Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
81 Reviews
1234.790125
Write A Review
October 17, 2012

more


1 previous review
November 8, 2011

I volunteered with Operation Nightwatch for some months while I was attending University in Portland. I became so close with the individuals that we hosted, that I am still in contact with many of the... more

October 17, 2012

I have volunteered at Operation Nightwatch on and off for about two years. Operation Nightwatch offers something much more than simply food, coffee, socks, blankets, hygiene products, etc; they offer a warm, safe environment where people can meet, talk, play games, and rest. For most people living outside, this chance to feel warm and safe, seen and heard, is incredibly valuable. Operation Nightwatch is an amazing organization, and the friendships I have made there are deep and long-lasting.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Volunteering at Nightwatch broke through stereotypes and stigmas that I didn't even know I had. It broke through everything I thought I knew about homelessness and showed me the truth. Each individual that I have interacted with at Nightwatch has taught me something, each time I have learned something new. I hope that I have also been able to reach people there as much as they have been able to reach me.

November 8, 2011

I volunteered with Operation Nightwatch for some months while I was attending University in Portland. I became so close with the individuals that we hosted, that I am still in contact with many of them today, even though I am now living in Sweden. The people that I met at Operation Nightwatch have affected my life in many deep and profound ways, and I am eternally grateful and honored to know them. Operation Nightwatch is a wonderful organization that has a beautiful balance of service and friendship.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 16, 2012

more


1 previous review
February 24, 2011

we occasionally go the the Sunday eve service and bring a meal. It is a wonderful service. more

October 16, 2012

This is a warm caring place for people to come. We go on Sunday afternoon for the service and bring a meal to share afterward.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 24, 2011

we occasionally go the the Sunday eve service and bring a meal. It is a wonderful service.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The participants seem to take this service and the communion as a real gift

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

more money to fund more outreach programs

October 9, 2012

more

October 9, 2012

This is a naive group that is unintentionally causing harm in the community. They have not addressed the design flaw whereby they attract both dangerous men and naive volunteers who are told that all they need is a smile. Their volunteer Nikki Powell was raped and murdered by a ON client and lay decomposing in her apartment for three full weeks with no family or fellow volunteers to check on her disappearance. The same homeless men who knew that sex offender Mark Beebout had moved on Nikki are at ON- you can meet them yourself. This group's extreme "turn the other cheek" approach puts volunteers at risk- along with lax security.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 3, 2012

more

October 3, 2012

I had the opportunity to volunteer at Operation Nightwatch recently with my Mom, who is a volunteer homeless advocate in Los Angeles. We were both impressed with the idea behind Operation Nightwatch, as well as how it was carried out. We both visited a number of other agencies serving the homeless that same day & commented on how much interaction there was between volunteers & guests, how relaxed & calm guests were invited to be, the freedom they had to engage in different conversations and board games & come and go as they wished. There seemed to be an effortlessness in how the night's activities were run; while many other organizations passed out food, socks, toiletries & other goods, guests seemed to know they were there to be served & needn't hurry or be demanding in order to have their needs met. Operation Nightwatch does just that - attentively, respectfully & compassionately attend to eager guests. Nowhere else in the city did I see quite this level of welcome.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 3, 2012

more

October 3, 2012

My friend and I have volunteered for about 10 years @ Operation Nightwatch. Through this organization we have socialized with people who are homeless @ holiday parties, picnics and Friday evening gatherings. We enjoy every aspect of our time with the people served by Operation Nightwatch from serving sandwiches/snacks/coffee to providing toiletries/socks/blankets. We get to know the people served better by playing games/cards with them as we visit. The communication with the directors and coordinators has been outstanding via email and personal contacts! Portland, Oregon is a better place because of Operation Nightwatch offering an opportunity for citizens to gather and gain a greater understanding of each other. It goes without saying we would not have continued volunteering over the years if we did not believe in Operation Nightwatch.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 2, 2012

more

October 2, 2012

Operation Nightwatch meets a very real need for many people. Their stories could belong to any one of us given different circumstances. Through genuine caring and dedication, this organization offers a safe and welcoming environment for fellowship and a sense of belonging. It provides clear rules and standards for guests and volunteers alike which, if followed, insure safety for all. I have seen over many years the positive impact Operation Nightwatch has had on the folks who attend. For some, this community has been life-changing. A friend once observed as he offered help to a "homeless" man: How can I be sure this isn't God himself. Therefore, "even as you did to the least of these, you did also to me...” (Matt. 25:40)

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 2, 2012

more

October 2, 2012

As a professional social worker and a volunteer, I am proud and very grateful that Operation Nightwatch exists. It provides so much more than a place for people to go for a couple of hours per night. It provides hope, compassion and conversation. For anyone who has not been to Nightwatch, you are missing out and owe yourself the opportunity to truly see the important work that this program provides. I am honored to be a part of Nightwatch and will always support this wonderful program!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 2, 2012

more

October 2, 2012

My husband and I have volunteered at Operation Nightwatch for 15 years. We have had wonderful conversations and experiences with our guests. We have served sandwiches, cookies, coffee and offered the hospitality that ALL people deserve - no exceptions! We have had a great experience which is why we continue to volunteer each month. The rewards we feel far surpass the effort it takes to commit an evening for such important work. We believe that love and respect for our neighbors makes a stronger caring community. We practice radical hospitality, and it is an easy stretch! With open hearts and minds, Bonnie and Larry

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 2, 2012

more


1 previous review
February 14, 2011

I have been volunteering at Operation Nightwatch, as a hspitality mininster, for 4 years now. It is an amazing ministry to the homeless in Portland and serving has been hugely rewarding, a true bless... more

October 2, 2012

As a 5 year volunteer at ONW, I can honestly say that I have been really blessed to serve as a hospitality minister to Portland's homeless. The unique vision to offer a sense of belonging, a home so to speak, is amazing to be a part of, as I see positive change in the lives of people who many write of as garbage. I feel absolutely safe and appreciated at ONW, but take very seriously our boundary rules not to form outside relationships with guests. As with anywhere, in a world where evil exists, we all need to find balance with compassion and common sense regarding safety, and make wise choices. As heart wrenching and tragic Niki's murder is, she acted unwisely and in clear violation of the boundaries set up to protect us. I pray Mark will be held accountable and for comfort for her family, as well as for the other volunteers to make better boundary choices, myself included. Nightwatch serves real need in our city in a very positive way; I highly recommend volunteering to experience it for yourself!!:)

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My increase in compassion for those living without homes, seeing firsthand the hope and positive change that happens just by caring; this goes beyond meeting practical needs such as handing out blankets and sandwiches; it heals the soul

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Offer more hygiene opportunities such as showers :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Have met many cool people, been stretched in my comfort zone in awesome ways, seen the power of Jesus as we love the unlovable :)!!

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Blessed!!! And useful...

February 14, 2011

I have been volunteering at Operation Nightwatch, as a hspitality mininster, for 4 years now. It is an amazing ministry to the homeless in Portland and serving has been hugely rewarding, a true blessing for me as well. The unique vision of Nightwatch, focusing on community building, is wonderful. The guests and volunteers have truly become family to one another, and i am amazed at the ways this has broken barriers and led to deepened sense of self worth and belonging. The "gift" of acceptance and grace that we extend is a great complement to other focused rehab programs that some of our guests attend, and provides a safe space for those that are beyond realistic hope of reintegration. In serving Jesus in this way, I have personally been stretched and enriched in beautiful ways. I look forward to years of conintued involvement with nightwatch-and I can't say enough about our amazing director Gary Davis; his dedication is truly sacrificial, and all of our volunteers!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing transformation in both the guests and volunteers who serve

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing comes to mind!!

October 2, 2012

more

October 2, 2012

Operation Nightwatch is a wonderful organization. My husband and I know the leaders, and have provided and served meals. There is not enough good that we can say about the work that they do. They form relationships with people: like friends, like family, like what most of us take for granted. The great majority of the people served are people just like us-less money, less possessions, and somewhere, somehow, their lives took a different turn, BUT as relationships are formed it is revealing to find how many are educated, wise, sensitive, with the same needs for human connection that we all have. A "bad" apple might be found in many bushels, but believe us that is the exception, not the rule.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Spend an evening playing a game of Scrabble, chess, or Apples to Apples with guests at our Hospitality Center. Volunteer