Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
1234.85
Write A Review
May 1, 2014

more

May 1, 2014

I love what OURF is doing to help the orangutans.
As the CEO of a small company it matters to me greatly that Gary Shapiro has taken it upon himself to create an organization that works at the grass roots level to educate locals about the importance of biodiversity and preserving orangutan
habitat.

OURF is a wonderful organization that needs and deserves all the help they can get to accomplish this enormous task. Please consider them when you make a donation. Your money will be put to good use --- and NOT to expensive overhead --aka expensive fundraising programs!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them more support and more exposure.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 22, 2014

more

April 22, 2014

This organization is critical in providing for the survival of red ape cousins. I am a strong believer and donor for this worthy organization. I strongly encourage others to get involved and work for a better future for us and these beautiful animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get Gary to retire sooner so he could get back to the worthwhile work he is doing saving these beautiful animals.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

Dr. Shapiro has devoted his life to helping protect and preserve orangutans. His strategy of promoting awareness and conservation education among the people of Indonesia truly gets at the heart of the matter and I believe is critical to making the difference for these amazing creatures. I personally have seen how far that Dr, Shapiro has gone to protect the orangutan habitat when I travelled with him nearly a decade ago to visit Camp Leaky, the site of his original research in the 70's that lead him to a lifetime of working to understand and protect the orangutans. The Orang Utan Republik Foundation is truly a great and innovative organization doing critical work on the ground in Indonesia to support and assist its partner groups!
April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

Gary Shapiro's organization is amazing . I cannot stress enough how important the work is that the Orang Utan Republik Foundation is doing for the survival and well being of orangutans and helping locals become educated about the importance of protecting the orangs.
If you were to support one
NGO this is the one to support.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 19, 2012

more

July 19, 2012

This is a great organization that is helping orangutans by educating the Indonesian people and most importantly young people on how criticallly endangered orangutans are and what can be done to help them fight off extinction. Gary is the most passionate person i know when it comes to orangutans. Since the 70's he has tirelessly worked on their behalf and now heads up Orangutan Republik. I am honored to be able to help in what little ways i can by donating sculptures and raising money through them to help them out. I truly want to see this organization flourish and keep doing what they do best... SAVING ORANGUTANS

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 19, 2012

more

July 19, 2012

I've donated to OURF for a few years now. What I find compelling is their recognition of the needs of the people who live 'next door' to the Orangutans. By focusing their educational outreach on those whose actions can unintentionally devastate the Orangutans' natural habitat, they are building a long term holistic solution. And Gary is a force of nature...

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 17, 2012

more

July 17, 2012

I have never seen this level of commitment from any other organization for the preservation of a species. Gary and the others who make up the Orang Utan Republik are absolutely passionate in their fight for the rights of these amazing primates as well as for the preservation of their habitat. They do it in a number of ways, but to me, their education projects in Indonesia are what sets them apart and will ultimately bring them success.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 16, 2012

more

July 16, 2012

When I first ventured to the Jungles of Borneo, in 1996, I first became aware of the desperate plight of the Orangutans. I have been supporting their cause for many years and truly believe that the work done by OURF, through education, is now the best way to help save this amazing species from extinction. I look forward to their next fundraiser on November 15th.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers