Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
March 30, 2014

more

March 30, 2014

I first learned about Operation Hope after Hurricane Sandy. I had recently retired and moved to Fairfield and was looking for someplace to focus my free time and energy. I heard they were in need of gift cards from department stores for people who had lost everything in the storm. When I dropped them off, I met the volunteer coordinator and offered to help in any way needed. I started off in the food pantry, putting together Thanksgiving baskets, and saw very quickly how much Operation Hope did for the people in this area and how appreciative the clients were for this support. Since then, I have volunteered at the front desk and various other fundraisers, and am constantly amazed at the dedication of the staff and counselors to their clients and the people who are in need of their services. The counselors are there for people in their lowest times and there to celebrate their brightest achievements. Operation Hope is committed to providing a safe haven for those who need it, food for those who are hungry, and resources for those who are affected by life's setbacks. I am proud to be associated as a volunteer with such a terrific organization.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 25, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
April 25, 2011

I'm a life long Fairfield resident and have seen first hand how Operation Hope grew over the last 25 years. They are an amazing group of people who have had a direct impact on the lives of so many people.

Their efforts change lives. In addition to helping individuals and families they
have included the whole community. So many Fairfield residents are involved with volunteering on so many different levels. This involvement allows our residents to feel a sense of ownership and pride in the good work Operation Hope provides.

Our town is proud to be home of Operation Hope!

Brenda L. Kupchick
State Representative, 132nd district Fairfield

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

In our two we can see the positive results every day.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I'd like to see them obtain more space so they could help more people.

April 20, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
April 20, 2011

In 1986 it became clear that people, without homes, were facing a harsh life on our streets. A genteel lady; a brilliant, addicted veteran; a sturdy, but jobless youth; and many others.
Town leaders, clergy and others opened eyes and hearts, and got to work. I am grateful to have been a part of
that early time for Operation Hope, as a Volunteer Director, former Board member and now available for any call.
The Operation Hope of today is the wide, effective embrace that supplies - Hope and security to the most vulnerable among us - food - shelter - affordable housing - job training - medical screening - learning life coping skills. OH is a strong, successful safety net for many. Only lack of funding keeps us from reaching further into the community.
Our staff and leaders are uniquely qualified and successful in serving our clients With improved funding our shelter can reach out to the long waiting list of needy seeking Hope.
The gains on every dollar received, in human terms? Immeasurable.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Operation Hope has been a part of my, and my family's life from the beginning. My husband volunteers at the food pantry for two hours every Monday, Wednesday and Friday. Keeps him young!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Actually, I would find ways to campaign more actively for an increase in grants and funding. That is where you come in.

April 20, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
April 20, 2011

Operation Hope was born 25 years ago, in a simple effort to give a few homeless men a place to sleep on cold nights. Since then, while the basic mission is unchanged, the reach of the organization has grown dramatically, to include not only a mens shelter, but one for women, families, a soup kitchen, and housing and training programs that seek to attack the causes, not just the symptoms, of people in need. Getting people back on their feet and working and having them NOT need the help is the goal.
Operation Hope is a beacon of light in our community, both to those in need and to volunteers, students and others who find joy in participating in this worthy endeavor. The staff of Operation Hope has boundless energy for work, assistance and ideas, while all eyes remain on the goal of ending the need to have this organization at all.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Serving on its board

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to have each person in our town feel like they owned just a piece this organizations mission as part of their daily life.

Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Cook and serve a meal for our Community Kitchen! Volunteer