Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
199 Reviews
1234.984925
Write A Review
October 12, 2012

more

October 12, 2012

My husband and I are currently deployed. I have much better connectivity than he, but many organizations will not assist when I request anything for him because I am not asking for the items at my location. Not only was OTA different in that they accepted my request, Kristen was thorough in following up to ensure the items were received and even asked if there were any additional requests from either of us. You guys are awesome!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 11, 2012

more

October 11, 2012

We have a son in the Marines who was recently deployed in Afghanistan. We have heard, first hand, of the extreme hardships and need of our troops. I am proud to be a volunteer, helping our troops with whatever wishes they need fulfilled. It truly is a labor of love.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 11, 2012

more

October 11, 2012

I am currently deployed to southwest asia and myself and my troops recieved a package recently from your organization! We loved it, all the items we recieved were all well appreciated! I thank you so much for all you guys do, and keep it up, you bring smiles and boost morale all across the troops faces!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 10, 2012

more

October 10, 2012

I have always respected our troops since I was a kid. My mother had us pray for them every night. When I had the chance to volunteer for OTA I was so happy I could give back something to them for their sacrifices, loyalty and commitment. I have listened to so many stories of courage , pain and blessings from them as they tour our facility. I am proud to be a volunteer for the greatest and most selfless military men and women in the world. I appreciate each and everyone of them. Carol

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 10, 2012

more

October 10, 2012

While deployed to Iraq, my unit received items from Operation Troop Appreciation. The items played an important role in completing missions as well the moral items that were sent as well. The snacks and cards were a great reminder of home and the people who appreciated what we were sacrificing. Thank you to all the VOLUNTEERS (they have no paid staff) who make Operation Troop Appreciation possible.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 10, 2012

more

October 10, 2012

I have been a volunteer for OTA for a few years and can tell you that anyone who hears about our service is imprssed by all of the effort and love transmitted from an all volunteer organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 9, 2012

more


1 previous review
February 25, 2011

I have just started volunteering with this organization recently and I can't say enough good things about it. While the government supplies the military with essential, needed items, deployments can ... more

October 9, 2012

Have volunteered or raised money on a number of occasions for OTA since 2010. The leaders of the group are some of the most selfless people in Pittsburgh I've ever met and they run this group not for personal gain, but because they have a belief deep down inside that what they are doing is the right thing. If more Americans took notice of organizations like OTA and gave their time to make the lives of others more comfortable, the US would be much better off.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 25, 2011

I have just started volunteering with this organization recently and I can't say enough good things about it. While the government supplies the military with essential, needed items, deployments can still get very boring, lonely, or depressing without things that would be easily obtainable at home (one really cool thing OTA sent were blank Valentine cards for the troops to send home to their spouses/significant others; this was a great idea and made missing Valentine's Day a little more bearable for those who are separated from loved ones.)

The other great thing about the organization is that they use the money that is donated so efficiently. Ninety-eight cents of every dollar goes towards buying items for the troops or for shipping costs, which I think is fantastic.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

spending time at the mall helping pack boxes to send to the troops. It is comforting knowing that the troops are being thought of by the public and not forgotten, and this organization does that.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help it to advertise more so that more people could learn about it and donate to it.

October 9, 2012

more

October 9, 2012

My son and I volunteer for OTA for about 4 years now. I started to volunteer because I wanted to show my son what a small act like packing a box full of ordinary items can make a difference in someone life. Also, that taking time out of our lives is more valuable than just writing a check. OTA just not help the troops that are deployed they change lives within their volunteers. Because of OTA I have been able to meet some wonderful people that I would not have before and be able to try things that I never thought possible. OTA has not only have helped 100,000 troops they help me feel like my son and I can make a difference.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing letters and soliders telling us how much the things means to them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

I would like more help with it but it is hard to find people that have the time to do it. The boardmembers and some key volunteers help when they can.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

To be able to speak to people, make new friends,

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

valued, empower,

October 5, 2012

more

October 5, 2012

As an army wife, During my husbands first deployment, I had the honor to volunteer and help make and send care packages. So much work, thought, and dedication goes into what some people think is just a box but Is really a morale booster. What most people take for granted OTA knows that the soldiers need those items. My husband received care packages while he was over in Afghanistan and they really helped him. From necessities to things that can help pass time. Both him and I were very appreciative to have been blessed with OTA. What the people at OTA do is amazing and I am so happy I was able to help with the cause.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 29, 2012

more

September 29, 2012

My husband is about to go on his 4th deployment. OTA has been there not only for my husband but numerous men and women of our Armed Forces! Being an Army Wife they have let me volunteer my time to help these BRAVE forces. OTA sacrifices their time and hearts just to give our soldiers a little piece of home. Being a volunteer you realize how much effort goes into just one package. This is what it's all about! I have seen first hand on how much one care package goes a long way in keeping morale up and putting a smile on a soldier's face in such a gloomy place. From an Army wife...thank you OTA not only for doing this but giving me the pleasure to help the cause!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Pack for up to 30 units of troops overseas.Speak to visitors about the great work we do!Start a collection drive for the troops!