Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
July 25, 2013

more

July 25, 2013

After spending five years working for the federal government then retiring from the Army after 25 years of service as Lieutenant Colonel, continuing to serve was high on my list of things to do when I retired 10 years ago in 2003. I found out about Operation Stand Down Nashville while volunteering at one of the Annual Events with Women Veterans of America Chapter 20 and after learning about the mission of serving honorably discharged veterans especially homeless veterans, I was ready to give more of my time, talent, and treasure to such a worthy organization. I've been on the board for over four years and I am the one being blessed by my association with an organization filled with dedicated veteran employees, staff, and board members providing a hand-up to our most deserving in our community. I serve on two other boards of directors and their work is very important, too but the difference we make in the lives of veterans at Operation Stand Down, Nashville is exceptional. Serving those who have already given their all to our nation is truly an honor. Our Executive Director, Bill Burleigh and our Deputy Director, Mary Ross are the most dedicated individuals I have had the privilege of serving with as a member of the board. They always but the mission and goals of OSDN first which is taking care of our veterans. This is absolutely the best non-profit anywhere working to help our veterans

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 20, 2013

more

June 20, 2013

Great organization serving honorably discharged veterans. Number served annually far exceeds Wounded Warrior's work. Hard working, effective, and dedicated group of individuals who for too long have operated below the radar. It's time for some well deserved public recognition.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hire a prominent public relations firm to get them the public awareness and oaccolades they deserve.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 18, 2012

more

November 18, 2012

In this day and age of so many veteran charities out there and with most of those being a cover to enrich the officers of the charity, we must be beware of who we give to. I can personally vouch for the honesty of this organization. I am not a member of this organization, but have assisted them in the past. I also have been the State Commander of the Military Order of the Purple Heart (a veteran's organization composed of only Purple Heart Veterans) for the state of Tennessee 4 times and I raised funds for them and even assisted in improving some of their homes for the homeless veterans, both male and females. I, myself rate them as the best veteran charity in Tennessee and would even place them above the known national veteran's charities to receive any donation and assistance that a person/organization has or can do. CW3 Sid Shown, U. S. Army (Retired).

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 17, 2012

more

November 17, 2012

Operation Stand down performs valuable services for our homeless veterans by not only helping them with getting in off the streets, but with alcohol and drug abuse, job training and finding employment, etc. It is a fantastic organization with a wonderful leader, Bill Burleigh.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

Today has been set aside as a Day to Honor Our Veterans. The article below is about our Homeless Veterans.

Tom & I spent a day at Operation Stand Down. The Veterans’ stories were very touching and filled with Hope!

“Operation Stand Down Nashville, Inc (OSDN) is the primary
nonprofit resource for veterans in Middle Tennessee providing life changing social services including transitional housing, or referrals, employment readiness training and placement assistance, and coordination of the activities of other agencies in the delivery of such services.

During the week of October 12, 2012, I had the opportunity to volunteer with this three day event for veterans who are homeless. I was able to meet, talk with and photograph several of the veterans taking advantage of the services offered by a coalition of over 50 Nashville organizations. Coalition members represent over 25 community services agencies, over 25 veteran service organizations, and many local businesses. The event provides outreach, information, and a variety of social services. The event has been held annually each fall for the past 20 years.

I quickly learned that being homeless, or at risk for homelessness, can be one of the most difficult things a person can face. There are many circumstances that can lead to homelessness. Some Veterans become homeless due to a combination of housing shortages and high unemployment. Other Veterans may be dealing with painful memories or health issues and have little access to health care or support from family and friends. This may lead them to feel as though they have nowhere else to go but the streets. In some cases, what seemed like a temporary lack of a place to stay becomes permanent.


While interviewing the Veterans one theme was the same; they were proud of their service to their country. When I asked a Vietnam veteran to describe to me his service with one word, his answer was “Joyful”. Some veterans battle drug and alcohol addictions for many years. OSDN and similar facilities like Pennroyal Vet Center the newest facility in southern Kentucky, offered Joe a drug and alcohol free facility where he can get the help he needs to get his life together. He received help to get his driver’s license. He has not had them since 1984. Doug has aspirations of being a cook.
Sitting down with Bill, a Korean War Veteran from Knoxville, I heard firsthand how his temporary circumstance lead him to be homeless, but knowing all of Bill’s story makes you want to reach out and help him to help himself. OSDN helped him to move to Nashville from Knoxville so he could be close to his son. OSDN gave him a safe place to stay and access to computers where he was able to apply and land a job. Bill now has a job and the self confidence for his future.

Help our Veterans, who have sacrificed so much for us!!! Our Freedom!



More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

I am the wife of a soldier and a mother of a soldier and know first hand the sacrifices that our veterans have made for the citizens of the United States of America. Sometimes veterans need a "hand up". That is what Operation Stand Down provides. The organization is very professionally and efficiently ran by a team of veterans. The services Operation Stand Down provides is making a tremendous impact on veterans that need assistance. I am honored to give my time and resources to assist this organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

I came to this organization in 1999 as a client, when they helped me through a dark period of my life. I felt so grateful to this organization that I served on the Board for the next ten years. Now to further give back to OSDN's mission and our military veterans, I have been employed by them for over four years. OSDN has helped many thousands of veterans through difficult times in their lives. Thanks Richard

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

As a retired Air Force Chief Master Sergeant and Veteran Service Officer for a large county, I can say that Operation Stand Down Nashville Inc is vital to the veteran community. Without them, countless veterans would be on the street with no hope. They are an effectively run organization that provides housing, work opportunities and all types of support for veterans in need. They use their resources wisely and their professionalism is evident in all they do. Please support their endeavors.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

I love Operation Stand Nashville, Ink. over the years it has helped our homeless veterans to gain more respect for themselves. They supply our veterans with free haircuts, doctors visits, Dentist visits, food, clothes,and other items. They help to find home, jobs. This group in Nashville works very hard for our HEROs who have done so much for us. Thank you Operation Stand Down Nashville, and thank you for taking such good care of our HEROS!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

As a veteran of 21 years active duty, when I retired I was lost and was missing something in my life. After volunteering at one of thenStand Down Events, I was hooked. I volunteered for years with OSDN, and served on the Board of Directors for about 5 years. After 10 years working in the corporate world, I took a significant cut in pay to work for this organization. It was the best decision I made since leaving the Army. Miracles happen every day.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers