Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
September 21, 2014

more

September 21, 2014

Karon Carley has worked with the Operations Interdependence since knowing her for about
4 years and she is very dedicated to this organization traveling the country for products to
send over seas to our troops. She also works with our Local Patriot Guard Riders for
lending a hand a
various stops on our Poker Runs to raise funds for her organization.
She is not only an asset to the Operation Interdependence but to the community also.

Art(groady) Edwards
Western Slope Assist State Capt
Colo PGR
September 20, 2014

more

September 20, 2014

My family has supported Operation Interdependence for about 4 years now. It is an honest and dedicated organization, supporting our military personnel by sending care packages every month. I've enjoyed attending their packing meetings and participating in various types of fundraisers. Everyone who volunteers there are very nice and welcoming, but most notably, it is the vision and tireless effort by Karon Carley, that this organization continues its work day in day out.
September 20, 2014

more

September 20, 2014

WE HAVE SUPPORTED THIS ORGANIZATION FOR SEVERAL YEARS AND FIND THEM HONEST, RELIABALE AND DEDICATED TO SENDING PACKAGES, ETC., TO THE TROOPS EVERYWHERE. A GROUP IS ONLY AS GOOD AS IT'S LEADER AND AL AND KARON CARLEY ARE THE MOST DEDICATED WE KNOW. IT IS NOT EASY DOING FUNDRAISING, ETC., WITH SO MANY OTHER MILITARY GROUPS OUT THERE BUT THIS ONE HAS THE RIGHT LEADERS AND VOLUNTEERS WHO WORK HARD AT GETTING THE WORD OUT. NO SALARIES, NO PRAISE MANY TIMES BUT THEY CONTINUE FORGING AHEAD AND WILL CONTINUE WE ARE SURE. OI IS WORTHY OF YOUR CONSIDERATION AS A GROUP TO DONATE TO.
September 20, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 16, 2012

I have been a volunteer with Operation Interdependence in the Los Angeles center for six years. I pack C-Rats twice a week and one weekend a month. 50 baggies (or C-Rats) go in a box, so 50 service m... more

September 20, 2014

I am a volunteer. I volunteer at OI at the VA in North Hills, CA. This organization has given me the opportunity to support service members all over the world by writing letters, packing C-Rats, hosting packing parties, raising funds for postage and making sure that all those packages get shipped. We are all volunteers, but we are also a family. We laugh alot as we work together and enjoy the time we spend volunteering. Thanks for the opportunity to raise the morale of our military.
October 16, 2012

I have been a volunteer with Operation Interdependence in the Los Angeles center for six years. I pack C-Rats twice a week and one weekend a month. 50 baggies (or C-Rats) go in a box, so 50 service members receive a letter from a caring civilian, some candy and personal items and a boost in morale. With more volunteers and more donations from people, we could send even more goodies to our troops. Our center sends approximately 100 boxes each month. Thus, 5000 service members receive our support from this one center out of 11 throughout the United States. No one gets paid. We all volunteer. Every thing we use is donated and so is the money that is used for postage to send the boxes to FPO's and APO's.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2014

more

September 20, 2014

Operation Interdependence is an all voluntary organization that supports our military. We send letters and goodies overseas to our heroes that keep us free. These letters are read and reread and kept as a part of home. I have received thank you notes demonstrating their gratitude. OI has units throughout the U.S . I am from Gilroy, Ca.; we send 30 to 60 boxes a month . Our community is very helpful in donating items and postage money(@$500 to $700. a. month).
September 20, 2014

more


1 previous review
March 4, 2010

I have been a Volunteer and now a Manager for this national organization for 9 years. We are always amazed at how far we can make limited resources go. We can reach 50 deployed service members for ju... more

September 20, 2014

More than 12 years ago, My Husband and I took on the task of bringing Operation Interdependence to our local Los Angeles Area. Over time we have moved from my living room to 3,000 sq feet of donated space at a Veterans facility in North Hills, CA. Since then, my husband as passed away, but OI goes on with wonderful, dedicated volunteers who are committed to serving our deployed Service Members as well as well as our Vets that come to this facility for medical care and emotional and social support.

The volunteers of Operation Interdependence, Los Angeles are proud and grateful to have the opportunity to give back just a little service in return for all that our military has given to us through their service and sacrifice.

If you come to Los Angeles, please visit us and see how much we do with limited resources.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 4, 2010

I have been a Volunteer and now a Manager for this national organization for 9 years. We are always amazed at how far we can make limited resources go. We can reach 50 deployed service members for just $30 and some donated supplies. $3,000 will send 5,000 service members treats and good wishes from a grateful American people. and each one will receive a letter thanking them for their service and sacrifice. The letters we get back prove that a little goes a long way in keeping morale high in-theatre.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

All the letters of thanks we get prove that a small treats and a letter from a thankful civilian does so much to raise troop morale.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

The camaraderie experienced with all the volunteers who are committed to the mission of supporting the morale of our deployed military

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Kind, caring and committed to the mission

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Reach every deployed service member in every branch of service, every month for years.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 20, 2014

more

September 20, 2014

It has been an Honor to work with Karon Carly with Operation Interdependence. I have had the honor or meeting Karon in person some years ago when I came out to Grand Junction at one of their events and interviewed organizations as well as WWII Veterans. OI sent care packages to my son n law when he was deployed to Iraq and to my youngest brother when he was deployed to Afghanistan.
I encourage everybody to help OI in any way they can.
Bob Calvert, Founder
www.talkingwithheroes.com
www.thankyouforyourservice.us
August 2, 2014

more

August 2, 2014

I learned about O.I. through my Aunt several years ago who does a lot for them in California. I loved what she did so much that I contacted O.I. and started packing and shipping as well; but sadly had to stop due to family obligations. About a year later, after staying in touch with the National President, she contacted me to see about helping with Marketing and Promoting; which is what I currently do for the organization. I love what O.I does for the troops and hope to continue being apart of this wonderful organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 24, 2014

more

April 24, 2014

I joined OI over 10 years ago hoping to write notes to the troops. Became involved and soon became Colorado state manager. 5 years ago became National President. Volunteer with the greatest people in the nation. Ones who truly believe in supporting the troops.
As an update on the address the
national headquarters address is now 2695 Patterson Rd. #2-147 Grand Junction Co. 81506

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 4, 2011

more

September 4, 2011

I volunteer with the Houston, TX chapter and am amazed how much is accomplished each year by volunteers who are 3 years to 103 years old. It takes such little time to write a letter or pack a care package, "C-Rat®," but the impact of these small gifts on our troops is more than triple fold. It so sad to know that some of our soldiers never receive a letter or care package from home during their time in service. Furthermore, some of the items we send them are things they can't get either because they are unavailable in that country or there is no where but base to obtain supplies. We send them goodies (candy, jerky, razors, travel size shampoo, logic puzzles, cards, pens, etc.) in quart size bags which is easy for them to pack in their gear and take with them when they are away from base camp for hours or days. Above all, it is about the golden rule of, "treating others as you want to be treated." Who better to treat kindly than the men and women who daily secure our freedom?

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Meeting in person and through letters soldiers who received our C-Rats®. To hear their stories of how much of a positive impact the packages and our letters sent to them is very humbling.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get even MORE Volunteers! O.I. is 100% volunteer based. None of the national positions or local area managers receive a salary. It is all done through the giving hearts of volunteers. Volunteers are not just needed to write letters and pack C-Rats®, but to do clerical work, train other volunteers, coordinate fundraising for shipping costs, gather donations of goods for packing, and helping area mangers with administrative duties.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Can't think of one.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

It's a great, friendly environment to work in, and I walked away with a greater appreciation of our troops and the importance of supporting them. Boosting moral is so important because issues like post traumatic stress and multiple tours of duty just doesn't affect our soldiers but their families (especially their children) as well.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Humbled and proud to be an American

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

register on our site and the nearest location will contact you Volunteer