Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
1234.85
Write A Review
May 10, 2014

more

May 10, 2014

Orangutan Caring Club of North Sumatra CPOI-SUMUT), we would like to express our appreciation and gratitude for the Orangutan Republik Foundation (OURF), Mr Gary Shapiro, for Support we program since 2005 until 2014. Especially through the support of Mobile Education and Conservation Program (MECU: I,II, III,IV). Area Aroud the Gunung Leuser Ecosystem the Bahorok Distrik , Indonesia.

Orangutan Republik Foundation (OURF),propose to manage a Mobile Education & Conservation Unit (MECU) to deliver targeted conservation education in remote areas around the Gunung Leuser Ecosystem where human/ape conflict exists as well as conduct conservation related programs benefiting ape survival. The project’s intent is to provide a multipurpose, reliable vehicle for educators and conservation specialists of the Orangutan Caring Club of North Sumatra (CPOI Sumut) to access locations near orangutan habitat in order to (a) deliver education programs regarding orangutan, wildlife, environment, and conservation to local villagers and (b) transport of young trees to areas adjacent to orangutan habitat needing reforestation. The focus will be to address conflict issues specific to living within close proximity of the critically endangered Sumatran Orangutan (Pongo abelii) as well as the endangered Sumatran Lar Gibbon (Hylobates lar) and the endangered Siamang (Hylobates syndactylus). Additional focus will be placed on enrolling and engaging the villagers in tree planting to rehabilitate degraded orangutan and other wildlife habitat which also has the benefit of revitalizing forests and preventing floods.

The Orang Utan Republik Foundation is the Best of organization doing critical work on the ground in Indonesia to support and assist its partner groups, community development and education.

We all Thank’s very much Mr Gary Shapiro (OURF),


Herman Syahputra, chairman of Orangutan Caring Club of North Sumatera.




More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unlikely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 1, 2014

more

May 1, 2014

I have been working with Dr. Gary Shapiro and Orang Utan Republik Foundation for many years helping to promote the annual international Orangutan Caring Week (OCW) which Gary began back in 1995. The event is held in November each year and helps people and students learn about the wonderful world of orangutans and their rainforest habitat. Every year the event grows with more zoos, students, conservation groups, individuals, all participating and spreading the word about the plight of orangutans and their rainforest homes. The event helps to encourage people to not only care about these issues - but to care enough to be moved to action.
There are many people and groups all over the world working to save orangutans and their rainforest homes but the 2013 OCW theme "Unite to Fight the Extinction of the Orangutan" sums up beautifully how Gary and OURF are bringing these groups together toward the common goal of saving orangutans and their rainforest homes when we all come together during this November event as one voice to save this incredible species and the rainforest that is home to many other critically endangered animals.

We can't expect everyone to be as passionate about orangutans as we may be, but through OCW, we can help people make a personal connection and show them that the survival of orangutans has a direct impact on their own lives - on their own survival.
We show them how the products they buy have a direct impact on forests and on countless species of animals half way around the world - And that what happens half way around the world effects them right here at home. It is a small world, after all! The tremendous amounts of carbon released from the cutting and burning of the orangutans rainforest home has a direct impact on climate change and climate change affects us all, no matter where we live.

If we can help people make that connection, then they will see that they do indeed have a personal stake in the survival of orangutans. OCW helps make that important connection.

I love working with Gary! His passion is inspiring and his tireless efforts help to motivate me to want to do more and work harder every year to make Orangutan Caring week a bigger and better success, reaching more and more people with this very important message.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 30, 2014

more

April 30, 2014

I have been volunteering for OURF since 2011.
I think the work Dr. Gary Shapiro is doing is important as he is pro-actively helping Orangutans through education.
I fully support his organization OURF and will continue to help them reach their goals.

April 20, 2014

more

April 20, 2014

I am proud of my volunteer involvement with Orang Utan Republik Foundation. OURF provides much needed education based solutions and farming alternatives to help save the endangered Orangutan. The scholarship program for veterinary, biology and forestry workers serves to create a generation of advocates working to preserve the Orangutan habitat: the unique rainforests of Indonesia.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

As a new volunteer I am very grateful to be a part of this organization for the important work it does in helping the plight of the orangutan.
April 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I'm very proud being the recevier from OURF Scholarship. I think This Scholarship Programe helpfull me to care about the Orangutan's future. From this programe we can find more knowledge about Orangutan, then i hope this programe can be able forever to help Indonesian Students and make Orangutan save in Indonesia.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 26, 2013

more

April 26, 2013

It’s kind of pride got the opportunity to receive scholarship from OURF. I learn and find much new knowledge about Orangutan. I was not too concerned about nature and wildlife in the past, but now I am very concerned and would preserve Orangutan and their forest! Show that you care! #TogetherWeCanSaveOrangutans #VivaVeteriner

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 25, 2013

more

April 25, 2013

I am a scholarship beneficiary from Orangutan Republic Foundation. I'm very glad. I have many experience when i got it. I'll make a research about Orangutan and their Habitats. How we can make a comfort house for these animals. Thank you to gave me opportunity to learn more about Conserve Orangutan and it's Habitat. Save Orangutan!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 24, 2013

more

April 24, 2013

Being one of the grantees OURF scholarship was make me so proud. Now i like having an impulse to find out more new developments regarding orangutans. I am also hopes can directly join in orangutan conservation activities. About my research in the future, i'm not really but maybe i will research about the health of orangutans in the zoo. Together we can save orangutans. #Viva Veteriner

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 24, 2013

more

April 24, 2013

OURF scholarship is a pride for me, amid the heated issue of animals (orangutan) are endangered today. I think by joining in OURF will help me become a candidate who is not only a vet can treat the animal, but also be able to help and participate in the conservation of wildlife - animals that are very influential in global warming. This scholarship program is also an encouragement to learn, motivating me to go ahead and be ready to face the challenges of the outside world. god bless if I will examine the bacteria contained in food orangutans at the zoo. hopefully with this scholarship I can finish my studies on time

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers