Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
81 Reviews
1234.790125
Write A Review
October 2, 2012

more

October 2, 2012

This group provides a safe setting for people who just need to get off the street for a bit. They provide food, a comfortable dry space and acceptance. The visitors can play games, chat, or even just sleep.They are very clear about not exchanging personal information between volunteers and clients and even require attendance at a training session to explain why this is important. The director works very hard to make this place comfortable and safe for both clients and volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 2, 2012

more

October 2, 2012

I have had the opportunity to see operation nightwatch in action from an outsiders perspective. Operation nightwatch has an outreach vehicle that parks every Friday night at one of the local neighborhoods that has several homeless and low income families. They serve a meal and provide warm clothing when available. Even in the heart of winter, with the cold and rain, the volunteers set up the hospitality vehicle and put out canopies, tables and chairs (and heater) so that those less fortunate have something warm to eat. I started hanging out and meeting many of the people who come regularly. These folks really appreciate this weekly service.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 2, 2012

more


2 previous reviews - show all
November 21, 2011

I discovered Operation Nightwatch about 10 years ago, shortly after moving to Portland from the Midwest. Since then I've been a regular "first Friday" volunteer. I was about to say that this is 'one... more

October 2, 2012

I discovered Operation Nightwatch about 10 years ago, shortly after moving to Portland from the Midwest. Since then I've been a regular "first Friday" volunteer. I was about to say that this is 'one of the truly unselfish things' that I do...but then I realized that I get so much back in return from serving the guests that come each evening, I can hardly make that claim.

Operation Nightwatch puts a face on homelessness. Each evening I talk with guests whose lives have taken some awful turns. Some I see every month; and they have become friends. Volunteering here reveals an additional dimension of diversity that I would not experience any other way.

I support this ministry financially as well because I know it is run on a shoestring, and most of money goes to doing good for those we serve. And, because I'm involved as a volunteer, I get to see those dollars doing good every day.

Some say this population of people needs to be pushed toward goals and specific outcomes, like getting a home or finding a job. Nightwatch has different, yet very powerful focus: Building Community and Self Respect! As a student of psychology, I'd label what we offer as the "Carl Rogers approach" to emotional health. When we listen to and affirm others, their inner strength grows. How many of the guests who pass through our doors have moved on to better lives (and have been able to tackle the larger challenges in their lives) because of the self respect that grew from seeds planted and nurtured each evening playing a games, sipping coffee, and just being a part of a safe and caring community.

THANK YOU Operation Nightwatch for making a difference for so many in Portland, and for the chance to know and love people that I'd otherwise look away from.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2011

I discovered Operation Nightwatch about 10 years ago, shortly after moving to Portland from the Midwest. Since then I've been a regular "first Friday" volunteer. I was about to say that this is 'one of the truly unselfish things' that I do...but then I realized that I get so much back in return from serving the guests that come each evening, I can hardly make that claim.

Operation Nightwatch puts a face on homelessness. Each evening I talk with guests whose lives have taken some awful turns. Some I see every month; and they have become friends. Volunteering here reveals an additional dimension of diversity that I would not experience any other way.

I support this ministry financially as well because I know it is run on a shoestring, and most of money goes to doing good for those we serve. And, because I'm involved as a volunteer, I get to see those dollars doing good every day.

Some say this population of people needs to be pushed toward goals and specific outcomes, like getting a home or finding a job. Nightwatch has different, yet very powerful focus: Building Community and Self Respect! As a student of psychology, I'd label what we offer as the "Carl Rogers approach" to emotional health. When we listen to and affirm others, their inner strength grows. How many of the guests who pass through our doors have moved on to better lives (and have been able to tackle the larger challenges in their lives) because of the self respect that grew from seeds planted and nurtured each evening playing a games, sipping coffee, and just being a part of a safe and caring community.

THANK YOU Operation Nightwatch for making a difference for so many in Portland, and for the chance to know and love people that I'd otherwise look away from.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 21, 2010

I discovered Operation Nightwatch about 10 years ago, shortly after moving to Portland from the Midwest. Since then I've been a regular "first Friday" volunteer. I was about to say that this is 'one of the truly unselfish things' that I do...but then I realized that I get so much back in return from serving the guests that come each evening, I can hardly make that claim.

Operation Nightwatch puts a face on homelessness. Each evening I talk with guests whose lives have taken some awful turns. Some I see every month; and they have become friends. Volunteering here reveals an additional dimension of diversity that I would not experience any other way.

I support this ministry financially as well because I know it is run on a shoestring, and most of money goes to doing good for those we serve. And, because I'm involved as a volunteer, I get to see those dollars doing good every day.

Some say this population of people needs to be pushed toward goals and specific outcomes, like getting a home or finding a job. Nightwatch has different, yet very powerful focus: Building Community and Self Respect! As a student of psychology, I'd label what we offer as the "Carl Rogers approach" to emotional health. When we listen to and affirm others, their inner strength grows. How many of the guests who pass through our doors have moved on to better lives (and have been able to tackle the larger challenges in their lives) because of the self respect that grew from seeds planted and nurtured each evening playing a games, sipping coffee, and just being a part of a safe and caring community.

THANK YOU Operation Nightwatch for making a difference for so many in Portland, and for the chance to know and love people that I'd otherwise look away from.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

See above for broad benefits to ME and the poplulation served. Beyond this: Portland streets are quieter at night because people have a place to go rather than "hanging out" on the street. People who feel loved/respected by someone outside their own circle feel less animosity and bitterness toward their larger community

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide more locations where people can gather. Homeless people have mobility challenges and many are too far away from the center. Just as there is a "Starbucks" in every neighborhood, maybe we need a Nightwatch in every corner of the city. Homelessness is not just a downtown issue.

October 2, 2012

more

October 2, 2012

Operation Nightwatch became a part of my life nine years ago. Since then, I have seen how important this ministry has become in the lives of people newly on the street or having spent a long time there. I now provide a weekly worship and weekly bible study for our folks and find them to be some of the most caring and spiritual people I have ever met. In addition to sharing with each other, they share their meager resources through a weekly offering that supports local food pantries as well as global charities that provide assistance after earthquake, tsunami and hurricane devastation. The success stories of people who have turned away from addictions, who have stayed out of prison, who have gotten into housing and back into employment are too numerous to mention. They mostly will not make the news, but we who volunteer know them very well. It all begins with hospitality and relationship building. No one does it better than Operation Nightwatch.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This charity serves a population that includes some very dangerous sex offenders. One of the female volunteers was murdered on July 4, 2012 by a manipulative psychopath named Mark Beebout. Until Operation Nightwatch starts screening the "clients" or the volunteers better, there is a real risk that another volunteer will be harmed. The leader of the organization seems unwilling to take a realistic look at the potential harm he brings to Portland by enabling and attracting the homeless criminals that mix into the general homeless population. There is apparently lax security.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 15, 2012

more

February 15, 2012

I have regularly volunteered at Operation Nightwatch since 1993 and served on its Board of Directors since 2003. Our focus at Nightwatch is on hospitality for persons experiencing poverty and homelessness. We operate in the evening when most other social service agencies are closed. For all who are involved in Nightwatch, hospitality is both a means and an end. It is a means insofar as basic respect and caring can help give the people we serve, our guests, renewed strength and self confidence without which they cannot hope to address the condition of their lives. It is an end in itself because it affirms a sense of community and mutual caring that enriches human life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 9, 2011

more

December 9, 2011

Operation Nightwatch has been wonderful to us at OHSU. We can call and ask them to come later or earlier than our usual time, and they always find a way to make it work. The people who pick up our donations are always wonderful as well. I am glad we chose them over 2 years ago. It has been great!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 9, 2011

more

December 9, 2011

A really great non-profit that focuses on the emotional (as well as physical) well-being of Portland's street population. I'm so happy that our cafe chose Operation Nightwatch for our weekly donations! Gary picks them up personally, and I always love to hear about all the fun activities they have planned for the upcoming weeks!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 9, 2011

more

December 9, 2011

I first had that opportunity to volunteer at Nightwatch three years ago as a student and I continue to volunteer to this day. Nightwatch is so much to so many people. What makes it so amazing is difficult to describe but easily seen if you have the opportunity to visit. Rather it be the smiles on peoples faces, the chatter in the corner, the vision of groups of people playing scrabble or seeing a person be able to sit down and feel safe for the first time in the day. As a social worker in the field, Nightwatch is to me an inspiration, it gives me hope and reminds me why I got into this field in the first place. Nightwatch does what many nonprofits don't do, they let people be themselves and allow for a clean and safe place to socialize with other people. Very few if any places exist that just allow people to be themselves and to come as they are. If it wasn't for Nightwatch so many people would not have the opportunity to do what so many of us take for granted, the ability to socialize other people and to be treated like a person instead of a nuisance. I honor Nightwatch and what they do, they run flawlessly and on a shoestring budget. Nightwatch is very well deserved of some assistance as they provide so much to so many.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 8, 2011

more

December 8, 2011

Operation Nightwatch, led by Gary Davis, is an excellent program providing hospitality to people that need it. Gary's vision of hospitality has created something truly unique and important.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Spend an evening playing a game of Scrabble, chess, or Apples to Apples with guests at our Hospitality Center. Volunteer