Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
81 Reviews
1234.790125
Write A Review
October 27, 2013

more

October 27, 2013

I'm a fairly new volunteer with ONW at the downtown location. I was drawn to offer my time as a retired RN at the Sat foot clinic which was just a few hours a month but I wanted to give more time. I was able to offer my RN skills in the evenings as well since they lost their MA volunteer. Because I'm a trained Massage Therapist I offered that as well.
This is a truly non-judgemental and caring non-profit community that sees hospitality as a right and gift for all involved. I try to offer 5-6 chair massages Thurs and Fri while giving basic first-aide and assessments when needed. After a month the feedback has been good by our clients. A true place of hospitality.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have others in the city realize how extra-ordinary the homeless community is and how they are us but for the vagaries of life. You can make a difference by your presence.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

I AM A VOLUNTEER IN NORTH PORTLAND WORKING WITH NIGHTWATCH PORTLAND. NIGHTWATCH COMES TO OUR CHURCH WITH THEIR RV MOBILE UNIT AND WORKS WITH OUR COMMUNITY OF NEEDY AND HOMELESS. IT HAS BEEN VERY BENEFICIAL, TO NOT ONLY THOSE SERVED, BUT ALSO ALL VOLUNTEERS WORKING WITH THEM. I PERSONALLY HAVE FOUND THE VERY FRIENDLY REPRESENTATIVE TO BE HELPFUL TO ME. THE RULES WE ALL LIVE BY ARE HELPFUL IN MY OWN LIFE AND RELATIONSHIPS AND HAVE HELPED ME OUT OF SOME PROBLEMS AND AVOID HEARTACHES. I FEEL THE NIGHTWATCH ORGANIZATION IS SERVING A VERY NEEDFUL AREAS OF HUMAN NEED AND IS VERY EFFECTIVE IN HOW THEY CONDUCT THAT SERVICE.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

ENCOURAGE MORE TIME SPENT ON THE UNDERSTANDING OF THE VOLUNTEER RULES AND BYLAWS OF THE ORGANIZATION. WHEN USED PROPERLY WITH UNDERSTANDING THEY SAVE A LOT OF HEARTACHE AND TROUBLE, NOT ONLY IN WORKING WITH NIGHTWATCH, BUT IN EVERYDAY LIFE RELATING TO OTHERS.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 17, 2013

more

September 17, 2013

Nightwatch is a wonderful place not only for the guest, but also for the volunteer. It gives a space that allows for the breakdown of the barrier between homeless people and those more fortunate. It provided an opportunity for me to learn more about the realities of living on the street, and gave me tools to help understand all people with more grace and dignity.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 14, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 22, 2011

I have been involved with Operation Nightwatch-Portland for at least 25 years as both an evening volunteer, bookkeeper, and foot care ministry helping my wife who does the foot care ministry. I have ... more

April 14, 2013

I do footcare for the guests of Operation Nightwatch twice a month and have done so for 25 years. It is a very pleasent experience and I have made some very thouhgtful and considerate friends who are guests of Operation Nightwatch. I look forward to going to the center in Portland two Saturdays a month. The staff of Operation Nightwatch sees to my every need and treat the guests with great respect. If you would care to contact me to become a footcare nurse, contact Operation Nightwatch.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 22, 2011

I have been involved with Operation Nightwatch-Portland for at least 25 years as both an evening volunteer, bookkeeper, and foot care ministry helping my wife who does the foot care ministry. I have been and continue to be impressed with the way low-income and homeless people are treated with dignity and respect. No one is looked down on who comes to the center or the mobile hospitality center. All are welcome. We offer coffee, tea, water, sandwiches, comedy movie night, birthday night, and bible study times. The number of participants has increased each year that Operation Nightwatch-Portland has been in existance.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the way I have seen and heard from people at the center how they consider Operation Nightwatch-Portland to be the best at having a place in Portland, Oregon where homeless and low-income people can meet and share their lives and situations with their peers and volunteers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing. They have an executive director who is very good at seeing to the needs of guests.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Nothing!

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes, it showed me that we are all equal and want respect and to be treated with dignity.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Warm and worthy of the opportunity to serve.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

Operation Nightwatch is a vital part of the community providing a meal, clean socks and blankets to the lesser fortunate of the community. The RV has had the room in the back turned into a medical exam room which has been a need for those that don't have insurance and can't afford a Dr. visit. Cost of living has increased, property taxes rise as the value goes down. Non-profits like this are vital to the needs of the community just like showers and housing. Every little bit helps when huge cuts are being made.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

I used to pass homeless people on the street and walk faster, turn the other cheek and pretend not to notice, I now realize how wrong I was in doing so. Operation Nightwatch is a beautiful organization that works to fight social isolation among Portland's homeless population. We offer basic services for health, nutrition and hygiene, but most of all we offer our time. A majority of people living on the street have no one to talk to, no one to listen to problems and stories, and no one to just carry a decent conversation with. Nightwatch offers a safe and hospitable environment for those in need. I have been a volunteer for about six months and in this time I have learned so much about the power of kindness, hospitality, and a simple smile.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

This experience opened my eyes to how dehumanized the homeless have become to society. I never really thought about the homeless as people with a past, present, and future as we all are. I feel that we often people just label a person homeless with no other thoughts or consideration. Coming here has made me happy. Happy to make others happy, but also the enjoyment I gain from coming here is invaluable to me. I have made friends here and among them I feel I can be truly myself just as they are with me. Its a beautiful thing to share with someone.

October 17, 2012

more


1 previous review
November 8, 2011

I volunteered with Operation Nightwatch for some months while I was attending University in Portland. I became so close with the individuals that we hosted, that I am still in contact with many of the... more

October 17, 2012

I have volunteered at Operation Nightwatch on and off for about two years. Operation Nightwatch offers something much more than simply food, coffee, socks, blankets, hygiene products, etc; they offer a warm, safe environment where people can meet, talk, play games, and rest. For most people living outside, this chance to feel warm and safe, seen and heard, is incredibly valuable. Operation Nightwatch is an amazing organization, and the friendships I have made there are deep and long-lasting.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Volunteering at Nightwatch broke through stereotypes and stigmas that I didn't even know I had. It broke through everything I thought I knew about homelessness and showed me the truth. Each individual that I have interacted with at Nightwatch has taught me something, each time I have learned something new. I hope that I have also been able to reach people there as much as they have been able to reach me.

November 8, 2011

I volunteered with Operation Nightwatch for some months while I was attending University in Portland. I became so close with the individuals that we hosted, that I am still in contact with many of them today, even though I am now living in Sweden. The people that I met at Operation Nightwatch have affected my life in many deep and profound ways, and I am eternally grateful and honored to know them. Operation Nightwatch is a wonderful organization that has a beautiful balance of service and friendship.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 16, 2012

more


1 previous review
February 24, 2011

we occasionally go the the Sunday eve service and bring a meal. It is a wonderful service. more

October 16, 2012

This is a warm caring place for people to come. We go on Sunday afternoon for the service and bring a meal to share afterward.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 24, 2011

we occasionally go the the Sunday eve service and bring a meal. It is a wonderful service.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The participants seem to take this service and the communion as a real gift

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

more money to fund more outreach programs

October 3, 2012

more

October 3, 2012

I had the opportunity to volunteer at Operation Nightwatch recently with my Mom, who is a volunteer homeless advocate in Los Angeles. We were both impressed with the idea behind Operation Nightwatch, as well as how it was carried out. We both visited a number of other agencies serving the homeless that same day & commented on how much interaction there was between volunteers & guests, how relaxed & calm guests were invited to be, the freedom they had to engage in different conversations and board games & come and go as they wished. There seemed to be an effortlessness in how the night's activities were run; while many other organizations passed out food, socks, toiletries & other goods, guests seemed to know they were there to be served & needn't hurry or be demanding in order to have their needs met. Operation Nightwatch does just that - attentively, respectfully & compassionately attend to eager guests. Nowhere else in the city did I see quite this level of welcome.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 3, 2012

more

October 3, 2012

My friend and I have volunteered for about 10 years @ Operation Nightwatch. Through this organization we have socialized with people who are homeless @ holiday parties, picnics and Friday evening gatherings. We enjoy every aspect of our time with the people served by Operation Nightwatch from serving sandwiches/snacks/coffee to providing toiletries/socks/blankets. We get to know the people served better by playing games/cards with them as we visit. The communication with the directors and coordinators has been outstanding via email and personal contacts! Portland, Oregon is a better place because of Operation Nightwatch offering an opportunity for citizens to gather and gain a greater understanding of each other. It goes without saying we would not have continued volunteering over the years if we did not believe in Operation Nightwatch.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Spend an evening playing a game of Scrabble, chess, or Apples to Apples with guests at our Hospitality Center. Volunteer