Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
123.1578945
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
February 1, 2014
9 people found this review helpful

more

February 1, 2014
9 people found this review helpful

Keep an eye over your bank account because this guys had taken extra mony from mine with out permission.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not have people working in comission.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 24, 2014
8 people found this review helpful

more

January 24, 2014
8 people found this review helpful

WORST charity ever, what a bunch of crooks and they now keep calling me EVERY SINGLE DAY!!! I will never, ever donate here again and when I looked them up online, what a surprise to find this:

http://hamptonroads.com/2011/10/donor-beware-your-money-might-not-go-where-you-think

DON'T use your emotions to donate to a cause, you will always lose and the people who need it most never get what they need.

Terrible experience!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Dissolve the organization

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 6, 2013
11 people found this review helpful

more

December 6, 2013
11 people found this review helpful

Unless you want to be endlessly harassed by obnoxious outsourced operators that live on commission, never do any business with this operation. I tried to do a good deed. My reward is endless phone calls. When I answer one of these calls and ask to be removed from being harassed, the operator hangs up on me before I even finish my request. This charity has lost sight of its mission.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have it stop abusing a good gesture into an invitation to harass people daily and endlessly.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 12, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

more

October 12, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

As of six months ago, their annual reports on their website shows 73.2% of funds went to programs, 20.6% to fundraising, 6.2% for administration. Not sure where the negative press is coming from . . . also, any reason management doesn't change the practice of calling those who donate? If this has changed, there needs to be a statement to this effect on this site so as not to dissuade those interested in contributing.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 18, 2013
13 people found this review helpful

more

June 18, 2013
13 people found this review helpful

If you don't mind be barraged by phone calls by solicitors after you donate wanting to bleed every cent from you, give. If you value your privacy and abhor robot calls, don't give. Very bad ratio of money donated and what actually goes to the kids. If you do give don't give them your real phone number. Great idea for a charity, but poorly run.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 18, 2013
17 people found this review helpful

more

June 18, 2013
17 people found this review helpful

I am sad to see people's negative comments. After all you are making an investment in the children. You are increasing their "Face Value". If along the way some fees are charged, it costs money to run any business! I simply am a volunteer fundraiser near Seattle. I am unpaid, and retired. Are the fees excessive, I dont think so. Office expenses may well refer to the fees they pay for facility rentals when they set up mission sites in Vietnam, or Philippines, China etc. Travel expenses would be high, sending volunteers and equipment around the world, is not getting any less expensive. I know first hand thet the funds are spent on surgical missions. I was contacted locally in Seattle, by a relative of a child in the Phil. The parents wanted to find out how to get in touch with Operation Smile. They sent the info to the relative here, and they furnished it to me. I sent it to Norfolk VA, Operation Smile. It was forwarded to Manila, Phil. Soon they contacted the family. The child was interviewed, and recieved the free surgery. I know, because they forwarded an email, to me stating that the 5 year old child had the operation 3 days earlier and was home resting.

How much did it cost to help change the childs Life?
In November 2012, over 1,200 surgical procedures were performed in the Philippines alone. There were a lot of volunteers along the way, but a lot of costs, paid for by donations, as well as medical supplies etc.

I have faith in the Operation Smile organition, but here will not be a monetary return on the dollars you donate. You will get a tax write off. And wake up one day with the realization that you changed many childrens lives for the better

I have personally talked with some of the doctors and staff who have travelled on numerous surgical missions. They love to smile after changing a childs life for ever. However that is in contrast to thepain of having to tell tell sad parents, that their child is not healthy enough for surgery, or they do not have enought funding for any additional surgeries this trip, and they must wait for the next mission. (next year?).

If the money in questionwas put in the surgical cashflow, children would be the real benefactors, and
that is the purpose of the donation after all!

A proud volunteer

JR

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make more of the emotional videos, that is the only thing that gets the public's attention these days.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 12, 2013
67 people found this review helpful

more

April 12, 2013
67 people found this review helpful

I saw a TV story about Operation Smile and was moved to make a handsome donation. I then went to check them out but they are not rated. I looked at their IRS Form 990 for 2011 and was shocked by the numbers. In 2011 they collected $48mill. Of this they spent $3mill (6.25%) on grants. The rest went to Salaries - $7.7mill (16%); Office expenses - $6.4mill (13.3%); Travel - $4mill (8.3%); Fund Raising - $3.2mill (6.6%); "Other" (presumably also fund-raising related) - $2.3mill (4.8%). Judge for yourself. I would not donate an additional penny until their mission-related spending is above 80% of revenues not 6%! Besides, like other reviewers my telephone doesn't stop ringing to the point that this line has become useless.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 19, 2013
60 people found this review helpful

more

February 19, 2013
60 people found this review helpful

Wife and I donated last year's tax refund to Operations Smile based on the worked they appeared to be doing and had planned to do so every year in the future but immediately regretted our decision to do so. Whatever the merits of their work in the field we immediately found ourselves in the midst of an avalanche of robo calls from every imaginable charity which are not covered by the Do Not Call list regulations and has left us with no recourse but to terminate our land-line service at the end of this month to put an end to the 10 to 15 calls a day, yes a day, that we've been receiving since our donation. This in addition to the small mountain of wasteful daily mailings we receive from these charities including Operation Smile the totality of which certainly qualifies as a small environmental catastrophe. They clearly sold our information as part of a donors list without any regard as to the impact and the material cost alone of the mailings from Operation Smiles would seem leave us hard pressed to imagine much if any actual care being delivered with even our sizable donation.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 5, 2013
33 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
January 5, 2013
33 people found this review helpful

Once you donate to Operation Smile you can expect to be bombarded with robocalling pleas for more donations. Their calling is extremely aggressive, starting at 7 am and continuing until 9 pm with as many as five calls in one day, seven days a week for months and months. They will not stop.
Donors soon regret their decision as no amount of pleading will get them to stop harassing you with constant phone calls.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012
12 people found this review helpful

more

November 27, 2012
12 people found this review helpful

I have been honored to work with Op Smile as part of a disaster relief team in 2010 in Haiti and again this year in Vietnam as part of a burn care team. In addition to cleft palate repair Op Smile offers burn and Wound Care interventions to the poorest popualtions all around the world. Many stories are heart rendering but the opportunity to serve with compassionate health care specialists from around the world and be a part of life changing outcomes makes the work of this group so important and necessary in what is now a world community. I hope everone who knows of Op Smile will give generously to their fine work througout the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers