Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
81 Reviews
1234.790125
Write A Review
October 9, 2012

more

October 9, 2012

This is a naive group that is unintentionally causing harm in the community. They have not addressed the design flaw whereby they attract both dangerous men and naive volunteers who are told that all they need is a smile. Their volunteer Nikki Powell was raped and murdered by a ON client and lay decomposing in her apartment for three full weeks with no family or fellow volunteers to check on her disappearance. The same homeless men who knew that sex offender Mark Beebout had moved on Nikki are at ON- you can meet them yourself. This group's extreme "turn the other cheek" approach puts volunteers at risk- along with lax security.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 2, 2012

more

October 2, 2012

I have had the opportunity to see operation nightwatch in action from an outsiders perspective. Operation nightwatch has an outreach vehicle that parks every Friday night at one of the local neighborhoods that has several homeless and low income families. They serve a meal and provide warm clothing when available. Even in the heart of winter, with the cold and rain, the volunteers set up the hospitality vehicle and put out canopies, tables and chairs (and heater) so that those less fortunate have something warm to eat. I started hanging out and meeting many of the people who come regularly. These folks really appreciate this weekly service.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This charity serves a population that includes some very dangerous sex offenders. One of the female volunteers was murdered on July 4, 2012 by a manipulative psychopath named Mark Beebout. Until Operation Nightwatch starts screening the "clients" or the volunteers better, there is a real risk that another volunteer will be harmed. The leader of the organization seems unwilling to take a realistic look at the potential harm he brings to Portland by enabling and attracting the homeless criminals that mix into the general homeless population. There is apparently lax security.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 6, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
August 6, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

The Night Watch helps prevent neighborhood crimes in evening and make downtown Portland attractive for nightlife and dining by helping remove homeless from sidewalks where there may be begging and accosting diners and shoppers, and instead control them in a carefully supervised environment.

From what I understand however there is no or little if any accountability there. There is no case management, intake or any methods to keep the homeless accountable in their recovery from addiction and antisocial behaviors. It thus attracts a lot of chronic cases for years and years. Nevertheless we as residents and business owners of downtown Portland are happy to know that there is Night Watch that keeps eyes on the worst of the worst bums so we do not have to deal with them. It's kind of like having a babysitter. Please support this charity as without Night Watch all hell will break loose.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

public safety

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

track every homeless and make sure no one becomes chronic.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

How did you learn about this organization?

Pacific Patrol Service

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 13, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 13, 2011

Nightwatch provides a warm caring place for those who are homeless or underhoused . Warm Drinks ,Food, Clothing and a safe social environment can be enjoyed by anyone. The Director, Gary, was kind to help me establish an email account. Thank You very much! n

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Staying safe and warm.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to have showers available.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Spend an evening playing a game of Scrabble, chess, or Apples to Apples with guests at our Hospitality Center. Volunteer