Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
7 Reviews
123.8571445
Write A Review
September 22, 2014

more

September 22, 2014

Orange County SPCA is dedicated group of animal lovers who foster the humane treatment of animals through education, financial assistance for the relief of animal suffering and cruelty intervention. They inspire hope in their community. We are honored to support this terrific organization through our Cars 4 Causes Vehicle Donation Program. Their dedication to Animal Welfare is inspiring!
May 20, 2014

I am a Licensed California Veterinarian,and I am the owner of a Pet Hospital in the Orange County area.
For the last 2 years, I had the privilege to work very closely with the Orange County SPCA.
We have been working with them in a variety of clinical cases from regular spay and neuter
cases were they strive to decrease pet overpopulation, to cases of animal abuse and cases of severe financial hardship were clients need financial assistance to provide emergency life saving care to animals in need.
I have only wonderful things to say about this organization.
They are hard working, honest and completely invested in the well being of all animals.
I highly recommend this organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 11, 2014

more

May 11, 2014

We rescued two dogs and needed assistance with both of them. The Orange County SPCA was amazing with their knowledge, time and resources. Huntington Beach and surrounding cities benefit from this organizations hard work. Don't let one bad personal review of a selfish volunteer relationship gone sour over shadow all of the good things that the OCSPCA does for our community.
May 7, 2014

more

May 7, 2014

The impact the OCSPCA makes on our OC community is significant. Working somewhere in OC out of a small office space they have positively changed the lives of thousands of animals and an underserved population since 1984 – 3 decades of dedication! Their programs are made possible through a highly organized volunteer system. They have been changing lives, mine included, primarily under the radar. I cannot say enough good things about this organization. I have had the privilege to adopt two rescue kitties from the OCSPCA and I’ve lost sight of who they were actually rescuing, the kitties or me!
February 25, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 25, 2011

This event was put on and advertised as "Benefiting the Orange County SPCA" so why wouldn't the $2,400 have been spent helping the animals? The OCSPCA is very dedicated to animal welfare in our community. The President works hard, long hours as a volunteer and makes sure that every penny goes towards direct animal aid. As a non-profit, the IRS carefully looks at the funds so the numbers need to match - even if it is 40 cents. REMEMBER PEOPLE - THERE ARE TWO SIDES TO EVERY STORY.

"The SURFING PAWS DOG JAM will be held on July 11 in Huntington Beach, CA where Goldenwest meets PCH! The contest and day activities are from 9-4 and then in the evening (from 8-11) there will be a red carpet awards show and an auction.

ALL PROCEEDS go the Orange County SPCA – or you can make a direct donation via Paypal."

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The Orange County SPCA is part of the solution - they give out thousands of spay and neuter vouchers to help control the pet over population problem and they give financial aid to low-income pet owners who need help paying for emergency, life-saving veterinary care. All of their programs help animals and people in our community. There is nothing greedy about this organization. It is run by fabulous, dedicated volunteers who are passionate about the welfare of animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Spread the word more often about the great things OCSPCA does.

October 13, 2010

more

October 13, 2010

I have to say that I personally know Rene Bruce and was at the event in question. They even used an expensive 10 x 20 easy up tent that was damaged and never repaired. It was such a shame to see such a wonderful event dragged down. Shame of the OCSPCA. Pay your bills and take care of your people. You need them

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

attending the Surf Paws event, loaning them my tent which was damaged and never repaired. Very sad that volunteers are treated in such a poor fashion

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Reorganization would be the most important thing. Continuw with the dog walk, since that seems to be working. But get an entirelly different committee for the Surf Contest. And pay your bills!!

October 13, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 13, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

Well I spent 8 months planning a dog surf contest to benefit these people and the Pres Donna stated a few things up front. She was not going to put in a cent. and that she wanted only the exposure from the event and that I should pay myself for my work. I said, I will generate my own cash flow from sponsors and participants and ticket sale sales for red carpet portion of the 2 events in 1 day. I was volunteering my time in hopes that the event was successful, so that year 2 I would attract more sponsors and media and ultimate goal of a reality show. Any extra money if any I was going to put towards the 2nd annual event. Well well, was I screwed. The real thanks I got from all my hard work to put on an event to help pets in Orange County CA came from the general public as the GREEDY Pres of the OCSPCA took the extra $2400 and spent it.. so guess what NO 2010 event. She made me feel like a criminal as I had to beg to have her cut me a check for things that I payed out of my own pocket for, as I had all the sponsors and athletes and red carpet ticket sales go directly to there paypal. So I had to pay on my CC for printing the say 20,000 postcards, and the list is long. She even had the nerve to take out 40 cents from one of the check for I don't even remember, and also I had to pay the sound/DJ cash so I had to sign some sort of promise note that I was payed $400 to pass to the DJ. The entire experience made me realize why others that work with non profits will put on an event, then cut them a check after all is said and done. Since this Non profit ripped me off I started a lil printing Co called Print4aPet.com and I print stuff and instead of donating money to a animal charity I find something they need and buy it and bring to them. for example you can see that in June of 2010 I donated two huge signs to the OC Animal Care Center ( they are not a non profit but they sure were hella grateful and I now volunteer there every week) http://www.prweb.com/releases/Print4apet_donation/animal_shelter/prweb4559584.htm if you want to validate my story. I spent 8 months and tons of my own money to help this group and they got greedy and kept the extra $2,400 when Donna said she didn't want any money, just the exposure.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

ways that have made me NOT trust non profits.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fire the Pres and let the secretary/office manager run the entire operation, she knows what she's doing, the Pres Donna is Clueless.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers