Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 19, 2013

more

October 19, 2013

I am a staff psychologist for a VA Medical Center & a clinical assistant professor at a medical school. Both of my grandfathers, my father, my brother, several uncles & many dear friends have served in our armed forces. Thus, organizations that support our military & military families are especially close to my heart. Operation Shower is one of my favorite charities. I have donated both money & time to this amazing organization. In January of 2011, I was fortunate to volunteer at one of their showers in San Diego. It was an honor to share in such a special day for so many expectant mothers whose partners were deployed. Operation Shower brings such happiness & joy to our military families, and helps them to realize the support they have from so many Americans. Please help them to continue their mission. In peace, Peggy Hudson, Ph.D.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Operation Shower is such an remarkable and generous organization. I had the great pleasure of being a volunteer at their shower in St. Louis and it was such a wonderful experience. It was so awesome to be a part of honoring these amazing moms and I can't think of a better cause. LeAnn, Amy and Lia do such a fantastic job organizing the events and making sure every last detail is perfect. The moms were so grateful for the generous gifts and I hope that the experience showed them how much appreciation, love and respect everyone has for them. Keep up the amazing work Operation Shower!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Not only did this organization honor a much ignored group of people who serve our country in relative silence, they helped strength those same people by bring those in difficult situations together to meet and support each other. The bonds these women make at this event last much longer than the event. These bonds and connections are very important to young mothers in new areas where they feel quite alone while worrying about their loved ones out serving our country, many in harms way. As a young military spouse myself I often felt alone and misunderstood. My family who lived far away thought my life was full of military parties and excitement. They never understood the thankless job I, and all military spouses, did while dealing with newborns and your own illnesses and other issues. This organization really lets these women know how much they are appreciated and their sacrifices are not going unnoticed. Does a lot for the morale and well being of not only the military families but our troops as well. The less our troops worry about at home the better they can do their job and the more they can focus on doing it safely so all can come home safely.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand the work with satellite centers east/west coast with headquarters in the center of US.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

I have volunteered at two Operation Shower events and collected product for both of them. Setup is a lot of work but fun. The shower days are amazing - it is fun to watch the Moms as they socialize and open their gifts. It's a great way to give back to military families.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

My daughter and I had the chance to be volunteers at the shower that was held at Fort Drum Army Base in July 2013. This was the first time I had heard about Operation Shower. My daughter liked their Facebook page and found out they were coming to Northern NY. We had a blast helping set up the shower and then volunteering during the shower. They do an amazing job. What a great idea LeAnn has come up with. I love all the different themes that they have for all the different showers. I have donated crochet and knit baby hats for the shower in a box and will continue to do so. We had such fun watching the reactions for the moms during the shower. The Mom's were so thankful for what LeAnne, Amy and Lia do for them. I recommend this organization to everyone I know.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

Operation Shower is a little slice of heaven. From the moment I first learned about their organization a number of years ago, I have been stunned by their committment to the families who serve our country. They have found a way to say thank you, we love you, we support you and we are honored to help in whatever way we can - all in one.

They throw the most magical baby showers for women who might not otherwise have that experience. I have been privileged to host two of their events - one at Camp Lejeune, North Carolina and one at Scott Air Force Base in Illinois. On both occasions, I was fully aware I was surrounded by something extraordinary. The moms-to-be are beautifully overwhelmed by how spoiled they are, by the joy in the room, and by the generosity of the many, many people and brands who come together to donate, making each event a spectacular success.

It is hard to hold back the tears as you look around the room - sitting and chatting with these new moms and moms-to-be - knowing that they are experiencing motherhood in a way unknown to so many of us - alone - possibly away from family, waiting on the return of their spouses and hoping for his safe return.

Operation Shower aims to ease the burden of deployment - and I believe in my heart - based on what I have seen....that it does and in such a lovely way.

Operation Shower was started with heart in LeAnn Morrissey's basement and continues today with that same heart..... the added bonus is the number of other people (including her husband and 11 year old son) and volunteers who have added their love and hearts to the mix.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

I had the honor of volunteering with Amy & Leanne at a shower in Norfolk, VA in the fall of 2011. The team work, the organization of donations being delivered, food, cakes and the decorating, I absolutely felt like those mama-to-be were going to feel like they were on the red carpet. Not only was there countless hours put into prep for the shower but I was astounded by the amount of love shown to these women who may otherwise not receive beautiful gifts let alone a baby shower to ohh and ahh over her new bundle of joy!
Hats off to the founder Leanne and her shower team that comes together several times a year to reach out to military mamas, God bless & thank you for your willingness to give amazing blessings!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not one thing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

I absolutely LOVE this organization. I have been volunteering for almost three years now and try to be part of any shower that comes my way. I started by donating sweets and have had the pleasure of designing and executing several dessert stations since then. These are my favorite events to do as I feel everything is appreciated and my time is well spent. They always have THE best themes and party professionals involved as well. It definitely gives me something to look forward to.

Operation Shower goes above and beyond to make these events extraordinary. They not only provide amazing necessities for new families, but love, support and encouragement as well. I am always moved to tears when the moms are surprised with their gifts and the outpouring of support. They are filling a great need in our country and I hope more and more people are given the opportunity to experience their events. The level of professionalism, organization and excitement is unmatched. I've also enjoyed meeting other people in various professional industries and have built lifetime friendships through Operation Shower.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more funding!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

I have been lucky enough to be a guest at a shower as well as a volunteer. Both experiences have been amazing and incredibly rewarding. They have been experiences I'll never forgot. I know I'll be volunteering for as long as they'll have me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would only suggest they come up with a task list for the volunteers before they arrive instead dolling out tasks as they arise.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

One of the best experiences I've ever had! Planning events is my dream job and I enjoyed every second of helping out with Operation Shower's "red, white, and coo." Any day ofevent setup is a dream day for me! And seeing the moms smiles was priceless!

Having loved ones in the military I
know how hard it can be while they are away, so giving back when this organization was amazing. I would love to so more for them! They do such an amazing job!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it so I could help all the time!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers