Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
244 Reviews
1234.983615
| 1 2 3...24 |
Write A Review
October 13, 2012

more

October 13, 2012

OUDC has broadened my daughters persective on life. It has also broadened my families perspective on life. They are well organized and informed, the trainings provided give families an opportunity to embrace diversity.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 10, 2012

more

October 10, 2012

My daughter's participation with this organization has been one of the best experiences of her high school career. It has broadened her world view in ways that her academic school and family experiences have not been able to do. The speakers she has had the opportunity to learn from and meet have made history come alive and have inspired her to strive to improve her wider community. Understanding that one individual CAN make a difference was eye-opening and inspirational. In addition, so much of her growth and wider world view has come from the other program participants. OUDC does a great job of selecting a highly diverse group of kids to part take in this special program. While very different, they all do have a common thirst for knowledge and making an impact. They have grown together, learned to truly listen to one another even when they don't agree (I wish our elected officials would learn to do that) and to work together to create a better community. They truly want to make the world in which they live a better place. My daughter was forced out of her comfort zone many times and is better for it. We can't wait to see how the experience with OUDC will impact her college and career choices!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 8, 2012

more

October 8, 2012

This is a unique organization that is dedicated to developing tomorrow's leaders. It brings together 12 Black and 12 Jewish students for an entire year; they meet every few weeks and spend an intensive 3+ weeks on the Freedom Summer route through the South. These are special kids who learn leadership skills, understanding of and appreciation for one another's culture and set of beliefs, and the ability to mediate differences. They get out of their comfort zone and they struggle with ideas that may be foreign to them, but they end up feeling good about each other and are the better for having challenged themselves. If we are thinking about our future and our children's future, we would all be better off if every child had the opportunity to experience what these kids have done throughout the year. We can't say enough about how character building this program has been for our son. It's life-altering for him and his community - we thank OUDC for that.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 8, 2012

more

October 8, 2012

Our daughter's experience with Operation Understanding DC not only empowered her to believe she can make a difference in the world, but also became an inspiration to us, as we witnessed the power of an organization so capable of nurturing and growing future leaders. OUDC demands much of each year's high school juniors, requiring a year-long commitment of time and energy during what is arguably their most challenging year of high-school. For that investment, the organization creates a group of young leaders who understand the history and sources of discrimination...and more importantly, equips them with the tools to fight future discrimination and build a more understanding world.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 8, 2012

more

October 8, 2012

Literally every single experience we had during this program was educationally beneficial and life changing. I now know more about the Jewish and Black histories then 99% of the world. Plus, this program taught me how to see the world and certain events through a different perspective. I couldn't have mentally matured without this program.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 8, 2012

more

October 8, 2012

As an alumni of OUDC, I can say with certainty that this is a life-changing experience. OUDC challenged me to step out of my comfort zone and into other peoples' shoes and it taught me the importance of discussing controversial issues. There is nothing like hearing a first-hand account from a leader of the Civil Rights Movement and then going to Jumu'ah services, Shabbat services, and Church services all in one weekend, discussing each event with my classmates along the way. I have continued to implement the lessons I learned from OUDC in college and will always remember the conversations I had with my OUDC classmates. There is truly nothing like this program. I am so grateful that I was able to have this experience.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 19, 2012

more

August 19, 2012

My daughter had the privilege of being selected for their leadership developmental program and it has had a huge transformative impact on her life and ours. She is fired up in making an impact toward a more equitable society. As she prepares to go to college, she is focusing on course of studies that will prepare her to be active in eradicating social injustices. There is no other program available to 17-year old High School students that removes blinders and empowers them into becoming active, participating citizens, whose voices will be heard and who matter.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 16, 2012

more

August 16, 2012

A Great organization with focused opportunities for Young Leaders. Every Young Adult should have the OUDc experience. I'm glad to be apart of this wonderful experience!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 14, 2012

more

August 14, 2012

This organization has taught me how to truly understand those around me. With their extensive education initiative they really take their mission seriously. Quality organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 14, 2012

more

August 14, 2012

Eye-opening, life changing, dynamic : Just a few words to describe my OUDC experience. Before joining Class 18, I considered myself pretty open minded and knowledgeable about Jewish and Black culture. But as I discovered through workshops, conversations, and research, I was more than ignorant. This program has opened my eyes to subjects and issues I would have never had a view on without OUDC. I am proud to say that I have talked to civil rights leaders in the Black and Jewish communities. Thank you OUDC for educating me in my own culture and opening my eyes to the world around me, you have not only given me an irreplaceable experience but also beautiful friendships from both cultures.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers