Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
7 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 6, 2014

more

November 6, 2014

I have 2 boys with special needs 4 kids total and an adopted nephew. I had to leave my job a year and a half ago I left my job to tend to their many needs. I received coats for my boys that I would never have afforded. It made me feel good that they could be kept warm. Thanks a bunch Operation Warm Inc.
June 7, 2012

more

June 7, 2012

I worked as an intern with Operation Warm during the Summer of 2012. My only regret is that I was not able to spend more time assisting this benevolent organization. Even though it was not the coat-giving time of year, I still felt as though my efforts had a substantial impact. I was assigned a variety of tasks ranging from corporate grant research to updating website tool-kits. This variety kept daily tasks interesting, and helped me to develop a myriad of useful skills that I will use in future job opportunities. I would recommend volunteering with Operation Warm to anyone who is interested in helping the community, enhancing work-related skills, or looking to build a resume.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 18, 2012

more

May 18, 2012

I've been volunteering as an intern with Operation Warm for almost a year and it's been a tremendously rewarding experience. I've heard first hand from people benefiting from their organization and their gratitude towards those working to make their community a better place. Although it's based in Pennsylvania and a large amount of their fundraising goes back to the surrounding areas, I've fielded calls from across the country reiterating the same sentiments. With over one million coats already distributed to children in need, they are still constantly challenging themselves to help more and expand their reach. Working with this organization has opened my eyes not only to the problem facing underprivileged in our country, but that there are thousands of volunteers and campaigns to do something to stop it. I could not recommend working with or working for this organization more highly.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 16, 2012

more

May 16, 2012

I was involved with Operation Warm during the 2011-2012 academic school year as an Intern, specifically for the Delaware Challenge initiative. I am a student at the University of Delaware and was initially nervous to have an internship during the academic year. However, Operation Warm is an incredible organization and the program was fantastically easy to balance. I was responsible for initiating contact with local high schools to engage students to fund raise and get involved with OW. Through this experience I realized how dedicated the staff are to their goal of providing children living in poverty with a new winter coat. What seems like a small contribution to a child's life is now understood by me to be monumental. My intern manager was dedicated, hands-on, and available whenever me and my fellow interns needed guidance or support with our tasks. As interns we received a plethora of useful resources ranging from tool kits to provide for our engaged high school groups, to innovative presentations that clearly convey the organizations goals and structure. Operation Warm has a focused and clear goal as a non-profit combined with a passionate, well-qualified staff, and these two aspects continue to drive this outstanding non-profit organization.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Fundraising with schools and seeing directly where their support goes to the children's new winter coats.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

My intern experience has taught me a lot about the non-profit world and that I would like to possibly take my professional career in that direction upon graduation.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It made me feel appreciated and it made me feel like I was truly making a difference while gaining valuable experience.

May 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteered with Operation Warm this past spring and was astounded by the level of dedication everyone has in helping children all over the country. I was their for the distribution of their one millionth coat and it truly was heart-warming to see the smiles on the children's and parent's faces. I feel proud to have been a part of something so great.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I was a volunteer intern at Operation Warm this past summer. It was an amazing and fulfilling experience. I helped to plan the first distribution event of the season at the Philadelphia Zoo. The look on those children's faces when they received their new coats were priceless. It is quite possible that participating in such a special effort has done more for me than what we did for those children. I know, from firsthand experience, that those recipient schools and organizations come from an often overlooked and downtrodden area of West Philadelphia. This event help to remind them that they are not forgotten, and that someone somewhere cares. I am truly blessed by my time at Operation Warm.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Philadelphia

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 17, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I became involved with Operation Warm (OW) as an intern because I want to make a difference for youth who are faced with poverty. I am impressed with the large scale production of new coats that are distributed across 33 states! This year Operation Warm will give away its one millionth coat.

My internship for Operation Warm has been an amazing experience. It has allowed me to learn new skills, work collaboratively with an amazing and creative staff, and to help others. I participated as a volunteer at the Philadelphia Zoo coat distribution event and enjoyed watching the children’s excitement and smiles as they received their new coats. The event also promoted recycling by encouraging children to bring in plastic bottles. As a former teacher from an environmentally focused charter school, it is great to see children becoming active stewards of their environment. The distribution was well-organized and promoted a sense of community.

In addition to relieving a financial burden for parents, Operation warm is also committed to alleviating poverty by increasing employment opportunities. This year, Operation Warm will begin a partnership with MOJO, an organization that will provide employment for single moms to produce new coats for OW to distribute. I am excited to support Operation Warm as it continues to grow and reach out to even more children in need.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I’ve personally experienced the results of this organization at a coat distribution event as well as through day to day office tasks.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would continue to expand across all fifty states and continue to form partnerships with other organizations such as MOJO. Keep up the great work!

More feedback...

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

It’s been a great experience! I don’t have any suggestions at this time.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes, absolutely. I learned a lot about grant writing and research and about how non-profit organizations operate. It also allowed me to work collaboratively and gain perspective from an amazing and friendly staff. My internship has made me realize that I would like to change career paths and work in a non-profit where I can make a difference.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

The internship experience has made me feel happy because I am helping others. It’s been a very rewarding experience.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers