Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
160 Reviews
1234.9755
| 1 2 3...15 |
Write A Review
May 23, 2013

more

May 23, 2013

I love the look of my friend's handmade cards, but I am a terrible letter-writer, so I have not really been able to join in their hobby until I found this organization. Now I can make cards and know that they have an important purpose - providing quality cards for our servicemen and -women to use to write home on. I know several people serving overseas, and this is a way for me to do something for them to show my appreciation for their service and sacrifice for me and my country. Sandy does such a wonderful job with her website, Facebook page, and youTube tutorials, that this is something anyone can get involved in. I also love that she encourages us to write AnyHero cards TO the troops, which allows my children and their friends to get involved too.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Spread the word even more! I think there are many many people who would get involved if they knew about it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 23, 2013

more

May 23, 2013

The cards I make for our troops are made with love and it is an honor to have them sent back home to a loved one. It is a small gesture but has a huge impact. The people who organize allthe cards and ship them out are saints!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Just keep getting the word out for volunteers

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 23, 2013

more

May 23, 2013

Operation Write Home has been a way for me to do a small something in honor and appreciation for our deployed troops and their families, who are doing and sacrificing so much for us. Making and donating my very best cards as well as writing notes from the "homefront", keeps my focus on caring for- and remembering- these heroes.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make sure the shippers have enough help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 23, 2013

more

May 23, 2013

I love that OWH allows me to put my craft to good use. As a cardmaker I can never find enough personal need for all the cards I make and it is a wonderful feeling to share my cards with our Heroes knowing it will help connect them to their loved ones while they are away. As an added bonus, I love the tutorials, inspiration and fun times that OWH shares with their cardmakers. It is really a WIN/WIN deal all around!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2013

more

May 22, 2013

I was looking for a place to serve our military and yet one that fit with our busy schedule as a homeschool family. Operation Write Home fit the bill perfectly. They provide help for their donors (guidelines, tutorials, etc.) and they are transparent in all they do, from mailing packages, sharing encouragement/feedback and their financial end. It has been a blessing to share in bringing joy to military and their families through Operation Write Home. I like it so much that my craft group's service project for 2013 will be to get Any Hero cards created and sent in, as many as we can.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not much at all. Maybe get a few more mailing volunteers.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 24, 2012

OWH provides me a creative outlet that serves a double purpose in that it also allows me do a little something nice for others, and I can't imagine anyone who deserves a "little something extra" any m... more

May 22, 2013

Making cards for our troops to write home to their loved ones on....it is such a very small thing to do in comparison to the sacrifice they & their families make for me. It is my honor & pleasure to do this simple thing as a small token of appreciation to them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

OWH provides me a creative outlet that serves a double purpose in that it also allows me do a little something nice for others, and I can't imagine anyone who deserves a "little something extra" any more than the men & women of our military & their families.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 22, 2013

more

May 22, 2013

I was looking for a project for my Girl Scout troop to do. They made anyday hero cards, and I decided to use up some of my craft supplies and make cards for a good cause. I can make cards in my spare time and knowing they are going to the military makes it a win win situation

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2013

more

May 22, 2013

Am retired and found OperationWriteHome a couple of years ago. I send boxes to OWH about 3-4 times a year; it gives me such a good feeling to know that it will brighten the lives of someone waiting at home for their loved one to return, safe and sound. This org. is very well run and very active; love their live OWHTV show each Thursday eve.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes needed; love it as it is.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2013

more

May 22, 2013

I know of no other group that meets this need better than OWH. Having the opportunity to have something as simple as a card to send home to loved is such a blessing. I've received many messages back stating their thanks and enjoyment in being able to pick out that special card for that special someone. To put it simply... I think OWH is a blessing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do nothing to change it.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 22, 2013

more

May 22, 2013

I started making greeting cards to send to shut-ins who are members of my church, but soon had more cards than I could ever use. Making scrapbook pages didn't interest me, so when I found out about Operation Write Home, I felt it would be a perfect fit. So many recipients of my cards have said they love getting hand crafted cards with hand written messages, and I think family members of overseas military personnel must feel the same. Making cards that our heroes can use when they write home to family and friends gives me a sense of sharing in a very small way in the efforts of our military around the world. I hope it assures our heroes that our country is behind them as they sacrifice home and family life as they serve. Doing something I love for someone else is very gratifying -- I am receiving at the same time I'm giving.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of a thing I'd change. The website, blogs, videos, design challenges, design lessons, virtual card making parties, and other resources offered by OWH inspire me to offer only my best effort for our service personnel overseas.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers