Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 19, 2013

more

October 19, 2013

I am a staff psychologist for a VA Medical Center & a clinical assistant professor at a medical school. Both of my grandfathers, my father, my brother, several uncles & many dear friends have served in our armed forces. Thus, organizations that support our military & military families are especially close to my heart. Operation Shower is one of my favorite charities. I have donated both money & time to this amazing organization. In January of 2011, I was fortunate to volunteer at one of their showers in San Diego. It was an honor to share in such a special day for so many expectant mothers whose partners were deployed. Operation Shower brings such happiness & joy to our military families, and helps them to realize the support they have from so many Americans. Please help them to continue their mission. In peace, Peggy Hudson, Ph.D.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Operation Shower is such an remarkable and generous organization. I had the great pleasure of being a volunteer at their shower in St. Louis and it was such a wonderful experience. It was so awesome to be a part of honoring these amazing moms and I can't think of a better cause. LeAnn, Amy and Lia do such a fantastic job organizing the events and making sure every last detail is perfect. The moms were so grateful for the generous gifts and I hope that the experience showed them how much appreciation, love and respect everyone has for them. Keep up the amazing work Operation Shower!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Not only did this organization honor a much ignored group of people who serve our country in relative silence, they helped strength those same people by bring those in difficult situations together to meet and support each other. The bonds these women make at this event last much longer than the event. These bonds and connections are very important to young mothers in new areas where they feel quite alone while worrying about their loved ones out serving our country, many in harms way. As a young military spouse myself I often felt alone and misunderstood. My family who lived far away thought my life was full of military parties and excitement. They never understood the thankless job I, and all military spouses, did while dealing with newborns and your own illnesses and other issues. This organization really lets these women know how much they are appreciated and their sacrifices are not going unnoticed. Does a lot for the morale and well being of not only the military families but our troops as well. The less our troops worry about at home the better they can do their job and the more they can focus on doing it safely so all can come home safely.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand the work with satellite centers east/west coast with headquarters in the center of US.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

I have volunteered at two Operation Shower events and collected product for both of them. Setup is a lot of work but fun. The shower days are amazing - it is fun to watch the Moms as they socialize and open their gifts. It's a great way to give back to military families.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

My daughter and I had the chance to be volunteers at the shower that was held at Fort Drum Army Base in July 2013. This was the first time I had heard about Operation Shower. My daughter liked their Facebook page and found out they were coming to Northern NY. We had a blast helping set up the shower and then volunteering during the shower. They do an amazing job. What a great idea LeAnn has come up with. I love all the different themes that they have for all the different showers. I have donated crochet and knit baby hats for the shower in a box and will continue to do so. We had such fun watching the reactions for the moms during the shower. The Mom's were so thankful for what LeAnne, Amy and Lia do for them. I recommend this organization to everyone I know.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

If there were more than 5 stars I could give, I would give them 38 stars representing the 38 unit-wide showers they have held as of September 2013. They have greatly touched thousands of hearts and have made an impact to so many. Most would probably not have thought to pay attention to a pregnant military wife whose husband is deployed because many would think it came with the territory being married to a service member. It's been done before and it's nothing special right? OH but it is and Operation Shower took it above and beyond to recognize that it is special and they knew how stressful that can be to the one left behind. Not only with the added stress of being pregnant and to top it off your husband is not even in the same continent as you. They showered us with generosity, recognized us, thanked us, gifted us, honored us, and appreciated us. It has been 2 years since I was honored at one of their showers and came back a year later as a guest and it is just NOW that I am actually able to talk to people about operation shower without getting emotional! It may have been the pregnancy hormones or what I have already been through with my high risk pregnancy and delivery, but probably mostly due to how operation shower and their team made me feel that day and yes hormones! =) When I would talk about them, I relive that moment.

It's like what Maya Angelou says “I've learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel" BUT for me I will never forget what they did because of how they made me feel! I am a supporter for life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Clone this organization because the world needs more Operation Showers.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

I've never experienced anything like it in my life! To give in the way they do just blows my mind, I was gifted party supplies for my daughters 1st birthday,which will be tomorrow. Operation shower is awesome. Besides everything that was given I won a bed set for my daughter, before I went I didn't know how I was going to afford a bed set for her. Operation shower blessed us tremendously & I am very thankful for them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes, just spread the word of what a great organization they are!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

I don't know where to begin. Operation shower is the most amazing organization I think I have ever come into contact with! They treated us like VIPs! The shower was BEAUTIFUL, wonderfully catered, and decorated. The gifts were out of this world! I could not believe the generosity that was shown. These people do so much for military families! I am so very thankful that I had the opportunity to attend!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

This is a wonderful organization that not only honors military families but truly cares for them. I am so impressed by the thought and love given for every single shower and am happy to be a donor. I actually have 2 young children and have purchased products from the companies that regularly donate to the showers since I know how much they support them!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

Operation Shower is a little slice of heaven. From the moment I first learned about their organization a number of years ago, I have been stunned by their committment to the families who serve our country. They have found a way to say thank you, we love you, we support you and we are honored to help in whatever way we can - all in one.

They throw the most magical baby showers for women who might not otherwise have that experience. I have been privileged to host two of their events - one at Camp Lejeune, North Carolina and one at Scott Air Force Base in Illinois. On both occasions, I was fully aware I was surrounded by something extraordinary. The moms-to-be are beautifully overwhelmed by how spoiled they are, by the joy in the room, and by the generosity of the many, many people and brands who come together to donate, making each event a spectacular success.

It is hard to hold back the tears as you look around the room - sitting and chatting with these new moms and moms-to-be - knowing that they are experiencing motherhood in a way unknown to so many of us - alone - possibly away from family, waiting on the return of their spouses and hoping for his safe return.

Operation Shower aims to ease the burden of deployment - and I believe in my heart - based on what I have seen....that it does and in such a lovely way.

Operation Shower was started with heart in LeAnn Morrissey's basement and continues today with that same heart..... the added bonus is the number of other people (including her husband and 11 year old son) and volunteers who have added their love and hearts to the mix.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers