Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
160 Reviews
1234.9755
| 1 ... 8 9 10...15 |
Write A Review
October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 20, 2011

I have been making my handmade greeting cards for the troops and their families through Operation Write Home since I first learned about this organization and its mission in Oct 2009 . It has been a ... more

October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

They help our deployed troops in touch with their families by sending blank handmade cards to our deployed heroes. I have learned so much about card making from the President, Sandy, and I really enjoy the friendships with other card makers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have been making my handmade greeting cards for the troops and their families through Operation Write Home since I first learned about this organization and its mission in Oct 2009 .

It has been a great experience for me not only to show my appreciation for their services to protect our
freedom and safety and being away from their loved ones but also by sharing my passion for this great cause with others. I get together with friends to work on the cards every week and we share the news about Operation Write Home with others whenever we get the chance.

OWH encourages us in our card making and challenges us to constantly improve our skills so we are sending the best work we can to the troops.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been making cards with OWH for about 3 years...I am not a prolific cardmaker but I make cards because I know they are going to help our service members deal with deployment and help friends and family members receive small pieces of art containing words from their loved ones. The most fun I have had since hooking up with OWH was organizing 600 students K-4 to make Anyhero letters and cards to send the troops. OWH and its volunteer shippers are doing a National Service and it is good.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 1, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 1, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I am a cardmaker for OWH. This is more than a non profit organization we are a family. All the other cardmakers are just the best people on the planet. I volunteer because it is an honor to give back to our deployed military in this small way for all the sacrficies they make for us.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Helped me realize what a sacrifice all these men and women make for total strangers like me.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It made me feel like I was part of something great. It has given me the confidence I can use my hobby skills to make a differenct in someone elses life.

November 26, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I just found Ooperation Write Home on Facebook yesterday and then read all about the organization on their site today. I am thrilled there is an organization like this supporting out troops. My husband is a veteran and I remember the hardships and lonliness faced by families as they hold down the homefront. I know from past experience how important mail from loved ones is. I could hardly wait for the mailman hoping there would be some contact from my husband. I love papercrafts and I am definitely going to be making cards to send for our trooops to send back home and I will support this great organization, supporting our troops.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I started to make a Valentines day card this afternoon to be sent to this organization and I am excited to be a part of the group!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a thing from what I have read!

November 26, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I knew about OWH about a year ago through a chat room dedicated to crafts. I've been doing cards for sometime now, and its great to know that I can send my art to someone in need. My husband is a veteran, but this is my way to help a little to those who sacrifice so much for our country.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Its a joy to help others keep in touch wirth their loved ones.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make more cards!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

They have tutorials that I've used to make cards in a very unique way.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 26, 2011

more

November 26, 2011

I love Operation Write Home!

I discovered OWH about two years ago when I was looking for a means of putting my handmade cards to good use. I was instantly and deeply impressed by the video they had on their front page, showing the soldiers who received cards. I showed it to several of my
friends, and shortly thereafter we began organizing "card parties", and shipping boxes of cards to this organization. I love that they take the time to share feedback and other messages from recipients with volunteers. It's a wonderful feeling, and my thanks goes out to the folks who keep this organization going, giving all of us this opportunity to creatively express our appreciation for our troops.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

This experience brought together a fantastic group of homeschool teens and alumni in SE Texas with a common goal.

November 25, 2011

more

November 25, 2011

You really need to go to OWH's website, or blogs, or Facebook page, and READ the responses from our service members and Their families. There is no card store they can run to, but we pour our hearts into making cards for them to send home. Why is a handmade card so special? It's my way of letting our troops know, letting their families know, that their service, their sacrifice, is appreciated and supported
A note to say hello - in a beautiful hand made card; a birthday wish, holiday card, or love note... These are precious (and sometimes priceless) handwitten messages from our troops to their families at home, and it will bring tears to your eyes to read some of the thank yous they offer this organization.
I am proud to support them!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 25, 2011

more

November 25, 2011

I create cards for Operation Write Home every month in honor of the veterans in my family: my dad, my grandfather, and my father-in-law.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 25, 2011

more

November 25, 2011

I used to make homemade cards just for my friends and family until I discovered Operation Write Home. I love that my homemade cards are sent to our deployed heros so that they can keep in touch with their loved ones back home. It is an honor to be able to share my creativity with such wonderful people who dedicate their lives to our freedom.

Operation Write home is very well organized and communicates through blogs, facebook, vlogs, and email to make sure the volunteers get the most up to date information. There are also wonderful challenges and giveaways to keep us motivated.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I am very proud of our military men and women. It is touching to get feedback from the troops who are very excited to have a well-crafted gift to give their loved ones. I am very grateful to have the opportunity to give something back to these wonderful people and their families and friends.

November 25, 2011

more

November 25, 2011

I love making cards for OWH! As a spouse to an Army soldier, who has been deployed twice, I fully appreciate what OWH does.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

getting to make cards and know that there are families getting to stay in contact with each other.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not a thing!

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers