Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
160 Reviews
1234.9755
Write A Review
May 23, 2013

more

May 23, 2013

I love that OWH allows me to put my craft to good use. As a cardmaker I can never find enough personal need for all the cards I make and it is a wonderful feeling to share my cards with our Heroes knowing it will help connect them to their loved ones while they are away. As an added bonus, I love the tutorials, inspiration and fun times that OWH shares with their cardmakers. It is really a WIN/WIN deal all around!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 24, 2012

OWH provides me a creative outlet that serves a double purpose in that it also allows me do a little something nice for others, and I can't imagine anyone who deserves a "little something extra" any m... more

May 22, 2013

Making cards for our troops to write home to their loved ones on....it is such a very small thing to do in comparison to the sacrifice they & their families make for me. It is my honor & pleasure to do this simple thing as a small token of appreciation to them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

OWH provides me a creative outlet that serves a double purpose in that it also allows me do a little something nice for others, and I can't imagine anyone who deserves a "little something extra" any more than the men & women of our military & their families.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 22, 2013

more

May 22, 2013

I was looking for a project for my Girl Scout troop to do. They made anyday hero cards, and I decided to use up some of my craft supplies and make cards for a good cause. I can make cards in my spare time and knowing they are going to the military makes it a win win situation

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2013

more

May 22, 2013

Am retired and found OperationWriteHome a couple of years ago. I send boxes to OWH about 3-4 times a year; it gives me such a good feeling to know that it will brighten the lives of someone waiting at home for their loved one to return, safe and sound. This org. is very well run and very active; love their live OWHTV show each Thursday eve.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes needed; love it as it is.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2013

more

May 22, 2013

I started making greeting cards to send to shut-ins who are members of my church, but soon had more cards than I could ever use. Making scrapbook pages didn't interest me, so when I found out about Operation Write Home, I felt it would be a perfect fit. So many recipients of my cards have said they love getting hand crafted cards with hand written messages, and I think family members of overseas military personnel must feel the same. Making cards that our heroes can use when they write home to family and friends gives me a sense of sharing in a very small way in the efforts of our military around the world. I hope it assures our heroes that our country is behind them as they sacrifice home and family life as they serve. Doing something I love for someone else is very gratifying -- I am receiving at the same time I'm giving.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of a thing I'd change. The website, blogs, videos, design challenges, design lessons, virtual card making parties, and other resources offered by OWH inspire me to offer only my best effort for our service personnel overseas.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2013

more

May 22, 2013

I can't tell you what OWH has done for me. Being retired, I was doing many things I wanted to do, but was just not totally satisfied with anything. I then found OWH which started me on the road to helping out, making cards for the wonderful hero's of our country. For the families left here at home and friends who keep in touch with them. This has been the most rewarding, fun, satisfying five years I have ever done and I don't miss a day that I'm not working on a set of cards.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2013

more

May 22, 2013

I am a relatively new member of OWH. I have sent several boxes of cards and have gotten so much more in return. OWH is a great group of dedicated women (and some men too) that are so selfless on their giving. I have learned so much about card making from the tutorials and the Thursday night live sessions with Sandy are so funny as well as informative. The OWH website is very easy to navigate and easily outlines the guidelines that we cardmakers need to follow.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish this organization would go out of business! LOL what I mean is I wish our troops would come home so that we OWHers can send our cards elsewhere! Other than that I wish we had enough funds to compensate our shippers for their time and efforts for they go far and beyond what any one expects them to!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2013

more

May 22, 2013

I think this is my 3rd year making cards for Operation Write Home (OWH). I love being able to enjoy my hobby and make something that a service member can send home to a friend or family member. It is so awesome to get an email from the sender (or receiver!) letting me know that they appreciate the time and effort that I put into my work. This is just one way that I can say THANK YOU too all the brave men and women that serve to protect my freedom.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2013

more

May 22, 2013

I am a demonstrator with Stampin' Up. One of my clients sent me the information on Operation Write Home less than a year ago. We have turned our get togethers into Card making parties for OWH. I love that I can send something to the Men and Women that protect our freedom. It is just a small way of saying Thank You for all that they do for us!! My family has ties to just about every branch of the military and this is perfect.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 22, 2013

more


3 previous reviews - show all
April 6, 2013

My involvement with OWH has been a very positive experience in my life. When we get a note from a hero or from their family member saying what the cards mean to them I am reminded that what I do make... more

May 22, 2013

I have enjoyed being involved with this organization for the past couple of years. Being able to enjoy my hobby (card making) and benefit a good cause is the best of both worlds.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make less work for the shippers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013

My involvement with OWH has been a very positive experience in my life. When we get a note from a hero or from their family member saying what the cards mean to them I am reminded that what I do makes life just a little nicer for them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This organization of volunteers makes greeting cards for deployed service members to write home to their families. The card makers love to make cards. The heroes love to send cards. Loved ones love to receive cards. It's a win-win-win.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have been associated with OWH for about a year, and it has been a wonderful experience. The mission is to provide cards for all occasions to deployed service men and women to help them keep in touch with home. The feedback from the heroes and families is so rewarding and inspiring. And OWH works very hard to encourage and support card makers too, as they teach us more and more about card making. The supportive community of card makers is incredible.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My cardmaking skills have improved dramatically. The feeling of satisfaction knowing that i have contributed something to cheer a service person or their family member is just great.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing. They are doing it right.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

I can't think of anything.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

All of the above and more.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

That I could do something useful and meaningful for those who serve our country. A very small 'pay back' for all they do for us.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers