Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

I was present at their first event in 1992. It was designed to help veterans who would not go to the VA. Physical and mental health issues were addressed at that event as well as assistance with clothing, food, shelter, job placement, legal issues and more. Over the years this veteran outreach has grown to include a permanent home, paid professional staff, its own thrift store and expanded services at the annual Operation Base Camp event. This one organization provides more direct assistance to local veterans than all the other veteran service organizations combine. They are worthy of the highest rating which can be given.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2012

more

November 3, 2012

I've witnessed homeless veterans being given clothes, shoes, coats, health check-ups, dental check-ups, shower facilities, beds. It has been my pleasure to help serve dinners to over 400 veterans, to sit with many, to listen to them, to encourage them, to give them a smile. Operation Stand Down Nashville is a very caring and organized operation, and has been for more years than I've been a volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

There are many organizations that claim to assist Veterans in their time of need, and most do a good job. But Operation Stand Down Nashville goes way above and beyond that standard. Partnering with many other agencies in the Nashville area, including the VA Hospital, the VA Regional Office and other local charities and non-profits, the Veteran who comes in for service at OSDN is referred to whatever agency or agencies are suited to help the person the best. The most important and unique thing is that once the process starts, OSDN tracks the progress, following up throughout the process. They give the Veteran positive motivation to continue forward and that helps to ensure the greatest chance of being successful. The staff at OSDN are mostly Veterans, so it's Veterans assisting Veterans. It never ceases to amaze me how the staff performs their duties and how much they really do care for the Veterans they serve.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

OSDN is a great organization that gives back to the veteran community in so many ways. They don't give "hand outs" but rather "hands up" to help veterans get back on their feet!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

I work with Operation Stand Down every year that I can for the three day event. I serve meals to the Vets. That is the most rewarding weekend of the year for me. It is well staffedand well organized. If you ever get the chance to come to the event please do. It is so awesome. Come see the volunteers in action. The hair cut tent was the most fun. It is lively and this year had music playing. It was awesome. Many professionals give their time and I know it has to be rewarding and heart warming. I look forward to many more years feeding the Vererans! Keep up the good work!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

Last I heard, Operation Stand Down Nashville spent $.90 of every dollar donated to the Veteran they serve. I don't know of many other non-profits, locally or nationally that is as efficient. The 20th Annual Stand Down Event was a model for Stand Downs in any city, hopefully to be copied by other missions to assist all populations in need of services.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

I assisted in the registration of Homeless Veterans at the annual Operation Stand Down event in 2011 and was impressed with the care and assistance provided to needy Veterans during this event. James Howard

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

I am with the Tennessee Department of Veterans Affairs in Nashville, TN. I work closely with Bill and his staff and applaud the good work they do for our veterans who are down on their luck. I have worked with them for years during their big OSD usually in October. They make every effort to assist veterans with anything they need to help get them back on their feet.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

OSDN is one of the most well-run organizations I have ever had the privilege of working with. I have spent the last 6 years involved with OSDN providing volunteer mediator/legal-related services to their constituents. Bill Burleigh, his managers and staff are second-to-none in their commitment to making an immediate difference in the lives of each Veteran they meet. As a member of other VSO's I can confidently assert that OSDN makes a big difference in many Veterans' lives each day of the week. OSDN is worthy of any and all support available to them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more


1 previous review
March 3, 2010

Bill Burleigh of Operation Stand Down Nashville was more than willing to give me a personal tour of the facilities. Having lived in Nashville approximately six years now, it has been my consistent ex... more

November 1, 2012

Operation Stand Down is the best organization I am aware of for helping homeless veterans and other veterans in need. This organization consistently year after year continues to do excellent work in the greater Nashville area. As I have also done previously, Operation Stand Down has my highest recommendation. --Richard Aberdeen; Freedom Tracks Records, Nashville, Tennessee

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 3, 2010

Bill Burleigh of Operation Stand Down Nashville was more than willing to give me a personal tour of the facilities. Having lived in Nashville approximately six years now, it has been my consistent experience that Operation Stand Down Nashville is one of the best non-profits in the area. They make every effort to help homeless and impoverished veterans in need and I consider this organization to be a great blessing for the general Nashville area and community.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

The dedication of the staff and overall comprehensive approach to helping homeless veterans.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

The best.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Greatly expand their outreach in the larger Nashville and surrounding communities area.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers