Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
123.1578945
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
November 13, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

it's a very good grp to volunteer with!! i grantee a good volunteering :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

November 11, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

Operation Smile has an amazing capacity not only to change the lives of children and their families but to impact whole health systems in third world countries. The training opportunities create sustainable local medical professionals in a variety of fields that extends past cleft care but to pediatric patient care in general

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 6, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

July 6, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I am a recent supporter to Operation Smile and truly inspired by the work they perform in the poorest countries in the world. Just seeing the photos of the children they help, it is clear how my donation is able to give a child a new life. Keep up the great work!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 31, 2012
24 people found this review helpful

more

March 31, 2012
24 people found this review helpful

for every dollar spent on a child, even with all the volunteers, fifty cents goes to executives and fund raising. There are probably better run operations for you hard earned dollars.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 9, 2011
8 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 9, 2011
8 people found this review helpful

I helped Operation Smile International back in 1999 in Venezuela, while Dr. William P. Magee Jr., D.D.S., M.D. and his team brought the plane named the flying hope. My uncle Dr. Jorge Carlesso was part of Venezuelan team, and he still being part of that team, I loved the time I spent working with this organization, and in the future I hope I can contribute with this organization, not only by donating money if not to help while the missions you make all around the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2000

November 29, 2011
31 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 29, 2011
31 people found this review helpful

This is not, strictly speaking, a review of Operation Smile, but a call for current reviews from others who know more than I. I was not aware until recently of the rift between Smile Train and Operation Smile. When I heard that the two are merging, it seemed like a good idea, reconciling differences and focusing on the task at hand, until I read the article in the New York Times about it.

http://www.nytimes.com/2011/02/24/business/24smile.html?pagewanted=all

It appears that the CEO of the Smile Train is looking for money and power, and now is looking to annex Operation Smile.

I am a very small donor. I work as a volunteer, pro bono, for another group, and have little cash money to contribute. I want to be sure the money I can spare goes where I think it does, and the politics of this merger raises questions.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

I have had personal experience with the way social acceptability affects a person's chances to lead a decent, effective, happy life. I believe every child born deserves a chance to do so.

What would you tell others about this organization?

It makes me sad to have to say it, but in the face of this merger, we need to look closely at both organizations to determine whether their agenda serves needy youngsters and their families, or greedy executives and their followers.

September 20, 2011
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 20, 2011
6 people found this review helpful

I have been a member of Operation Smile's Utah Chapter Board for only less than a year, but have been very familiar with the organization for many years. I have been so touched and moved by the unbelievable change and blessing that comes into the life of each child who has been the recipient of an Operation Smile surgery. Where once belittled, embarrassed and estranged because of a cleft lip or palate, these children's lives are forever changed for the better due to the generous donations of friends from around the world. I can, without reservation, wholeheartedly endorse Operation Smile and thank you in advance for your support.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the lives of thousands of children. Having received a surgery that often lasts no more than 30-minutes and at a cost of $240, these little beneficiaries lives are forever changed for the good.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

only endeavor to make it bigger

April 8, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 8, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

This organization is very well run in my experience. I am happy to be involved in Operations Smile's mission to change lives forever. A child's happy face has a happy place in my heart!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Yes, the reward of changing someones life so they can have a brighter future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

December 29, 2010
4 people found this review helpful

more

December 29, 2010
4 people found this review helpful

Operation Smile is my favorite non-profit charitible organization and will always have a special place in my heart, simply because of the hope and new-lease-on-life opportunities they provide to suffering children and loving families through their wonderful, life transforming surgeries. God bless Operation Smile.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Believing in the good work this organization does for the less fortunate in this world

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

n/a

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers