Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
182 Reviews
1234.983525
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 15, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 22, 2011

The story of Operation Troop Appreciation is quite simple. It is about Patriotic Americans who wanted to do more than just sit around and let others help. It is about getting involved in a cause tha... more

April 15, 2013

The story of Operation Troop Appreciation has gone past a review. Operation Troop Apprecation now has a history. A history of helping those men and women who have volunteered to serve the country in both hardship and peace. The caring that the organization has shown is second to none. The labor by the voulunteers are paid with knowing that our military is getting love and recognition back home. That we are truly providing support for those who need it. The love and compassion that the volunteers and those who donated to OTA are uplifting those soldiers, sailors, airmen's spirit can not be measured in any way.

Operation Troop Appreciation provides not only for the military, it provides an outlet for all who wish to help support those who are in harm's way. To show how much they care about them. It is a way so show appreciation for the freedoms that we have. To show the pride that we have as Americans.

Operation Troop Appreciation is a prime example of what the true spirit of caring about this country and the men and women who protect it from those who wish to hurt and divide us. Operation Troop Appreciation helps bind the fabric of what it means to be an American.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 22, 2011

The story of Operation Troop Appreciation is quite simple. It is about Patriotic Americans who wanted to do more than just sit around and let others help. It is about getting involved in a cause that needs the support of the American people.

Operation Troop Appreciation has supported
the fighting men and women of American since 2004. The organization has proven over the course of time that it will respond to those who need the support of the public.

The military can do and provide many great things to bring peace to those countries that have corrupt leaders in power. The military can bring law and order to nations without laws. Operation Troop Appreciation provides the military with caring and support that it needs to fight a better fight. Operation Troop Apprecation gives the military hope from the people. It provides that service to the military. The knowledge that no matter where in the world the military goes Operation Troop Appreciation stand by them.

I know about this caring first hand as I was one of the members of the Battalion that Operation Troop Appreciation first started to help. I am so proud to be part of the history of Operation Troop Appreciation. I look back proudly at the accomplishments that Operation Troop Appreciation has achieved and stare into the horizon as a new day is coming and our armed forces know that OTA is here to stay. We are going to make a difference to that soldier, marine, airmen and sailor one day at a time.

Til they all come home.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Operation Troop Appreciation has helped me, my friends and thousands of military memeber all over the world. The thought of all the hard work and dedication from the members of Operation Troop Appreciation is extraordinary. I have spent countless hours volunteering for the Organization and it has been a life changer for me. It makes me feel as though I can give more to the military after my job is done.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have started it myself but some Type A personalities made the effort well before I did and without them Operation Troop Appreciation would not be where it is today. Everything happens for a reason and Operation Troop Appreciation is reason enough to know that people care about the military and what they are doing and how they are treated.

April 14, 2013

more

April 14, 2013

I was first a recipient of the benefits of OTA work when deployed to Iraq in 2005. At the time I did not know about the organization or even that what I had received was from this organization. Once I returned home and took command of the National Guard unit that was co- located with the organizations humble storeroom and packing 'facility' I met the wonderful ladies that started this organization and continue to make it great today!

That started my relationship with OTA that eventually culminated in my being asked to accept a seat on the board. How could I refuse?

Here it is already 2013 and I have been fortunate enough to be acquainted with the wonderful people that make this organization run each and every day. Volunteers that take time out of their hectic lives because the feel a calling inside, deep in their hearts to reach out and just say thank you in some way to those who serve.

The wonderful people that are the life blood of this organization cannot be underscored. It is because of them that the other thousands of generous hearts have a vehicle to express their gratitude to all serving somewhere at some time in some small way when possible.

It has been an honor and privilege to be a small part of this great organization.

Bill Ault

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 28, 2012

more

September 28, 2012

Since July of 2004 I've been privileged to be part of the volunteer leadership team at OTA. I have personally seen the affect OTA has on the troops we serve, the volunteers who work so tirelessly to help them, and the community. It's hard to believe that we have helped over 100,000 troop members, and done so with a 100% volunteer staff, motivated only by a sense of patriotism and desire to give to others. We are blessed to have the best volunteers, the most generous donors and sponsors, and the most courageous recipients of our work - the United States Military.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 28, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 28, 2011

The efficiency with which this organization operates is unmatched. With an all-volunteer staff, 98.5% of all donations go directly to support the troops. When looking for an organization with which to volunteer, OTA's efficiency sold me. Too many other organizations put their donations into their overhead. Rarely are you truly helping the intended cause to the extent that OTA does. Being able to maintain that ratio while helping more than 80,000 soldiers is truly astounding.

Beyond the efficiency, the volunteers are relentless. They joyfully hit the streets to get the word out and collect donations. All in an effort to simply let the men and women currently serving our country know that they are appreciated. Not only do the volunteers joyfully hit the streets, we have never wanted for volunteers to help us pack up and ship boxes to the troops.

It truly is an amazing organization and it is incredible that something that started as one woman's good intentions has grown into an organization that has touched the lives of more than 80,000 folks.



The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The results of OTA's efforts aren't tangable. It's a feeling of accomplishment and satisfaction. Simply knowing that you've helped someone that's living in less-than-optimal conditions to secure your freedom and keep you safe is enough. That being said, the thank you letters we receive are heart warming and enhance the satisfaction.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of anything.

February 21, 2011

more

February 21, 2011

In 2004, I decided it was time to do something for others and my preference was to help the troops serving in Iraq and Afghanistan. I read an article about OTA founder, Kristen Holloway-Querriera, on the 4th of July and how she was starting a non-profit called Operation Troop Appreciation. I cut out the article intending to call her the next day and proceeded to an event at Soldiers and Sailors Hall in Pittsburgh. In a crowd of 1,500 people, Kristen was standing next to me. The rest is history. 6 years, 80,000 troops and $1M in monetary and in kind donations later, I am President of OTA and couldn't be more proud of the work we do, the people who give tirelessly in support of our troops and of the troops we serve.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

As President, I get to interact with the troops we help and with the donors, sponsors and volunteers who make it happen. I've seen the photos of our troops opening the boxes we send, full of "wish-list" items. I've read the letters telling our volunteers how much our gifts meant to them and how they provided a much needed morale boost as they experience extreme stress.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would find more time in the day to do even more for our troops and would find ways to bring more money into the organization. As a 100% volunteer non-profit, it can be challenging to balance our duties at OTA with our full time jobs.

February 21, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 21, 2011

I serve on the Board of Directors of an outstanding nonprofit organization called Operation Troop Appreciation (OTA). The mission of OTA is to sustain the morale of deployed troops by providing them with “wish list” care packages. The wishes consist of everything from hygiene items and snacks to blankets, gloves, GPS systems and other tactical gear that’s hard to come by within the military supply system.

Since its inception in 2004, OTA has successfully granted wishes for nearly 800 units comprised of more than 80,000 service members. While OTA is based in Pittsburgh, the organization supports all types of units, active and Reserve, including all branches of the military regardless of where they are stationed. OTA is comprised exclusively of volunteers and 98.5 of all financial contributions go directly to support our troops overseas. Over the years, more than $1 Million of support has been sent to our troops.

The volunteers with OTA are the most patriotic people I've ever met. I've been a member of the Army Reserve for more than 26 years and I'm humbled at the dedication and level of patriotism with this fine folks who give of themselves freely and expect nothing in return.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've served overseas with the military and understand the impact of receiving an anonymous care package packed with love or a thank you letter of support. The effects of these random acts of kindness are nearly immeasurable. OTA does them by the dozens every single day.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Infuse it with thousands of dollars, which would only allow their great work to be magnified exponentially.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Pack for up to 30 units of troops overseas.Speak to visitors about the great work we do!Start a collection drive for the troops!