Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
1234.944445
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 8, 2014

more

July 8, 2014

I went there to attend a program which is called (The Son rise program) to deal with autistic children,
This institute is one of the best in the world, courses might be a little bit expensive but you can apply for financial support (which was my case)
people came to attend from around the
world
%100 it is one of the best

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 4, 2014

more

June 4, 2014

I came to the Option Institute 15 yrs ago to attend a program called Optimal Self Trust to help me gain clarity in making a big decision (whether or not to get divorced). Then I went to therapy for a number of years. Upon coming back to Option for a week, I realized that I made more self-discoveries and gained more tools about how to live a happier life than I had in all those years of therapy -- all in one week!!

My favorite program is called Radical Authenticity. By becoming radically authentic, you learn to be yourself in all situations. It is such a relief to be able to say what you think and feel to people without fear of their reactions! When you are so afraid of conflict, nothing gets resolved, and issues sometimes continue for years! I've learned it doesn't have to be that way.

Perhaps most importantly I've learned how to be happy in any situation at any time -- even situations typically viewed as "terrible" - such as death, sickness, loved ones going to jail, etc. And now I'm paying that forward. I've recently switched careers. Instead of diagnosing people and telling them what's wrong with them, I counsel angry/depressed homeless moms/dads/kids and teach them the incredible power of being in charge of their own feelings and behaviors - no matter what.

Simply put - The Option Institute is awesome & changes lives all over the world for the better.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help it become more well known and more accessible to more people...perhaps create branches throughout the country and world.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 14, 2014

more

May 14, 2014

Such an excellent, joyful, life-enhancing place! I've attended 10 programs and relished each one, learning more & more each time how to delight in my own existence, connect easily with others and go for what I deeply want in life. Soul-satisfyingly delicious.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 13, 2014

more

May 13, 2014

My experiences at the Option Institute and Autism Treatment Centre of America began as a parent, learning about the exceptional SonRise Program. Our experiences using the SonRise Program Principles continue to change our lives for the better for us and our children. I love the content of the courses at the Institute - and the passionate, professional and exuberant way it is taught is like nothing I have witnessed anywhere ever. These people are exceptional and I plan to continue to visit, learn and be inspired by the teachers and other participants at the Option Institute. I have learnt skills I can use every moment to be a better parent, a more comfortable person and to see things from different perspectives and really think, understand and create life as I want it. :)

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 13, 2014

more

May 13, 2014

I am a doctor who works with children and families dealing with autism and other difficult situations. I am also the parent of a child now recovered from autism. The Option Institute and the Autism Treatment Center of America (part of the Option Institute) is largely responsible for that. I came to learn about how to interact with my son - in 2003. It was life changing not only because he responded to my "new way" of living and interacting with him, but also because I learned how very in control of my life and my happiness I was - no matter what was happening to me. I continue to attend adult programs at the Option Institute now and it is the greatest gift I could ever give myself. To work with teachers and peers who also want to live happy lives, no matter what life throws at us - what a joy. I have never before found a place that offers me tools like this - to cope and thrive in the face of anything. I will forever be grateful I found this place. Best money I could ever spend - giving back to the Option Institute.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 13, 2014

more

May 13, 2014

As a young adult I was helped in many fantastic ways by the Option Institute, so that I was able to learn, change and move forward from my depression and eating disorder. I now feel very happy, at ease and strong in my life, and along the way have met many, many people who have also been helped. Not only with personal development, but children and families touched by autism. Having seen the incredible impact this organisation can have, for families as well as individuals, I couldn't think of a better place to give my charitable donations. I'm so glad to be able to support this work in the world!
May 5, 2014

more

May 5, 2014

if you want a happy life, this is the place to create it. For ANYONE. Whatever you thought was not possible, is possible.
April 22, 2014

more

April 22, 2014

When my son was 27 months old, he was diagnosed with autism. As soon as I heard the news, I made it my mission to do everything possible to help my son. I researched schools, therapies, diets, and every treatment out there. January 2013, I came across The Autism Treatment Center of America, the worldwide teaching center for The Son-Rise Program.The more I researched it, the more I knew this was exactly the program to fit my son's needs. In June 2013, I attended a week long Son-Rise Start-Up course in Massachusetts. THIS WAS THE BEST WEEK OF MY LIFE! I had finally found a way to connect with my son in a non-judgmental loving way.

As soon as I got home, I began applying all the techniques I learned. It was amazing to see my son become so much more interactive with me. My son began to point, wave bye-bye and gave make speech-like sounds within a short period of me implementing the strategies and attitude I learned at the Autism Treatment Center of America. No more does my son smear poo, need help undressing, or run off at every opportunity.

In April 2014, I attended a second course of the Son-Rise program. Again, I was able to put into practice my learnings and immediately saw results. Not only in my son, but in myself. I became a happier person.

I am so glad that this place exists and continues to bring hope to all those families who have been told otherwise!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change a thing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 25, 2014

more

February 25, 2014

I am a Special Educator and have been working with children with disabilities for over 20 years. I have worked with children with autism in many different capacities and using many different treatments. I have never come across an approach so compassionate and logical. It just makes sense!! The Son-Rise Method that was taught in our training is amazing and simple. Anyone committed and invested in their relationship with the child can be successful!! You don't need a degree, you just need love and understanding. I thought all of the instructors did a great job of being welcoming, encouraging, and inspiring! I will definitely be going back to the Option Institute for another one of their amazing classes/trainings. I also liked that the participants were from all over the globe and not just the US. It was nice to meet new people and hear how different cultures experience the autism journey. One last thing that was so awesome about the Option Institute, not as significant as the training though, was the fresh and delicious food that was served for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't think I would change too much about this organization. If anything, I feel like they need to do a better job of getting the word out. I had no idea this method existed. I could have been changing lives more effectively a long time ago.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 24, 2014

more

February 24, 2014

I was excited, but a little skeptical about the Son-Rise start up program, but it was a transforming experience. I learned many new and specific strategies to implement when I work with children and adults on the autism spectrum. What was even more powerful to me at the age of 54 was the realization that I could change my beliefs and thus change my attitudes. In fact, if I hope to effect change in others, I must change first. I am so grateful for my experience here and as a final note, the food is amazing!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

ask for a chance to spend even more time being inspired by Bryn and William Hogan.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers