Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
1234.055
Write A Review
July 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Orangutan Outreach is a very bad organization for young people to be involved in. Today I was directed to comments made by Richard Zimmerman that are both profane, offensive, totally based on lies, and totally against the wellbeing of the mission he is claiming to support. Our school had been involved in supporting orangutan outreach as part of the student learning. We are very disappointed to learn this organization is so nasty, immature and dishonest.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

I am head mistress of a small primary school. Our students were motivated to help orangutans as part of their learning. We were encouraged to support Orangutan Outreach. We will actively discourage others from doing the same again as I was today encouraged to stop after seeing the messages from Richard Zimmerman. He is a very angry, nasty man who has personally upset my children.

July 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Simon, it seems that you need to get your facts right about Orangutan Outreach. You need to learn what the organisation represents along with what all its members stand for. The real hero's of the orangutan cause can all be found on the Orangutan Outreach facebook page. Some are known and some are not. Without question, Orangutan Outreach are doing the right thing when it comes to helping the orangutans in every way possible (unlike some other people who are more interested in garnering a reputation that is not deserved due to media hype and are nothing more than legends in their own minds). Orangutan Outreach is all about total dedication and passion for the orangutan cause and doing everything that is possible to help them. International Animal Rescue are one of the most dedicated organisations in the world when it comes to helping orangutans and it's no mistake that Orangutan Outreach are working closely with them in trying to save the lives of orangutans. Do you think that you've had some sort of success in destroying the reputation of Richard Zimmerman? You are highly mistaken Simon!!!! Do something constructive and adopt an orangutan today. http://redapes.org/adopt If you have further issues with the Orangutan Outreach organisation, Richard Zimmerman, its memebers or anything else related to the orangutans, don't hesitate to drop by the Orangutan Outreach page on facebook where dialogue can be pursued.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Orangutan outreach is a great organisation that assures money donated reaches the ones who need it most! By working closely with various organisations in Borneo such as, the center for orangutan protection, the BOS Nyaru Menteng Reintroduction Center founded by Lone Dröscher, and international animal rescue. Orangutan outreach also keeps orangutan lovers up to date with everything orangutan via Facebook and twitter. Creating a truly engaging online community of orangutan supporters.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

When my 7 year old daughter told me she wanted to save the orangutans I looked on line to find a web site that she could use to learn what to do. We contacted Richard Zimmerman at redapes.org and was met with support and enthusiasm. He was delighted to help a young child find ways she could help. At first it was just spreading the word about palm oil. My daughter Allie, was able to easily negotiate the web site and print materials needed to educate her friends and family. Now at age 14 she has started Purses for Primates and Antiques4apes. She has raised over 3,000.00 and has given every penny to Orangutan Outreach. We had the pleasure of meeting Rich Zimmerman and my daughter will tell you it was a thrill. She had the opportunity to meet her hero. Over the last 7 years Richard has provided Allison with the support and information she needed to continue her fight to save the great red ape. We trust this foundation with all her hard work and money earned. We know every penny will be put to good use. I can honestly say there has never been a moment of doubt or wonder. We trust this non-profit and its leader. He is a roll model for my daughter and other kids as well. He understands that it is important to support the children in their endeavors. If kids care about a cause the sky is the limit.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 16, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

July 16, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I can't speak highly enough of Orangutan Outreach. Founder Richard Zimmerman has the passion and commitment to keep the organization a game changer in the field of orangutan conservation. He does his due diligence and applies the funds his group receives to projects worthy of support. I have watched Orangutan Outreach grow over the years and must say I am both impressed and proud to see how the organization has stayed true to its mission.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Orangutan Outreach work tirelessly to spread awareness about the plight of the orangutan. They have provided significant funding to International Animal Rescue (IAR) which, as a result, has rescued many animals in West Borneo. Supported by Orangutan Outreach and other progressive NGOs around the world IAR has embarked on an ambitious orangutan conservation program. The support has been open and transparent and the commitment unquestionable. A great NGO.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Hello All, I speak as I find and have experience as an international photographer and a press photographer in the UK. Out of all the NoPro organisations I know and have worked with I rate two at the top of the tree (in no order) International Animal Rescue and Orangutan Outreach. I find Simon P's comments below wholly unacceptable and defamatory. Knowing both organisations I do I would suggest Simon P clearly has a hidden agenda. One of the questions below asks "How much of an impact do you think this organization has?" The answer is LIFE-CHANGING for the simple reason, they save animals lives. They get off their bottoms and rescue animals that would otherwise die. They have saved tens if not hundreds of lives over the years, how many can Simon P notch up directly to himself. I cannot abide internet trolls and cowards who post on these pages with the sole intent of causing reputation damage which only in the long term harms the animals. Anyone who harms animals is no friend of mine and I would suggest has no right to be casting false aspersions on others on a website like this. Orang Outreach protect their animals from many types of lesser species of humans and it is clear to me who one of them is. If you have issue with Rich Z act like a man Simon P and pick up the phone to Richard or myself, and please do not post such childish bile on professional websites such as this. You truly are a man who's cause and effect injures animals. Pop along and take a good long hard look in the mirror and congratulate yourself on an awful job expertly done. Oh and 2331 other people cannot be so wrong. https://www.facebook.com/OrangutanOutreach

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Follow the simple stories of countless rescues and saved Orangs who go onto a life rather than a certain death

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Be able to explain better how Education of people comes in part from carefully selected press stories that make tourists realise it is NEVER acceptable to have a photo taken with a live or dead animal. Only today across Facebook we see pics of a dive boat with Sharks hung up and slaughtered for their fins. I would increase monies clearly and drive up their Facebook awareness by careful use of the media. Press + Awareness + Education = More donations & less tolerance of terrible treatment.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

National Geographic Photographer I met in Cambodia and a a Rescue Medi nurse hand rearing an orphaned Dugong in Sulawasi

July 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

This organization actively campaigns against other orangutan conservation groups, attacks school children who donate to any other organization, and make up lies to discredit and diminish their efforts when they do. You'll never know where your money goes - but, you can be sure it won't go to conserving orangutans in the wild, they now favor taunting caged orangutans with iPads, which last on average 7 seconds in the hands of these animals. This organization has become about building a personal media empire and, seem to have a real scarcity mentality around anyone else trying help orangutans (even those who focus on wild orangutans, not caged orangutans which seems a different effort to iPads in cages). My students will no longer be donating, and we'll actively push other schools to stay right away from this organization. They are a bad role model for conservationists and certainly not good for kids to be involved with.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

raising funds to help orangutans at our school. Next, we learn that this organization is attacking students (very personally) and trying to create a campaign against school students who may donate to other orangutan conservation efforts. Our students were disheartened and felt very offended.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Stop trying to attack other organizations, focus on making a difference instead of seeking media attention at the expense of orangutans.. and.. stop pretending that it's OK to give iPads to orangutans instead of saving those that really need help.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

our school was learning about deforestation

Why did you make your donation at this time?

This group seemed like a responsible organization - BIG MISTAKE!!

What would you tell others about this organization?

Stay away from them. Read what they write about other organizations - they're dodgy, and you'll never know where your money goes..

March 22, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
March 22, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

I am very impressed by this organization and the director. He is knowledgable and has several times shared information with me which many organization staffs do not take the time to do.

The critical mission to save the last orangutans cannot be overstated.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Letters written to assist in my career decisions; printed information sent to help in choices regarding volunteering/careers and to further my understanding of orangutans and the destruction of the forests.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Seek more funding. Their internet site is beautiful and I wish more people knew of it and sent more donations to this young organization and it's dedicated director.

August 23, 2009
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 23, 2009
1 person found this review helpful

Orangutan Outreach has an outstanding site, redapes.org This site is updated daily with recent articles on orangutans and palm oil from around the world. The M.O.M - Missing orangutan mothers campaign was in local zoos, providing information about deforestation and the diminishing habitat in Indonesia. The organization is playing a major role in connecting zoos who are trying to make a difference in getting the word out about how palm oil is the cause of deforestation in Indonesia. Orangutan Outreach created the first kids group Forest School 101 so kids can be involved in helping these beloved creatures.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

It's still small but has accomplished so much in it's couple years of life. The founder Richard Zimmerman is totally and completely dedicated to the cause. He is an amazing resource to find out what's going on "on the ground' in Indonesia. They are the

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Give money to Nyaru Menteng rehabilitation center & Samboja Lestari to continue to feed and protect the 650 orphaned orangutans. Create a save the orangutan campaign for the USA. Fund Dr. Willie Smits to help him continue his work in the forest.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers