Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
65 Reviews
1234.507695
| 1 ... 3 4 5 |
Write A Review
August 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
August 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

i really feel that OHF is a scam that someone is pocketing the money somewhere. We applied for assistance through them and met all the requirements but were denied for the reason that they give food donations to ACS and we should go there and get ONE bag of food to feed a family of five for two weeks. Our pay was messed up when my husband transitioned from a regular unit to a WTB . After speaking with workers at WTB and ACS they informed me that OHF was a scam for soldiers and that they have helped MANY soldiers apply and have NEVER gotten help from them. I will do what i can to get this information out and let people know NOT to donate to a company that only takes the money to cover overhead instead of helping soldiers that need the help. My husbands life is changed forever due to injuries recieved during deployment and then he comes home to another scammer claiming to help those in the military. BLAH !

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 22, 2012

There was a time where we had a family emergency and had to drive out of state to pick up my step-children. Because of the added expense we found ourselves in a financial bind and praying for the Lord to show us a way to receive the necessary help and viola, Operation Homefront was mentioned. I contacted them and they responded in less than 24 hours and we received the necessary assistance shortly there after. I could not believe how friendly, knowledgeable and efficiently they moved. It was a total blessing and I am so thankful that they were there to help us in our time of need!!! God bless them!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 22, 2012

We were screwed financially after a bunch of random expenses threw our budget for a loop. After the bills came out of my husbands check we only had about $28 to buy food for our family of 4 for 2 weeks. Mary Scott from operation homefront worked with us and we ended up getting approved for $200 in commissary vouchers. It literally saved our lives, as operation homefront has done for many of the military families in our area.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 20, 2012

I can't say enough Amazing things about this organization!! They have helped us so many times in the last 8 years, from Christmas donations, food and diaper distribution, medical assistance and now homes on the front! What a Blessing they have been in our lives and i'm so grateful for all they have done for my family and continue to for other military families.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012

well we were in a bind after getting my pregnant teen sister . Amber from operation home-front helped us with food assistance . she has also been a emotional support seeing how she related to me . my husband has a pride issue n never wants a hand out i never see it as a hand out but as a hand up as we were sinking in debit and emotionally. if i never talked to Amber i would have had a brake down . now their is food in the house and we can pay our bills i kno to most that may be small but to our family of 8 and one on the way it was huge helping hand they have away of making u feel ok and calm down when stressed thank you so much amber and OH for all your help i don't feel hopeless i am confident that things will get better

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 5, 2012

My husband was not working, we had just found out my son needed a medical treatment/procedure that would cost $2500, and (when it rains it pours) my car was in dire need of repair. I was struggling, juggling to balance the bills, groceries, and things that seemed to keep "popping up". I was in need of help. Even though I couldn't get the exact assistance I wanted (because I am the active duty member). The assistance I received was FANTASTIC. Everybody was so pleasent and helpful. I was able to recieve clothes for my two kids and groceries. It was so appreciated. At least that was one thing I didn't have to worry about and could focus on getting my son his medical care and getting my car fixed. Thank you so much Operation Homefront!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 18, 2012

Well, in a nutshell, our electricity was in jeopardy of being shut off. So no power, and no water. My husband was just medically retired almost 2 and a half years ago, and weve barely kept our head above water since then. We always pay our bills on time, but sometimes it wasnt always the full amount they were demanding because it was always a choice between, do I pay them this...or do I get more groceries. Do I pay them half, so I can get my kids the new underwear & socks they need, or pay them full and my kids will just have to understand and wait? Its been constant...We laid awake at night thinking about it, worrying had become my new full time job, as well as my husbands. We had pawned any and everything of value we had so we WOUDLNT have to ask for help, but I gave up, I ran out of ideas. Once I let my guard down, and the shame of this act of what I thought the OHF Reps would see as irresponsible out of my mind, I contacted them, and they was amazing. Totally professional, but relatable. Calm, when I sure as heck wasnt! And very direct, & to the point with what they could do to help me, and what they needed from me in order for them to do so. It gave me piece of mind, when I had none. My husband is leaving for his new job that is four hours away in another state, so now we have 30 days to move, and were really excited, but nervous at the same time. But were very thankful for OHF helping us pay our Electric Bill, so that we could have cool air on these strange yet VERY warm days & a nice warm shower for our kids that they always take the night before school. Its strange the things we all take for granted sometimes. Im so very thankful & grateful to Operation Homefront. And always will be.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

March 7, 2012

My husband is in Afghanistan and I am back home pregnant with our 4th child, living in a home we had recently purchased prior to deployment. Our basement was flooded by a back up of sewage on the cities side of things last month. A lot of sewage... It got into our brand new furnace and before breaking the furnace distributed it throughout the house. Lots of recoil because of this. The home was unlivable, but clean-up was unattainable due to such high cost as it was sewage. I felt like giving up. I felt like taking a loss on the house and letting us get foreclosed on in our first home 9 months in... But Operation Homefront stepped in and paid for the clean-up, and our Mortgage last month, as we had been spending our Mortgage money on hotels for 3 weeks, they also supplied us with gift cards to the commissary which helped me with diapers and food. They were all very understanding, and it was very difficult for me to take the help, even though I know we desperately needed it, I just always think someone else might be out there who needs it more... The thing is, we have families, and we need to think about our children and we need to think about our Husbands too. Like mine has been having a rough time of it over there, and for him to call me during this time and for me to be able to tell him not to worry, that Operation Homefront was going to take care of everything, that it would be okay, that we were going to get through it, I'm sure gave him a little peace of mind being that he can't come home right now. We would have been homeless without Operation Homefront. It was, honestly, a miracle.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 29, 2012

Being a Military Spouse Operation Homefront has helped me in so many ways. They provided my children with school supplies, and at Christmas we were honored with a food basket. But recently my Husband and I seperated and started our divorce. It has been rough I work full time and exhausted all of my savings finding a place for me and my daughter. I did not have enough money to buy food and gas to make it back and forth to work and her school and for a week I basicly lived off of crackers and whatever my daughter did not eat. I felt like I had no where to turn. My family being hundreds of miles away and My husband not helping me at all. I remembered how nice everyone had been over the past year at Operation Homefront so I filled out the application and they were so helpful. It was such a relief to know I could fed my child and myself. They treated me like I was a friend. And did not make me feel like a complete failure or look down on me for not being able to provide for myself or my child. Thank you so much for all that you do!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 10, 2012

more

February 10, 2012

I just medically retired and needed exhaust work for my 04 Silverado I contacted Operation Homefront and within a week my vehicle was repaired and i am able to make my VA appointments they were understanding, caring and worked with me all the through the process even talking to the repair shop I would encourage everyone to donate to this organization they help wounded warriors, vets, active duty and families i will donate as soon as i am financially able to. Please keep up the awesome work Operation Homefront

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers