a difference instead of seeking media attention at the expense of orangutans.. and.. stop pretending that it's OK to give iPads to orangutans instead of saving those that really need help.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

our school was learning about deforestation

Why did you make your donation at this time?

This group seemed like a responsible organization - BIG MISTAKE!!

What would you tell others about this organization?

Stay away from them. Read what they write about other organizations - they're dodgy, and you'll never know where your money goes..

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers