Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
123.1578945
Previous | Next
Write A Review
December 6, 2013
11 people found this review helpful

more

December 6, 2013
11 people found this review helpful

Unless you want to be endlessly harassed by obnoxious outsourced operators that live on commission, never do any business with this operation. I tried to do a good deed. My reward is endless phone calls. When I answer one of these calls and ask to be removed from being harassed, the operator hangs up on me before I even finish my request. This charity has lost sight of its mission.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have it stop abusing a good gesture into an invitation to harass people daily and endlessly.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 18, 2013
16 people found this review helpful

more

June 18, 2013
16 people found this review helpful

I am sad to see people's negative comments. After all you are making an investment in the children. You are increasing their "Face Value". If along the way some fees are charged, it costs money to run any business! I simply am a volunteer fundraiser near Seattle. I am unpaid, and retired. Are the fees excessive, I dont think so. Office expenses may well refer to the fees they pay for facility rentals when they set up mission sites in Vietnam, or Philippines, China etc. Travel expenses would be high, sending volunteers and equipment around the world, is not getting any less expensive. I know first hand thet the funds are spent on surgical missions. I was contacted locally in Seattle, by a relative of a child in the Phil. The parents wanted to find out how to get in touch with Operation Smile. They sent the info to the relative here, and they furnished it to me. I sent it to Norfolk VA, Operation Smile. It was forwarded to Manila, Phil. Soon they contacted the family. The child was interviewed, and recieved the free surgery. I know, because they forwarded an email, to me stating that the 5 year old child had the operation 3 days earlier and was home resting.

How much did it cost to help change the childs Life?
In November 2012, over 1,200 surgical procedures were performed in the Philippines alone. There were a lot of volunteers along the way, but a lot of costs, paid for by donations, as well as medical supplies etc.

I have faith in the Operation Smile organition, but here will not be a monetary return on the dollars you donate. You will get a tax write off. And wake up one day with the realization that you changed many childrens lives for the better

I have personally talked with some of the doctors and staff who have travelled on numerous surgical missions. They love to smile after changing a childs life for ever. However that is in contrast to thepain of having to tell tell sad parents, that their child is not healthy enough for surgery, or they do not have enought funding for any additional surgeries this trip, and they must wait for the next mission. (next year?).

If the money in questionwas put in the surgical cashflow, children would be the real benefactors, and
that is the purpose of the donation after all!

A proud volunteer

JR

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make more of the emotional videos, that is the only thing that gets the public's attention these days.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 27, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

more

November 27, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

I have been honored to work with Op Smile as part of a disaster relief team in 2010 in Haiti and again this year in Vietnam as part of a burn care team. In addition to cleft palate repair Op Smile offers burn and Wound Care interventions to the poorest popualtions all around the world. Many stories are heart rendering but the opportunity to serve with compassionate health care specialists from around the world and be a part of life changing outcomes makes the work of this group so important and necessary in what is now a world community. I hope everone who knows of Op Smile will give generously to their fine work througout the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

it's a very good grp to volunteer with!! i grantee a good volunteering :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

November 11, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

Operation Smile has an amazing capacity not only to change the lives of children and their families but to impact whole health systems in third world countries. The training opportunities create sustainable local medical professionals in a variety of fields that extends past cleft care but to pediatric patient care in general

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 9, 2011
8 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 9, 2011
8 people found this review helpful

I helped Operation Smile International back in 1999 in Venezuela, while Dr. William P. Magee Jr., D.D.S., M.D. and his team brought the plane named the flying hope. My uncle Dr. Jorge Carlesso was part of Venezuelan team, and he still being part of that team, I loved the time I spent working with this organization, and in the future I hope I can contribute with this organization, not only by donating money if not to help while the missions you make all around the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2000

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers