Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
160 Reviews
1234.9755
| 1 ... 3 4 5...15 |
Write A Review
May 22, 2013

more

May 22, 2013

When I heard about Operation Write Home I thought I would just make a few cards to send to them. However, when I found their website was so full of ways to support our military, I became committed to their cause. Operation Write Home constantly strives to meet the needs of our heroes while at the same time providing moral support and encouragement. I appreciate that my donations to them help cover the cost of shipping a box of cards overseas to our hero's.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think they are perfect as they are.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 24, 2012

For the last couple of years I have been donating cards to Operation Write Home. This is just a small way to thank our Heroes for their sacrifices. I was even able to sign up my son's unit when he w... more

May 22, 2013

I started making cards for OWH after my son was on his first deployment, it helped keep the stress level down. He is home safely, but I still contribute cards to help other military families.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

For the last couple of years I have been donating cards to Operation Write Home. This is just a small way to thank our Heroes for their sacrifices. I was even able to sign up my son's unit when he was deployed. I have also learn a number of new card techniques thanks to the very talented OWH card makers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 22, 2013

more

May 22, 2013

I have enjoyed making cards for OWH! What they do is phenomenal! The returning vets I have talked with have nothing but high praise for this program!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More support for their cause. They need to change nothing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 10, 2012

I am so happy I found this organization. I was making cards for friends and family, but there are only so many that I needed. I can now spread the joy and happiness from my cards to the soldiers who... more

May 22, 2013

I am so happy to be a part of Operation Write Home. Every card I make for the troops, makes me feel just a little closer to them and gives me the feeling that I am helping at least one soldier stay in contact with family at home. The women who take care of sorting and mailing the cards are the best. They are always there for questions, always helping with new ideas and techniques and do it all because they want to not because they have too.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am so happy I found this organization. I was making cards for friends and family, but there are only so many that I needed. I can now spread the joy and happiness from my cards to the soldiers who are defending our freedom and away from their families and friends. OWH has given me something to look forward to and to feel like I am, in a small way, helping our nation's bravest. I have told so many people about this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 22, 2013

more

May 22, 2013

I enjoy making cards and am so glad that OWH has the contacts and staff to get the ones I donate to the troops so they can be used.

Not only does OWH provide me with an outlet for my cards, but I know the cards are sent where they'll be used.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't think of a thing I'd change!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2013

more

April 11, 2013

I was looking for a way to give a little back to the troops who sacrifice everything for our country when I found Operation Write Home. What a fabulous way to help troops keep in touch with their family! I am a card maker and am just ecstatic that I can use my God-given talents to brighten someone else's day!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013

more

April 7, 2013

making cards and writing letters to deployed servicemen/servicewomen is a terrific thing in and of itself, but the incredible volunteer support and guidance with OWH tutorials, vlog, and crafting network makes it even more attractive an organisation.

plus, look at their financials. they
have little/no overhead. they put their funds into direct community benefit. they are ALL volunteers. the facts lead to the conclusion that this organisation is an excellent investment beyond the philanthropic aspects of it's mission.

i originally started making these greeting cards to help me cope with hubby’s calling, but it turns out that this organisation opened a whole new world to me. not only do i feel better about him going into harm’s way every day, but i’ve added one more thing that brings some fun and adventure into my life. . . and i’m so NOT a crafty-type . . .

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013

more

April 7, 2013

I am a scrap-booker gone card-maker. When I first started making cards for OWH I'm sure they weren't very good. The more I watched OWH TV and read their blogs the more ideas I got for making my cards much better. I appreciate all the time that OWH goes into helping us volunteers keep our minds reeling with ideas and inspiration. When my husband was stationed in Spain (1990) it would've been so great to receive these cards instead of notes on yellow notebook paper ( which I still have).

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013

more

April 7, 2013

I love to give back or "pay it forward". I cut and donate fleece scarves to the Salvation Army every year but that is only a winter time type of thing. OWH has given me the opportunity to give back year round! I had to retire 6 months ago to care for my husband and was finding myself at loose ends. My daughter got me into card making even though I told her I hated to make cards unless I had a reason for one. I now have a reason for each and every card I make!!!! I spend hours working on the cards and find so much joy in it! Not only does it give me something to keep my busy, it gives me a purpose and to be able to share that with our heros and their families means so much! Our troops give up big blocks of their lives away from their families. OWH cards gives them a chance to keep in touch with more than a plan piece of paper! Love making the cards, love knowing they have a purpose and love OWH!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013

more

April 6, 2013

Operation Write Home is such a wonderful organization. How fantastic to help the members of our armed services stay in touch with their loved ones. Surely, this helps them to ease their minds and know that they are receiving the support that is due them. Sometimes little things like cards can make a big difference. Great job, Operation Write Home!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers