Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
9 Reviews
123.4444445
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 7, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 7, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

This organization has a great mission and some of its work helps the actual refugees they claim they are helping however, the director, Neil Grungras is a self-important man who mismanages the organization. His treatment of staff and volunteers is not only disrespectful but he takes them for granted, gets rid of them and orders them around like they are reusable. The little good intentions he has are wasted on dumping his responsibilities on volunteers like me and jetting around the world to meet with people he can name drop. He treats those who work tirelessly for him badly and he is disorganized and thoughtless when it comes to implementation of the work. He does not seem to think the careers and opinions of young adults that are beginning their career in human rights work matter, and he acts accordingly. All of this behavior is said to be more efficiently serving the larger mission, but sadly he does not realize that the way you treat staff is important and people talk. I strongly discourage interning/volunteering or working for this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The staff is formed by the most passionate people I've met and I believe that this is the main reason for the NGO's great accomplishments. The friendly, yet professional working environment, makes the volunteers and interns contribute with great pleasure.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This is a great organization that works to help LGBTI refugees fleeing persecution in their home countries. I had a chance to work on publications and treatises, and also to help work on some of the legal cases being handled in the office. Great opportunity!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hire more staff!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
September 4, 2013

Amazing mission of assisting glbt people but the executive director grungas sabotages the organisation. I was an intern here and was truly truly inspired by some of the staff and volunteers, but the mismangements really hurt the organisation. Projects and publications are not planned, all deadlines are missed, and too much time is spent compensating for the bad decisions and awful judgement of the executive director. During my summer, he spent most of it jetsetting for no seeming reason or accountability. Completely out of touch but for the brief moments he is in San francisco and not in Israel or Europe, he is harrassing the staff and volunteers and interns to makeup for all the work he fails to do. I was so so frustrated with him even as an intern, so I can so understand why the staff turnover is as high as it is. Mr. Grungas is so paranoid about competition organisations that he rather not help GLBT people in need of help so that no one can help them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

urging the board to replace Mr. Grungas as executive director. He had a good vision as founder but he does not care about the organisation or its mission anymore.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unlikely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

Before interning at ORAM, I already found myself lucky to live in a country where Human Rights are not a life and death issue. ORAM opened my eyes on the persecution that millions of people experience everyday around the world based on their sexual orientation and gender identity. I worked with a professional staff advocating for this cause for many years, using their expertise to conduct research and trainings to raise the awareness of governments, international institutions and the public. I witnessed the willingness of the organization and its partners to help refugees living in precarious conditions. I also met committed and competent interns. ORAM is a key organization in its field and I am proud to have been part of it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

translate a document into another language.