Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
72 Reviews
1234.930565
Write A Review
December 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have had the opportunity to work with OSC several times helping veterans in Florida. TOP NOTCH team!
November 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I can't even begin to say THANK YOU enough to Operation Second Chance and Jeskya. WOW!!!

As a disabled veteran (and one with many problems), I felt personally cornered and without a way to have a little relief from it all. I was behind on my bills, my rent and had literally no food other
than a few pieces of bread and some peanut butter. In the bush, we learn how to ration everything and there was simply nothing left.

I found second chance via a referral from another veteran at my local VA Regional Office. We were discussing the holidays and I obviously did not have any "cheer" in my head to remotely talk about the season. As we were talking, he said: "Hey bud, I don't know you from the next guy. However, I am good at reading "distress"". In short, I was given the website information to Operation Second Chance.

After a few hours of pondering (knowing how many scams are out there), I got on the website and noticed that these folks seem to care about veterans. I applied, thinking that there would be no response or an isolated response stating "thank you, someone will get back to you in the future". To my surprise, Jeskya called me literally within hours and we had a very nice chat. There was no stress, no nose snub, no embarrassment, not even a hint of rejection. This very caring woman went out of her way to identify my needs and how she could directly impact what was a major concern in my life.

Jeskya asked me to send some identifying information via email and within a couple of hours, she called me. There are no simple words that I could ever say, to say "thank you". I will somehow Pay It Forward in the Future!

Folks: listen carefully..... This is the real deal. If they don't have a solution in their grab-bag, I am under the firm belief that they will find that answer you are seeking. Whether it's a friendly voice, referral or even financial help if they can make it happen they will. Granted, not every problem is resolved over night. However, my major problem was resolved and as a result it gave me a great nights rest and much needed peace!
November 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

What a wonderful organization filled with high energy patriots. I have been faithfully conducting fundraisers for OSC for the past six years with the full knowledge that they will ensure that all the money we raise goes towards support our nation's heroes and their families.

We all love
you Cindy McGrew!
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

Operation second chance is the best truest to it's name of any organization.They help injured soldiers as soon as they are injured and go to walter reed. They keep families fly out and visit the injured soldier to building a house for them. They take them out to games and fishing And hunting. They truly help hundreds of soldiers that have been injured with no legs or blind in one eye as a sniper. The president Cindy mcgrew was going for ten years every day to walter reed. They deserve to win the best organization.
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

I have had the privilege of meeting OSC's founder, Cindy McGrew who exemplifies the spirit of volunteerism. She left a success career to begin this foundation after being moved by the soldiers in Walter Reed. She is not afraid to get her hands dirty and helps at every level; she is not a mere figurehead and face of this organization. Her love for these brave men and women is evident and her passion to help them is abundant.
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

My husband is a wounded warrior, therefore I have the opportunity to come in contact with many non-profits.
Operation Second Chance is one of the few non-profits that have impressed me this much. I went to them and asked for help with a situation and the next day my need was met ! Amazing
organization.

Brenda N.
October 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Good Morning,

I want to thank Operation Second Chance for giving me the tickets to the Wizards Game. My family loved every minute of it. Tickets to watch a game in an NBA suite was a chance I probably wouldn't of had, if it wasn't for all the wonderful things that you all do! You all are
awesome!!!!

V/r,

Marvin Parker
August 28, 2014

more

August 28, 2014

Operation Second Chance is an Amazing organization that has far exceeded my expectations for support. I was injured in Afghanistan in July of 2013. I sustained several injuries, one of which was significant vision loss in my right eye due to shrapnel from a rocket hitting my face. OSC has covered the cost for a back up camera and installation in my new truck. In turn this has given me the opportunity to be a safer driver not only for myself but people around me. Since I cant see well enough out of my right eye, there are much more blind spots while backing up or switching lanes. This back-up camera covers those blind spots. Now I have great confidence in my ability to drive safely! Thank you OSC and all of the donors for making this possible!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 14, 2014

more

August 14, 2014

Operation Second Chance is a wonderful organization and resource for our beloved men and women of uniform who have sacrificed so much. Many nonprofits in my opinion waste so much time and precious resources and fail not to touch the core need, this organization understands that need and delivers. I can clearly testify from many angles of observation of OSC events that a smile from a hero is badge of honor for the organization. God-speed Operation Second Chance!


Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not do Nothing! I just wish that it continues to grow and help all in need of its benefits.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 12, 2014

more

August 12, 2014

Operation Second Chance is pretty phenomenal...I really appreciate the camaraderie I feel when hanging with some of the other Warriors and their families. I also understand that I wouldn't have met a lot of great people including the staff . My wife and I really appreciated some of the events that we have been to attend, it gave us a chance to do something that we may have never done otherwise.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers