Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
160 Reviews
1234.9755
Write A Review
May 22, 2013

more

May 22, 2013

I can't tell you what OWH has done for me. Being retired, I was doing many things I wanted to do, but was just not totally satisfied with anything. I then found OWH which started me on the road to helping out, making cards for the wonderful hero's of our country. For the families left here at home and friends who keep in touch with them. This has been the most rewarding, fun, satisfying five years I have ever done and I don't miss a day that I'm not working on a set of cards.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2013

more

May 22, 2013

I am a relatively new member of OWH. I have sent several boxes of cards and have gotten so much more in return. OWH is a great group of dedicated women (and some men too) that are so selfless on their giving. I have learned so much about card making from the tutorials and the Thursday night live sessions with Sandy are so funny as well as informative. The OWH website is very easy to navigate and easily outlines the guidelines that we cardmakers need to follow.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish this organization would go out of business! LOL what I mean is I wish our troops would come home so that we OWHers can send our cards elsewhere! Other than that I wish we had enough funds to compensate our shippers for their time and efforts for they go far and beyond what any one expects them to!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2013

more

May 22, 2013

I think this is my 3rd year making cards for Operation Write Home (OWH). I love being able to enjoy my hobby and make something that a service member can send home to a friend or family member. It is so awesome to get an email from the sender (or receiver!) letting me know that they appreciate the time and effort that I put into my work. This is just one way that I can say THANK YOU too all the brave men and women that serve to protect my freedom.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2013

more

May 22, 2013

I am a demonstrator with Stampin' Up. One of my clients sent me the information on Operation Write Home less than a year ago. We have turned our get togethers into Card making parties for OWH. I love that I can send something to the Men and Women that protect our freedom. It is just a small way of saying Thank You for all that they do for us!! My family has ties to just about every branch of the military and this is perfect.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 22, 2013

more


3 previous reviews - show all
April 6, 2013

My involvement with OWH has been a very positive experience in my life. When we get a note from a hero or from their family member saying what the cards mean to them I am reminded that what I do make... more

May 22, 2013

I have enjoyed being involved with this organization for the past couple of years. Being able to enjoy my hobby (card making) and benefit a good cause is the best of both worlds.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make less work for the shippers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013

My involvement with OWH has been a very positive experience in my life. When we get a note from a hero or from their family member saying what the cards mean to them I am reminded that what I do makes life just a little nicer for them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This organization of volunteers makes greeting cards for deployed service members to write home to their families. The card makers love to make cards. The heroes love to send cards. Loved ones love to receive cards. It's a win-win-win.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have been associated with OWH for about a year, and it has been a wonderful experience. The mission is to provide cards for all occasions to deployed service men and women to help them keep in touch with home. The feedback from the heroes and families is so rewarding and inspiring. And OWH works very hard to encourage and support card makers too, as they teach us more and more about card making. The supportive community of card makers is incredible.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My cardmaking skills have improved dramatically. The feeling of satisfaction knowing that i have contributed something to cheer a service person or their family member is just great.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing. They are doing it right.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

I can't think of anything.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

All of the above and more.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

That I could do something useful and meaningful for those who serve our country. A very small 'pay back' for all they do for us.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 22, 2013

more

May 22, 2013

I "enlisted" with the Operation Write Home team in Feb 2012. My son had recently joined the National Guard so I knew how precious those cards and letters that I received while he was away were. I didn't hesitate to join forces with Sandy Allnock, Kris Allan and the thousands of volunteer card makers. OWH strives for the very best by offering tons of tutorials, videos, challenges and daily motivation free of charge!! I look forward to the live webcast on YouTube every Thursday which allows me to chat with fellow OWHers and learn what's going on this week in the OWH world. Sandy is the executive director and never fails to bring us a giggle or 2 during the webcast. Sandy is very interactive (is that the right word?) meaning that she reads all of the comments and requests our input on certain things that help OWH grow. It's fun, informative and very rewarding knowing that we help bring smiles to our Heroes' family and friends back home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

.....have a webcast every day! I truly look forward to that 30 minutes of connecting with my OWH friends and learning design skills from the Stump Sandy card making segment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2013

more

May 22, 2013

I always loved to make cards ever since my daughter introduced me to my first rubber stamp. And, after retirement I went into the card making full force, but I found that I made a lot more than I sent out. So when I read about Operation Write Home I knew I found a place to send my cards for a great cause. I remembered how much a letter meant to me when my soldier sent me his when he was in the Air Force during the Vietnam era. So I know the family and friends who get those cards with messages from their soldiers will be so blessed as well. This is an organization that does a wonderful thing to make the deployment of our soldiers and their families less tough.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2013

more

May 22, 2013

I love card making. Simple as that. But, I was making card after card and not using a lot of them. I then found Operation Write Home. Problem solved! And in such a wonderful way. I get to make all the cards I want and some wonderful people get to use them to write home to family and friends. I am happy to have found OWH and also soooo very grateful for our Troops and all they have done for our country.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2013

more

May 22, 2013

This is a fabulous organization and giving community. The overhead is unspeakably low to non-existent. Everyone, including international volunteers, spread the honor, gratefulness, and appreciate our service personnel. Further, the connections made to our service personnel last forever through the handmade cards OWH volunteers made for them to write home to love ones, family and friends. These cards remain as a piece of the service person and a memory that will last forever in their lives. All donations made to this nonprofit go to shipping boxes to our military installations, regardless of branch in the military. Without contributions of cards or monetary contributions, we would not be able to fulfill the volume of requests that have been made by our service personnel,

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more people informed and involved, both card markers, and those in industry that provide product for volunteers to continue to sustain the organization as long as there are needs. Technological communication can never replace the value and love from a hand written note.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2013

more


1 previous review
April 6, 2013

I used to make scrapbooks but that slowed way down when the kids and grand kids moved out of state, and most pictures are now stored digitally and easier to maintain. So I started making greeting card... more

May 22, 2013

To be able to make cards for deployed military personnel to send home to family and friends is my way of showing respect for and saying thank you to our Heroes who sacrifice for and serve this great nation. I cannot tell you how heartwarming it is to receive a letter from the Heroes themselves telling us how glad they are that we provide these cards and how beautifully done they are. Or to receive a note from someone who received one of these cards from their deployed loved one and tell us how much it means to them to have "something" to hold with his or her own handwriting inside. It is such a small thing for me to do, but a very large priceless and important thing to them. One thought that always stays with me is one of our cards may be the last thing a loved one might receive...and that is why OWH is so important.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I cannot think of a thing to change.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I used to make scrapbooks but that slowed way down when the kids and grand kids moved out of state, and most pictures are now stored digitally and easier to maintain. So I started making greeting cards, I found myself overwhelmed with them and wanted to do something worthwhile with my card making. I found "Operation Write Home" through Hero Arts on line, checked it out and was thrilled to find an organization that sent blank hand made greeting cards to our Hero's in service for them to send home to their loved ones. I cannot think of a more fulfilling way to use the talent God gave me. I have learned so many good tips on making better quality cards and have made many new friends along the way.
The art of the handwritten note is a dying one, but for these soldiers it is a way to send something back home to their loved ones that can be displayed and read over and over again. Like our president Sandy Allnock says, "Your card could be the last thing a Hero's family receives" What an honor and privilege to be a part of this organization

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers