Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
160 Reviews
1234.9755
| 1 2 3 4...12 |
Write A Review
May 22, 2013

more

May 22, 2013

I "enlisted" with the Operation Write Home team in Feb 2012. My son had recently joined the National Guard so I knew how precious those cards and letters that I received while he was away were. I didn't hesitate to join forces with Sandy Allnock, Kris Allan and the thousands of volunteer card makers. OWH strives for the very best by offering tons of tutorials, videos, challenges and daily motivation free of charge!! I look forward to the live webcast on YouTube every Thursday which allows me to chat with fellow OWHers and learn what's going on this week in the OWH world. Sandy is the executive director and never fails to bring us a giggle or 2 during the webcast. Sandy is very interactive (is that the right word?) meaning that she reads all of the comments and requests our input on certain things that help OWH grow. It's fun, informative and very rewarding knowing that we help bring smiles to our Heroes' family and friends back home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

.....have a webcast every day! I truly look forward to that 30 minutes of connecting with my OWH friends and learning design skills from the Stump Sandy card making segment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2013

more

May 22, 2013

I always loved to make cards ever since my daughter introduced me to my first rubber stamp. And, after retirement I went into the card making full force, but I found that I made a lot more than I sent out. So when I read about Operation Write Home I knew I found a place to send my cards for a great cause. I remembered how much a letter meant to me when my soldier sent me his when he was in the Air Force during the Vietnam era. So I know the family and friends who get those cards with messages from their soldiers will be so blessed as well. This is an organization that does a wonderful thing to make the deployment of our soldiers and their families less tough.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2013

more

May 22, 2013

I love card making. Simple as that. But, I was making card after card and not using a lot of them. I then found Operation Write Home. Problem solved! And in such a wonderful way. I get to make all the cards I want and some wonderful people get to use them to write home to family and friends. I am happy to have found OWH and also soooo very grateful for our Troops and all they have done for our country.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2013

more

May 22, 2013

This is a fabulous organization and giving community. The overhead is unspeakably low to non-existent. Everyone, including international volunteers, spread the honor, gratefulness, and appreciate our service personnel. Further, the connections made to our service personnel last forever through the handmade cards OWH volunteers made for them to write home to love ones, family and friends. These cards remain as a piece of the service person and a memory that will last forever in their lives. All donations made to this nonprofit go to shipping boxes to our military installations, regardless of branch in the military. Without contributions of cards or monetary contributions, we would not be able to fulfill the volume of requests that have been made by our service personnel,

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more people informed and involved, both card markers, and those in industry that provide product for volunteers to continue to sustain the organization as long as there are needs. Technological communication can never replace the value and love from a hand written note.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2013

more


1 previous review
April 6, 2013

I used to make scrapbooks but that slowed way down when the kids and grand kids moved out of state, and most pictures are now stored digitally and easier to maintain. So I started making greeting card... more

May 22, 2013

To be able to make cards for deployed military personnel to send home to family and friends is my way of showing respect for and saying thank you to our Heroes who sacrifice for and serve this great nation. I cannot tell you how heartwarming it is to receive a letter from the Heroes themselves telling us how glad they are that we provide these cards and how beautifully done they are. Or to receive a note from someone who received one of these cards from their deployed loved one and tell us how much it means to them to have "something" to hold with his or her own handwriting inside. It is such a small thing for me to do, but a very large priceless and important thing to them. One thought that always stays with me is one of our cards may be the last thing a loved one might receive...and that is why OWH is so important.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I cannot think of a thing to change.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I used to make scrapbooks but that slowed way down when the kids and grand kids moved out of state, and most pictures are now stored digitally and easier to maintain. So I started making greeting cards, I found myself overwhelmed with them and wanted to do something worthwhile with my card making. I found "Operation Write Home" through Hero Arts on line, checked it out and was thrilled to find an organization that sent blank hand made greeting cards to our Hero's in service for them to send home to their loved ones. I cannot think of a more fulfilling way to use the talent God gave me. I have learned so many good tips on making better quality cards and have made many new friends along the way.
The art of the handwritten note is a dying one, but for these soldiers it is a way to send something back home to their loved ones that can be displayed and read over and over again. Like our president Sandy Allnock says, "Your card could be the last thing a Hero's family receives" What an honor and privilege to be a part of this organization

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2013

more

May 22, 2013

When I heard about Operation Write Home I thought I would just make a few cards to send to them. However, when I found their website was so full of ways to support our military, I became committed to their cause. Operation Write Home constantly strives to meet the needs of our heroes while at the same time providing moral support and encouragement. I appreciate that my donations to them help cover the cost of shipping a box of cards overseas to our hero's.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think they are perfect as they are.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 24, 2012

For the last couple of years I have been donating cards to Operation Write Home. This is just a small way to thank our Heroes for their sacrifices. I was even able to sign up my son's unit when he w... more

May 22, 2013

I started making cards for OWH after my son was on his first deployment, it helped keep the stress level down. He is home safely, but I still contribute cards to help other military families.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

For the last couple of years I have been donating cards to Operation Write Home. This is just a small way to thank our Heroes for their sacrifices. I was even able to sign up my son's unit when he was deployed. I have also learn a number of new card techniques thanks to the very talented OWH card makers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 22, 2013

more

May 22, 2013

I have enjoyed making cards for OWH! What they do is phenomenal! The returning vets I have talked with have nothing but high praise for this program!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More support for their cause. They need to change nothing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 10, 2012

I am so happy I found this organization. I was making cards for friends and family, but there are only so many that I needed. I can now spread the joy and happiness from my cards to the soldiers who... more

May 22, 2013

I am so happy to be a part of Operation Write Home. Every card I make for the troops, makes me feel just a little closer to them and gives me the feeling that I am helping at least one soldier stay in contact with family at home. The women who take care of sorting and mailing the cards are the best. They are always there for questions, always helping with new ideas and techniques and do it all because they want to not because they have too.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am so happy I found this organization. I was making cards for friends and family, but there are only so many that I needed. I can now spread the joy and happiness from my cards to the soldiers who are defending our freedom and away from their families and friends. OWH has given me something to look forward to and to feel like I am, in a small way, helping our nation's bravest. I have told so many people about this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 22, 2013

more

May 22, 2013

I enjoy making cards and am so glad that OWH has the contacts and staff to get the ones I donate to the troops so they can be used.

Not only does OWH provide me with an outlet for my cards, but I know the cards are sent where they'll be used.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't think of a thing I'd change!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers