Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
185 Reviews
1234.983785
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
May 28, 2014

more

May 28, 2014

This organization is truly an amazing organization . OTA is a true non-profit who really cares about the service members it helps. Most of the organization is made up of volunteers who work tirelessly to ensure our service members do not feel forgotten.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 23, 2014

more

May 23, 2014

Operation Troop Appreciati‚Äčon is by far one of the best orginazations out there. My hat off to you and all that you do along with the teams and volunteers.
Thank you, God bless
October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

OTA is a very humble, professional, and effective organization! Their mission statement is 100% true. It is all about our men and women who are deployed and give their selfless service and daily sacrifices for our freedom.
OTA reaches out to all people, including children, to create awareness.
One of the biggest things I have read on the thank you notes is how the troops love to see the pictures the kids draw and all the cards that are signed. Their wish filled boxes contain these also.
I have been a volunteer since July 2013. Kristen Holloway, Monica Orluk, and Amanda Thompson are some of the best people you ever want to meet. All the volunteers I have met are very friendly, they are trained by Carol Hamilton. Carol is great at guiding us on how to make the public aware of what OTA is doing.
OTA not only reaches out to our deployed troops, but also reaches out to those who were in the military and families who have loved ones in the military. There is a guest book right in the front for all service men and women to sign. It is nice to see the public look through that guest book at all the signatures that are there. Veterans can also sign up to be informed of activities that are in their communities and be made aware of them. OTA has magazines and informational pamphlets for all the family members also.
OTA is very active in the communities as well with charitable events and promoting awareness. Most of the public is surprised and appreciates that when I tell them that we are all volunteers, no one on board is paid. That means that 98.5% of all monies donated goes right to support our troops with their wishes.
It is a joyful experience when you get to share time with a veteran from the past wars and they express their gratitude to what OTA is doing now. The feedback from the public that comes into the homestead in West Mifflin, PA is heartfelt. On the other side is the family members of our troops who come in and share their stories about how OTA has helped their loved one.
I have the pleasure of volunteering for this phenomenal organization as often as I can. I personally do not have a loved one serving in our military, but our troops are all of our loved ones.
I'm sure all would agree that OTA is definitely a Top Rated Non-Profit Charity.
I share with everyone I know the wondrousness of Operation Troop Appreciation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change one thing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 2, 2013

more

September 2, 2013

We are currently a Communication Unit deployed abroad. It has been our pleasure to support and defend our way of life. The Team greatly appreciates the time and effort your organization has put forth to send donations our way. You have touched many hearts and kept our motivation up with the K-Cup donations. Thank you all so much.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 28, 2013

more

August 28, 2013

We are currently deployed here at Azraq as an ADA battalion. 120 km away from Syrian border. the temperature is 108 degree. Everything that was provided by operation Troop Appreciated was needed and appreciated by every Soldiers here. One Soldiers said, "Freezer pops made my day." Thanks again for your support and prayers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 20, 2013

more

June 20, 2013

Operation Troop Appreciation is truly an amazing organization. Amanda & Kristen go above and beyond to help our men and woman of the military receive not only supplies, but cards and notes to help boost their morale; I think they have changed the lives of many soldiers over the years. OTA volunteers hearts and souls are poured into all that they do for these men and woman and without OTA, so many soldiers would not even have anything to look forward to from back home. I just wish there was so much more that can be done for all their sacrifices for fighting for our freedom. OTA is a small way of saying thank you!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more organizations donate money so OTA can do even more.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 22, 2013

more

April 22, 2013

Operation Troop Appreciation is one of the BEST organizations out there. Everyone is truly dedicated to making a difference in the lives of the soldiers by giving their time. No need is too big or too small. Operation Troop Appreciation finds a way to take care of every request with a great group of talented people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 20, 2013

more

April 20, 2013

I never served, but I have two sons serving this great country, and know firsthand the love, dedication and commitment they and their military brothers and soldiers have for their country. I wish every American had the opportunity to see their humble power and God fearing strength. I came across Operation Troop Appreciation (OTA) by accident, and was impressed by the initial volunteer I spoke with. They did not ask for my money, only for me to write a caring comment to our troops. I listened to the volunteer tell OTA's story, their history, their mission and became more impressed. I wanted to help. I wanted to be a small part in something wonderful, something big. I wanted to be more than a military parent and wanted to be a boots-on-the-ground individual supporting those who cannot get or sparingly receive the simplest of items, e.g. soap, shampoo, underwear, hygiene items, decks of cards, snack items, etc., into the hands of our front line soldiers. We take our simplest items for granted, but they are luxuries to one who is deployed. I have little time to spare, but OTA was and is willing to take only the time I could give. I never feel pressured to give more, but find myself giving more than I thought because of the many rewards I feel, and because I know thousands of men and women are standing watch, are risking and giving their lives so I have my freedom, my comforts. I bought a small desk plaque years ago that reads, "American Soldiers Do Not Fight Because They Hate What Is In Front Of Them, But Because They Love What is Behind Them." If you know a soldier, you know that is a very true statement. Because of their love and dedication, I know I can never do enough, but volunteering for OTA, boxing packages to meet their needs, etc., gives me more joy than I can describe. I think of every soldier when I box the gifts of others, and know they will smile when they receive it. Their moments in time will be a little simpler. Thank you OTA for everything you do for our military, and thank you for what you do for me. God's Speed and Blessing's To Those Who Have and Are Serving This Great Country!
Bud Burnett, Pittsburgh, PA

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 13, 2013

more

April 13, 2013

As a volunteer for Operation Troop Appreciation, I have the opportunity to see what happens behind the scenes and what I have found is an organization that has so many people dedicated to its cause. When I learned that all of the staff members are volunteers and 98 cents of every dollar goes directly to providing "wish list" items to the deployed troops, I knew that everyone involved was doing this because they really wanted "to build and sustain the morale of deployed troops, enabling them to complete their missions with the assurance that the American public supports and appreciates their selfless service and daily sacrifices" as our mission statement declares. From the letters that I have read and the personal accounts from family members who come to events and headquarters, I know what OTA does is truly making a difference. I have never been more honored to be a part of an organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 12, 2013

more

April 12, 2013

I got involved with OTA through friends at my American Legion Post 760, to help with a packing party. It was very meaningful to me that in this small way I was reaching out to the other side of the world, to make someones day a little brighter. After the packing I was hooked, and knew I had to do more. I have yet to meet Kristen, although I'm well acquainted with Amanda, if everyone in the organization has the zeal of Amanda, it is a worthy cause. These men and women are giving up their family time for us in a strange land, the least we can do is offer a few hours for them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Pack for up to 30 units of troops overseas.Speak to visitors about the great work we do!Start a collection drive for the troops!