Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
81 Reviews
1234.790125
Write A Review
August 14, 2013

more

August 14, 2013

Operation Nightwatch provides such a valuable resource for the community. If you have never been there, I encourage you to go. You will not regret it. I had the good fortune to walk in there a few years ago. Talk about a lifelong impact. As a professional and a advocate for the homeless, I am in awe of all that Nightwatch is and provides. Do yourself a favor, volunteer, donate, refer someone you see on the streets to take advantage of this amazing nonprofit.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

October 2, 2012

more

October 2, 2012

As a professional social worker and a volunteer, I am proud and very grateful that Operation Nightwatch exists. It provides so much more than a place for people to go for a couple of hours per night. It provides hope, compassion and conversation. For anyone who has not been to Nightwatch, you are missing out and owe yourself the opportunity to truly see the important work that this program provides. I am honored to be a part of Nightwatch and will always support this wonderful program!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 9, 2011

more

December 9, 2011

I first had that opportunity to volunteer at Nightwatch three years ago as a student and I continue to volunteer to this day. Nightwatch is so much to so many people. What makes it so amazing is difficult to describe but easily seen if you have the opportunity to visit. Rather it be the smiles on peoples faces, the chatter in the corner, the vision of groups of people playing scrabble or seeing a person be able to sit down and feel safe for the first time in the day. As a social worker in the field, Nightwatch is to me an inspiration, it gives me hope and reminds me why I got into this field in the first place. Nightwatch does what many nonprofits don't do, they let people be themselves and allow for a clean and safe place to socialize with other people. Very few if any places exist that just allow people to be themselves and to come as they are. If it wasn't for Nightwatch so many people would not have the opportunity to do what so many of us take for granted, the ability to socialize other people and to be treated like a person instead of a nuisance. I honor Nightwatch and what they do, they run flawlessly and on a shoestring budget. Nightwatch is very well deserved of some assistance as they provide so much to so many.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 23, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 23, 2011

I have worked many years in community services. I have a graduate degree in social work and have also participated as a chaplain. I came to Nightwatch as a friend of young musicians who Nightwatch welcomed to contribute to the program of the evening. They and I also participated in the food serving and mingling with the people who came.


Through the evening, I had the privilege of watching Roger and his associates as they led in the nightwatch program. Roger as the leader of this organization could not have a better approach. He treats each person with dignity and respect and each individual who comes are obviously encouraged by his kindness, warmth and family/fatherly mentoring. He is a beautiful role model for his staff and they all follow his example. The homeless have come to feel that this is their family, that this is their home. Many of them stay as long as possible, reluctant to leave. The food is always home-made and they can have as many refills as they want. Roger leads a calm, beautiful spiritual service, giving it as much care and thought as if he was speaking to a crowd of the elite because that his how he perceives the people who come. He and his staff treat all the people they serve as "elite" and they obviously feel respected. I was amazed and awed by what I saw!!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Observing the relaxed comfort and appreciation of the homeless as they come to the weekend services that provide them with a safe, warm, welcoming environment, home prepared food, spiritual encouragement, opportunity for social interaction and mentoring by the profoundly compassionate staff. Those homeless who are served by this organization have come to see this place as their home and the staff as their family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide them with a permanent place of their own and resources so their costs are covered. All of the services are extremely well run with long term committment over many years so the homeless have a stable, dependable home to come to! Roger and his family and staff have given many years to Nightwatch and that predictable stability is well worth our support!

December 31, 2010

more

December 31, 2010

I had heard of Operation Nightwatch (ONW) when I first was called as Priest-in-charge of a Downtown Episcopal Parish in Portland. Members of our community have been making sandwiches every Wednesday to give them to Operation Nightwatch for their hospitality center guests. Just a few months ago, this fine organization had the rug pulled out from under them when the space they had be renting for their ministry was discontinued. St. Stephen's has always had a connection with ministry to those in our city who find themselves without a roof over their heads. ONW was offered office and hospitality space in our facility and it has been a wonderful experince of us; and I hope for them. Our building is bustleing with a ministry of hospitality and the good news of God's presence in all of our lives when we do what God has asked us to do; to feed the hungry, clothe the naked and provide shelter to those without. I am deeply impressed with the folks who run this organization as well as those who serve as volunteers and those who come looking for a hand of friendship in an otherwise friendless world. Well Done ONW!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The way the guests who expereince the hospitality of ONW and are able to connect it to the Good News (or Gospel) giving them a renewed sense of thier dignity as a child of God. Some of the guests have come into our lives as a faith community and that has been a rare and wonderful gift.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them to find a way to expand the services they offer to more nights in the week.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Spend an evening playing a game of Scrabble, chess, or Apples to Apples with guests at our Hospitality Center. Volunteer