Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
160 Reviews
1234.9755
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
May 24, 2013

more

May 24, 2013

Operation Write Home is a great way to support our troops, by making and donating cards, by donating money to defray shipping costs, and by sending any hero cards to soldiers so they know we are thinking about them and we appreciate their sacrifice.

It is also a chance to spend time with
your crafty friends, getting together to make cards!
~Suzy in Springfield, MO

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find ways to get more card makers involved. Everybody is just so busy.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 23, 2013

more

May 23, 2013

When found myself able to retire at a relatively early age, SO many people asked "What will you do....how will you keep from going crazy?" For me the answer was simple - first, spend more time with family and friends and then find a way to give back and express my gratitude for the blessings I've received in my life.

For me, Operation Write Home (OWH) is the perfect fit. It allows me the opportunity to do something meaningful for those who offer themselves and their talents to protect the life and freedoms that I and many others have so often taken for granted here in the great U.S.A. I love many types of hand crafting but, several years before I retired, card making became my craft of choice. One day, while looking for card ideas I came across the OWH website and knew this was an organization with which I wanted to be associated. After describing the organization's efforts and my intent to participate, several of my family and friends also wanted to give back to our service men and women. Now, twice a month, I host an OWH day where any who are available are welcome to come over and we spend the day making cards for those serving overseas in the military to use to keep in touch with their family and loved ones back home.

And so, once again I have been blessed! This one effort has helped me to achieve, in part, both of my retirement goals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I cannot think of anything I would change, except perhaps to give the founder, Sandy Allnock, additional resources that will allow her to continue this good work and further spread the word about this exceptional organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 23, 2013

more

May 23, 2013

I started using Copic Markers and was trying to find a way to practice and then wondered what to do with them when they are finished. I found this wonderful organization and was honored to be part of it. My husband is a Vietnam Vet and he was glad to help me support the organization. So he is the donor and I am the card maker.

One of the best parts about being part of this organization is that you get to hear what your contributions are doing. You hear weekly about how somone used the cards, honored a family member, kept in touch with family or some heart warming story to keep you motivated to keep making cards and sending much needed postage money.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change a thing.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2013

more

May 22, 2013

I was looking for a place to serve our military and yet one that fit with our busy schedule as a homeschool family. Operation Write Home fit the bill perfectly. They provide help for their donors (guidelines, tutorials, etc.) and they are transparent in all they do, from mailing packages, sharing encouragement/feedback and their financial end. It has been a blessing to share in bringing joy to military and their families through Operation Write Home. I like it so much that my craft group's service project for 2013 will be to get Any Hero cards created and sent in, as many as we can.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not much at all. Maybe get a few more mailing volunteers.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2013

more

May 22, 2013

I know of no other group that meets this need better than OWH. Having the opportunity to have something as simple as a card to send home to loved is such a blessing. I've received many messages back stating their thanks and enjoyment in being able to pick out that special card for that special someone. To put it simply... I think OWH is a blessing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do nothing to change it.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2013

more

April 11, 2013

I was looking for a way to give a little back to the troops who sacrifice everything for our country when I found Operation Write Home. What a fabulous way to help troops keep in touch with their family! I am a card maker and am just ecstatic that I can use my God-given talents to brighten someone else's day!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013

more

April 7, 2013

making cards and writing letters to deployed servicemen/servicewomen is a terrific thing in and of itself, but the incredible volunteer support and guidance with OWH tutorials, vlog, and crafting network makes it even more attractive an organisation.

plus, look at their financials. they
have little/no overhead. they put their funds into direct community benefit. they are ALL volunteers. the facts lead to the conclusion that this organisation is an excellent investment beyond the philanthropic aspects of it's mission.

i originally started making these greeting cards to help me cope with hubby’s calling, but it turns out that this organisation opened a whole new world to me. not only do i feel better about him going into harm’s way every day, but i’ve added one more thing that brings some fun and adventure into my life. . . and i’m so NOT a crafty-type . . .

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The volunteers of this non-profit work tirelessly day in and day out to carry out their mission. There is a mountain of work involved to keep this program running smoothly and they do it gladly. I've known about this organization for a couple of years, but have recently hopped on the bandwagon as a supporter and card-maker for our troops and their loved ones. Anyone can support this worthwhile organizaion - even non-crafters. Donations help to cover shipping costs. Every dollar and every card make a difference!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been making cards for this organization for just a few months but it is such a wonderful feeling to be able to help our service men and women who are deployed overseas. They don't always have access to cards to write home to loved ones and this organization provides beautiful cards to those service people. Their loved ones get cards that they will cherish all their lives. My mother, who is now 95, saved all the letters that my dad had written to her while serving in WW II and what a wonderful thing that is for her children and grandchildren. This is the same that these families will have for years to come, the wonderful aspect of the written word in your loved ones handwriting. I'm proud to be able to help.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am a proud mother of a active duty Army Officer who has many friends deployed overseas. She will be deployed in Janurary. This organization helps to keep the troops morale up by sending beautiful greeting cards (home-made) to send home to their families. The families love recieving them, what a nice thing for these volunteers to do, donating their time and talent to our heroes!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers