Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
71 Reviews
1234.929585
Write A Review
November 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I can't even begin to say THANK YOU enough to Operation Second Chance and Jeskya. WOW!!!

As a disabled veteran (and one with many problems), I felt personally cornered and without a way to have a little relief from it all. I was behind on my bills, my rent and had literally no food other
than a few pieces of bread and some peanut butter. In the bush, we learn how to ration everything and there was simply nothing left.

I found second chance via a referral from another veteran at my local VA Regional Office. We were discussing the holidays and I obviously did not have any "cheer" in my head to remotely talk about the season. As we were talking, he said: "Hey bud, I don't know you from the next guy. However, I am good at reading "distress"". In short, I was given the website information to Operation Second Chance.

After a few hours of pondering (knowing how many scams are out there), I got on the website and noticed that these folks seem to care about veterans. I applied, thinking that there would be no response or an isolated response stating "thank you, someone will get back to you in the future". To my surprise, Jeskya called me literally within hours and we had a very nice chat. There was no stress, no nose snub, no embarrassment, not even a hint of rejection. This very caring woman went out of her way to identify my needs and how she could directly impact what was a major concern in my life.

Jeskya asked me to send some identifying information via email and within a couple of hours, she called me. There are no simple words that I could ever say, to say "thank you". I will somehow Pay It Forward in the Future!

Folks: listen carefully..... This is the real deal. If they don't have a solution in their grab-bag, I am under the firm belief that they will find that answer you are seeking. Whether it's a friendly voice, referral or even financial help if they can make it happen they will. Granted, not every problem is resolved over night. However, my major problem was resolved and as a result it gave me a great nights rest and much needed peace!
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

My husband is a wounded warrior, therefore I have the opportunity to come in contact with many non-profits.
Operation Second Chance is one of the few non-profits that have impressed me this much. I went to them and asked for help with a situation and the next day my need was met ! Amazing
organization.

Brenda N.
October 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Good Morning,

I want to thank Operation Second Chance for giving me the tickets to the Wizards Game. My family loved every minute of it. Tickets to watch a game in an NBA suite was a chance I probably wouldn't of had, if it wasn't for all the wonderful things that you all do! You all are
awesome!!!!

V/r,

Marvin Parker
August 28, 2014

more

August 28, 2014

Operation Second Chance is an Amazing organization that has far exceeded my expectations for support. I was injured in Afghanistan in July of 2013. I sustained several injuries, one of which was significant vision loss in my right eye due to shrapnel from a rocket hitting my face. OSC has covered the cost for a back up camera and installation in my new truck. In turn this has given me the opportunity to be a safer driver not only for myself but people around me. Since I cant see well enough out of my right eye, there are much more blind spots while backing up or switching lanes. This back-up camera covers those blind spots. Now I have great confidence in my ability to drive safely! Thank you OSC and all of the donors for making this possible!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 12, 2014

more

August 12, 2014

Operation Second Chance is pretty phenomenal...I really appreciate the camaraderie I feel when hanging with some of the other Warriors and their families. I also understand that I wouldn't have met a lot of great people including the staff . My wife and I really appreciated some of the events that we have been to attend, it gave us a chance to do something that we may have never done otherwise.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I haven't been helped in more aspects of my life than from these ppl right here .

Cpl Christian brown silver star recipient
Compat wounded
Double amputee

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Non what so ever family environment is Awsome

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 9, 2014

more

August 9, 2014

I absolutely love this organization. It has helped me bond with others while out and about. I am suffering from PTSD and I have a hard time meeting people and making new friends because of trust issues. This organization has helped me in that sense. I can not thank the organizers and volunteers enough for the friendship and their time. Thank you OSC!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do nothing :D

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

I have had the opportunity to attend this event the last two years, it is just an awesome experience!!
A nice hotel for two nights, and a pro-am with a most accommodating professional golfer. The HP Byron Nelson staff are helpful in every way imaginable. Scott Beaty, our coordinator or
sponsor takes us to dinner to kick it off on Saturday night and it was just a great time all the way around, if you get the opportunity to attend, I would highly recommend it! Thanks to all of you folks at Operation Second Chance!!!

Best Regards,
SGT Mitchell (RET)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I have nothing to offer here...

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

I really have no words to express the feeling I had coming to this event. It's truly undescribable. Everyone, and I mean everyone, was very thankful for my sacrifice and service to our great nation. They were constantly reminding us from event to event (hole to hole) how they appreciated us. From the hotel stay to transportation to the golf course was top notch. It was great just to get out and be reminded why we have the best citizens in all the world. There is not one thing I could really complain about. Plenty of food, water and fellowship. PLEASE DO NOT STOP! If I never get to attend another event, it warms me to know someone in my shoes is. Sometimes we do feel left out, unappreciated and taken for granted. You and your organization help put that feeling asidewhich does help with our mental state to carry on. PLEASE DO NOT STOP.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NOT A THING!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 30, 2014

more

June 30, 2014

We were surprised and honored by the commitment Operation Second Chance has made to supporting service members who receive treatment for traumatic brain injury and PTSD at the Shepherd Center in Atlanta. The volunteers were warm, kind and went above and beyond to help ease the pains of being away from home. Truly a top-notch organization!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Take pictures of the clients and volunteers and tweet them so that more folks know the good word they are doing for our wounded warriors!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers