Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
69 Reviews
1234.927545
| 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

The story of Operation Second Chance is one of selfless service. Its founder gave up a lucrative job in the financial industry. Now, a large network of volunteers from Florida to Montana work together to provide great outings for our Wounded Warriors. Our overhead costs are low so that just over 90 cents of every dollar donated actually goes to help our Wounded Warriors. I have worked with this organization for about five years and help to conduct fishing expeditions here in the Highland Lakes of central Texas as well as hiking and camping in the Big Bend National Park. Operation Second Chance has blessed the lives of many Warriors - one at a time with care, respect and a chance to get out of the hospital environment and relax and enjoy the great outdoors.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand the number of volunteers.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

I have been to a couple of Operation Second Chance fund raisers and a few turkey shoots for the wounded warriors and there is no better way to say Thank You to the men and women who have put them selves in arms way to protect our great country.

God bless these great warriors for our
freedom!

Tim Craig.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

i am proud to donate my time and resorces to operation second chance .This is truly a first class organization ,No group has given back more to our disabled veterans, with Hand on personal rehabilation, that truly makes an impact on our recovering service members.The out pouring of support is hard to believe , people giving back with no expections makes me PROUD TO BE AN AMERICAN

Fomer United States Marine Gunnery Sergeant

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

EXPAND IT IN ALL REGIONS IN THE COUNTRY

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

We invite a group of Wounded Warriors to Sunrise Beach,Tx. for a weekend of fishing, fun, & food. Lodging is also provided. My observations of our our guests is that they really have an enjoyeable weekend.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

I have had the opportunity to attend this event the last two years, it is just an awesome experience!!
A nice hotel for two nights, and a pro-am with a most accommodating professional golfer. The HP Byron Nelson staff are helpful in every way imaginable. Scott Beaty, our coordinator or
sponsor takes us to dinner to kick it off on Saturday night and it was just a great time all the way around, if you get the opportunity to attend, I would highly recommend it! Thanks to all of you folks at Operation Second Chance!!!

Best Regards,
SGT Mitchell (RET)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I have nothing to offer here...

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

A group of corporations had the privilege of assisting Operation Second Chance by organizing a Sporting Clays Shoot in the Tampa/Bradenton/Sarasota area to raise funds for OSC. Our group - Operation Second Chance Florida Fun Shoot - worked with several OSC volunteers who were not only excited about what they were doing to help our veterans, but spent a great deal of time and effort helping us help them. Our 1st annual shoot was a great success in large part due to the OSC volunteers that just did what they do - help in any way they can. The OSC's office in Washington helped by putting the word out and again just doing what they do, which is give back to our veterans by keeping their overhead so low that they are able to return 90% of the funds raised directly to assist veterans. I can't say enough about how good the OSC folks are to our vets - and that isn't just my opinion; I heard that directly from the vets that attended the shoot and participated with our sponsors. Top notch organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

I really have no words to express the feeling I had coming to this event. It's truly undescribable. Everyone, and I mean everyone, was very thankful for my sacrifice and service to our great nation. They were constantly reminding us from event to event (hole to hole) how they appreciated us. From the hotel stay to transportation to the golf course was top notch. It was great just to get out and be reminded why we have the best citizens in all the world. There is not one thing I could really complain about. Plenty of food, water and fellowship. PLEASE DO NOT STOP! If I never get to attend another event, it warms me to know someone in my shoes is. Sometimes we do feel left out, unappreciated and taken for granted. You and your organization help put that feeling asidewhich does help with our mental state to carry on. PLEASE DO NOT STOP.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NOT A THING!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

I began volunteering for Operation Second Chance (OSC) in 2010. Since then I have always been impressed with the organization's ability to provide too-notch, personal care for our wounded veterans and their families. OSC operates on minimal overhead and provides over 90% of its donated funds directly to veteran support.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Enhance employment reintegration programming.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 30, 2014

more

June 30, 2014

We were surprised and honored by the commitment Operation Second Chance has made to supporting service members who receive treatment for traumatic brain injury and PTSD at the Shepherd Center in Atlanta. The volunteers were warm, kind and went above and beyond to help ease the pains of being away from home. Truly a top-notch organization!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Take pictures of the clients and volunteers and tweet them so that more folks know the good word they are doing for our wounded warriors!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 25, 2014

more

June 25, 2014

I just happened to bump into an operation second chance worker in the hallway of Walter Reed. She was wearing the logo so I asked if they could help get tickets for an event for my son's 5th birthday. Due to the fact that we were in the process of moving, we couldn't go see family and we couldn't afford anything too expensive. By the next morning, my family had 3 tickets to one of the most popular events in D.C.... And the showing was the night of my son's birthday! I'm beyond grateful and so excited to get the opportunity to surprise my little boy with tickets to THE LION KING!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure people know your here for them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers