Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
81 Reviews
1234.790125
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 19, 2013

more

July 19, 2013

My sister volunteered at Operation Nightwatch for years, before she died a few years ago. She came to know them all by name and recognize their worth as human beings. This is a unique safe place for the homeless to find companionship along with food and socks, etc. It's a place of warmth, comfort, coffee, games and actually being recognized as a person and not just another homeless person. Operation Nightwatch is on my list for monthly donations. Betty Riley

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2013

more


3 previous reviews - show all
October 16, 2012

I attended an Operation Nightwatch Breakfast last Saturday and learned some amazing things. Operation Nightwatch does not prosletize at their hospitality centers but also do not hide that this is an ... more

June 12, 2013

I applied to be on the board so I could futher the mission of this program to we've the marginalized. I have volunteered for about 20 years. The premise is simple, treat people as you would want to be treated if life kicked your feet out from under you and left you flat on the sidewalk. We don't try to change people but we create spaces where they can choose to change and support them in their journey.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Triple their budget so they could serve more communities.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2012

I attended an Operation Nightwatch Breakfast last Saturday and learned some amazing things. Operation Nightwatch does not prosletize at their hospitality centers but also do not hide that this is an ecumenical ministry program that seeks to address peoples physical needs with food, clothing, bedding and access to bathroom facilities. They also address social needs by offering a full range of programs including movie nights, monthly outings, Christmas parties and a monthly birthday party. They are concerned about people's intellectural needs and provides a free book cart and stimulating conversations at the hospitality centers. They also seek to address people's spiritual needs through a weekly Bible study which has also become a support group and a weekly worship service that averages 25-30 attendees per week. At this service, they take an offering which is then donated to other programs that serve the low-income and homeless in Portlan. In ten years of faithful giving by these people who most view as having nothing to give, have raised $9900. The most important service Operation Nightwatch provides, is that opportunity for marginalized people to be part of our community in very normal ways. This raises self esteem and opens the door of HOPE.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2011

I have been a volunteer with Operation Nightwatch for over 15 years. I started with one night a month at the hospitality center which is open in the evenings for homeless and low income people to come have a cup of coffee, a sandwich, read a magazine, play a game and take a break from the daily stress of their lives. The center also offers special events to help our guests have some normal life experiences like going to a baseball game, or decorating a Christmas tree with hand made ornaments. We also have an annual memorial service during Holy Week for all of our "friends" who have passed away during the past year. It is more than a handout, it is a community. Operation Nightwatch continues to expand to meet the needs of low income and homeless people in Portland, Oregon. They now have a new SE center and are looking for a church to partner with who has opened their parking lot to people living in their cars. The mobile center would provide bathrooms, showers and some basic cooking options for these families.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 10, 2011

Operation Nightwatch in Portland, Oregon provides services to some of our most marginalized residents including the homeless, low income seniors, those who are chronically mentally ill, alcoholic and drug addicts and disabled people. They provide a hospitality center 3 nights a week where people come to socialize, drink free coffee and lemonade, have a snack and seek advice. While there they can play board and card games, read, rest, visit. There are bathroom facilities they can use to clean up. There is also a mobile unit that goes out to an area known to have a large population of low income folks to provide simular services. There are also monthly outings to the beach, the mountains, a baseball game or other activity. Those events provide opportunities for recreation that are beyond the means of most or our guests. This program has been a stable resource in Portland for over 20 years. There is only one paid staff and over 100 volunteers Our motto is Keep the Light On!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen people who have come to us with very low esteem find the support and affirmation from the volunteers and the other guests to make changes in their lives that lead to stabile housing and jobs. We provide an avenue for creativity. The walls are adorned with original art and poetry. Many times, I have seen a homeless person turn down a bologna and cheese sandwich because they had eaten that day and someone else might need it more.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would double the number of volunteers and be open 7 nights a week. I would develop training resources so other communities could create their own Nightwatch. I would pass a law that everyone has a right to housing and food.

October 2, 2012

more

October 2, 2012

Operation Nightwatch meets a very real need for many people. Their stories could belong to any one of us given different circumstances. Through genuine caring and dedication, this organization offers a safe and welcoming environment for fellowship and a sense of belonging. It provides clear rules and standards for guests and volunteers alike which, if followed, insure safety for all. I have seen over many years the positive impact Operation Nightwatch has had on the folks who attend. For some, this community has been life-changing. A friend once observed as he offered help to a "homeless" man: How can I be sure this isn't God himself. Therefore, "even as you did to the least of these, you did also to me...” (Matt. 25:40)

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 9, 2011

more

December 9, 2011

Operation Nightwatch has been wonderful to us at OHSU. We can call and ask them to come later or earlier than our usual time, and they always find a way to make it work. The people who pick up our donations are always wonderful as well. I am glad we chose them over 2 years ago. It has been great!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 9, 2011

more

December 9, 2011

A really great non-profit that focuses on the emotional (as well as physical) well-being of Portland's street population. I'm so happy that our cafe chose Operation Nightwatch for our weekly donations! Gary picks them up personally, and I always love to hear about all the fun activities they have planned for the upcoming weeks!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 8, 2011

more

December 8, 2011

I've been involved on the edges of Operation Nightwatch for several years. Operation Nightwatch is high on my list of organizations to support because its guests are welcomed with dignity and true hospitality.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 15, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 15, 2011

Operation Nightwatch seems to continuously adappted its resources to match the best possible service to less "and somewhat non-" adavantaged folks in Portland.
For instance it has developed from a drop in center which served coffee within a short area of a daily used office to moving to
accomodate the loss of its drop in center to a very large area which still is a drop in center, and has now other complementary services to allow congenial accepting persons to help the area's clientel to cope with some problems of personal development.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing some of the clients develop themselves with the help of other service agencies. Other service agencies would probably not have been involved without the prior internal growth of the client in an accepting environement that was open and welcoming each time the client showed up.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

publisize the advances of some of its clients over the years and how changes were assisted by NightWatch's presence.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Spend an evening playing a game of Scrabble, chess, or Apples to Apples with guests at our Hospitality Center. Volunteer