Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
160 Reviews
1234.9755
| 1 ... 9 10 11...15 |
Write A Review
November 18, 2011

more

November 18, 2011

I have been making cards for Operation Write Home for about a year. It is an honor to create home-made for our deployed troops to send to loved ones back here in the states. It is a small way to pay forward for the blessings bestowed upon our own family members who served in World War II and Vietnam. And, a recent thank you e-mail from a soldier who had just sent one of my cards to his wife brought tears to my eyes.

The Operation Write Home Web site has all the inspiration and information a card-maker could need -- everything from card-making guidelines and shipping tips; to challenges, tutorials, and blog hops filled with card-making ideas; to inspirational messages from troops serving overseas.

However, what most impresses me about the organization is the passion and dedication of its founder and president, Sandy Allnock. She is amazing -- simply amazing! There have been so many times that I have e-mailed Sandy with a question or request for information. And, I am always astounded at how quickly I receive a reply -- often times within minutes. And, to think that she is that responsive when I am just one of hundreds, if not thousands, of card makers.... As I said, she is just amazing. An amazing woman and an amazing organization.

If you are a crafter, scrapbooker, or card maker and want to share your talents with the men and women who serve a country, check our Operation Write Home.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

a thank you e-mail written by a soldier who had just sent one of my cards to his wife. Reading his note brought tears to my eyes.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

clone Sandy. I simply don't know how she does everything she does.

November 17, 2011

more

November 17, 2011

I am another card-maker for Operation Write Home and think this is a wonderful, kind and caring group. I love that the cards are sent to our Troops and it's a joy to do my little part to help support those who are protecting and serving our Country.

OWH is a very well run
organization and does something wonderful for so many. I'm honored to create for them and so happy that I found the group!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I think the group is fabulous and runs well do to a LOT of hard work by those to run it!! They deserve a big round of applause and thanks for ALL their hard work and dedication.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of a thing...!! As the old saying goes -- If if ain't broke -- don't fix it!!

November 15, 2011

more

November 15, 2011

I've been making cards for OWH for a little less than a year. Cardmakers from around the country come together in support of our nation's heroes and make the most beautiful handmade cards! These cards are then shipped to our heroes so they can then send them home to their loved ones. We are told often by the heroes and their families how much it means to them to send and receive these cards.

Sandy Allnock, the President of OWH, is a tireless, generous soul who gives 150% of herself to this organization. She is an inspiration to all of us. She encourages and coaches us to make better quality cards, to use our best supplies, and prompts us to use new techniques, so that our cards stand out. She has received support and donations from some of the biggest crafting companies because they believe in her and her cause, and in the cardmakers who help make it happen. We could not ask for a better leader!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Cardmakers are frequently told by heroes and their families how grateful they are to receive the cards we make.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change a thing. It's perfect just the way it is.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

November 14, 2011

more

November 14, 2011

Operation Write Home collects handmade cards from volunteer crafters and sends them to troops serving overseas. They in turn use them to keep in touch with family and friends back home. I'm one of the volunteer cardmakers. I've been working with OWH almost from the beginning. They are a joy to work with! They promptly acknowledge receipt of your cards. You are never left wondering if they got them. They have a very professional series of websites offering lots of information. Some of it aimed at the cardmakers to help them create better cards and give them ideas. Then there are areas to post the thanks from the Heroes that get the boxes, and another area to post thanks from those who receive the cards from their loved one serving overseas. This area can require a large box of tissues when reading!
It is truly a wonderful organization and I support it wholeheartedly. I love to create and think of those who will be getting my creations. Yes, lots of the troops have access to email and even Skype. But you don't print out an email and save it in a box under your bed. A handwritten beautiful card is so much more personal!
Also ALL those involved with OWH, from the President, to the shippers, to all the crafters are volunteers. No one is paid, so all the money collected goes to those it's intended to support. In short OWH ROCKS!
R/

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

reading the OWH websites.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I've made new friends though OWH. And reaped the benefit of helping others while doing something I love.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Wonderful!

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 14, 2011

more

November 14, 2011

OWH is a pure form of support for our military. I am lucky enough to live in the same community as Sandy, president of OWH, and met her at a CARE package packaging party (tongue twister almost). OWH cards were in every box. I immediately went to the OWH website and started making cards. Sandy, and every other person who contributes in the organization, is very dedicated, hardworking (above and beyond), gives wonderful tutorials, keeps the website updated daily, and has a wonderful sense of humor and fun, too!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

reading and viewing "thank yous" from our troops that have received beautiful or funny or loving cards to send home, and from their families who are so appreciative of having someting to hold on to, rather than email.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

miraculously add a couple more "Sandys" at Christmas rush time, especially, just to take some of the load off of her and the other 2 shippers. = )

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Nothing.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

OWH has brought me from a brand-new cardmaker to a more knowledgeable, more creative one through tutorials, videos, encouragement, challenges, feedback and exposure to many who are submitting just beautiful cards.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I feel more connected to the military community and glad that I am able to do something to tangibly show them my support. OWH also makes me feel more confident in my cardmaking.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 14, 2011

more

November 14, 2011

Operation Write Home is a great service to our men and women overseas. They have always promptly acknowledged any gift sent whether cash or cards to be sent to the troops to write in and send off to their loved ones. I've been working with them for a little over 2 years and have always ha any questions answered quickly. Wonderful organization!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Members of our card-making group have received cards back from their loved ones serving overseas. Such a blessing

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

See that they had more money to help with the shipping costs to send our heroes cards

November 14, 2011

more

November 14, 2011

I've been making cards for OWH for about 3 years. I was at a time in my life where I needed to do something for someone, but had no idea what that would be. I saw an article about OWH in a crafting magazine and was immediately drawn to it in a way that I can't imagine being without it for my outlet. There isn't a day that goes by that I don't think about the men and women who are sacrificing for us, and I strive to make a card a day. I have a relative who has recently joined the service, and it makes it all mean even more.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I actually received a card from someone deployed, thanking me for my contribution to Operation Write Home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

I wouldn't change a thing.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I've met some new friends through a local card making group, and I've even gotten some new recruits!

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I feel a sense of purpose, where before, all I did was work, eat and sleep.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 14, 2011

more

November 14, 2011

Sending off a care package for a deployed relative was a way to support our troops but it was just to one or two people at a time and just for a limited time. Making cards for OWH not only satisfies my papercrafting interests but also a benfefits a lot of people in a lot of places on an on-going basis or the last two years. OWH is terrific for acknowledging your contribution immediately plus we get wonderful feedback from the heroes. OWH's site offers help and inspiration for making the best possible cards for our heroes with galleries, vlogs, photo tutorials as well as OWH TV. Their Facebook pages also gives you hundreds of "friends" who provide tips and examples of great cards on a daily basis.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The responses from the people who have received and used our cards.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have learned a lot of different techniques for card-making and OWH contacts with vendors have provided me with information about what is out in the market and how to use it.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Very happy to be doing something that I enjoy and can share with others.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 14, 2011

more

November 14, 2011

I've been making cards for about 9 years and have always made way too many to give to family and friends. So I had boxes of cards stashed away in my house just waiting. While looking around online for card ideas, I came across Operation Write Home's website. I have now been making cards for OWH for the past year and absolutely love this organization. The volunteers are completely dedicated to bringing our heroes a closeness to their loved ones back home. It is all done for the heroes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 10, 2011

more

November 10, 2011

I stumbled onto this org on a crafter's website and it has been a blessing. I love creating cards for our troops who are stationed around the world. The many, many notes of appreciations left on the OWH website and facebook pages often bring tears to my eyes and definitely motivate me to do more. It is amazing how such a small thing like a card can bring so much joy to families who are separated by long deployments. And the volunteers who run this organization are top notch. They give tirelessly of their time and I am sure of their funds as well. It is an honor to be counted part of this wonderful group.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not. They are the best!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

I liked being able to support the troops in a creative way that incorporated my love of making cards. And their thanks and expressions of appreciation are truly motivating.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

It is an ongoing labor of love.

What would you tell others about this organization?

Although staffed entirely by volunteers, this is one of the best organizations I have ever run across. Every dollar and card goes to support our troops. And the recipients of the cards -- both the military and their families and friends -- are truly grateful. It is a small thing, but it has a big impact.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers