Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Volunteering Oportunities

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Community & Neighborhood Development, Economic Development, Nonprofit Management, Philanthropy, Philanthropy, Charity & Voluntarism Promotion

Mission: Operation Homefront (OH) mission is to build strong, stable, and secure military families so they can thrive in the communities that they have worked so hard to protect.

Operation Homefront provides direct services to alleviate a military family’s or individual’s actual/complete emergency financial burden, as well as counseling and/or recovery support. Emergency financial assistance is in the form of checks paid directly to mortgage lenders, auto mechanics, contractors, hospitals, doctors, dentists and other providers. Other emergency funding assistance, which an applicant receives within 24 to 72 hours, includes the following:

  • Financial assistance
  • Emergency food
  • Emergency home repairs
  • Critical baby items: formula, food and diapers
  • Home and appliance repair
  • Furniture and household items
  • Local moving assistance
  • Community events
  • Wounded Warrior Transitional Family Housing

    Results: Since its inception, Operation Homefront has provided more than $128 million dollars of funding to programs to benefit military families.

    Direct beneficiaries per year: Last year, Operation Homefront provided $4.2 million in emergency assistance to 2,300 military, veteran and wounded warrior families.

    Programs: Operation homefront assists military families coping with deployment and injury recovery as they struggle with unforeseen budget challenges. The most common types of need are for rent/mortgage assistance, home repair, food and utilities. Transitional housing and permanent mortgage-free home programs help military families reduce debt and achieve greater stability for the future. Family support activities address the inherent challenges of military life through programs designed to sustain, uplift and transform.

Community Stories

52 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

Amanda78

Client Served

Rating: 5

my husband was injured in OEF, OIF in 2008 & again in 2010 on his knee. Well Jan. 15th 2013 our 3rd son had surgery on his skull at the age of 3 months! so we have been trying to catch up on other bills. Operation Homefront helped us pay some of our bills. they are by far the best none profit company to help military families of injured soldiers! Thank You Operation Homefront!!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

op_homefront 04/26/2013

Thank you for your service! It's our honor to step in and help when we can. We wish your family all the best and quick recovery and good health for your son!

Review from CharityNavigator

Client Served

Rating: 4

I am a disabled Iraq War Veteran. I received assistance from Operation Home Front, that prevented my house from being foreclosed. They also assisted me in auto repairs I desperately needed because I only have 1 vehicle to get around in. I am glad there are organizations out there like this to help Veterans. Thanks to everyone at Operation Home Front and God Bless each of you!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

op_homefront 04/26/2013

Thank you for sharing your story. We are honored to make a difference for families like yours who have given so much to serve our country. We are grateful to the people who give their time and dollars to make all of this possible.

Review from CharityNavigator

Patti K.

Client Served

Rating: 5

My husband is a combat disabled veteran who was injured by the enemy in 2007 while in Iraq. Operation Homefront and their donors have tremendously blessed our family with much needed home repairs. Thank you Operation Homefront and thank you to those who have donated to this wonderful organization. They are making a difference in the lives of our combat veterans and their family members.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

op_homefront 04/08/2013

Thanks for sharing your experience. We are honored to be able to help your family and are so grateful for your sacrifice in service to our country.

Review from CharityNavigator

Col AFW2

Client Served

Rating: 5

I'm a combat wounded warrior that has suffered from retaliation and harassment by senior leadership at DIA, AFRC, and AFDW with no consideration of the extent of trauma I've endured despite formal medical notification of the care I was under at WRNMMC-Bethesda. I know there are countless other wounded warriors that are bullied, even to the point of suicide, by leaders otherwise trained to "take care of their people." We're betrayed by the superficial effort of the Military Services despite a requirement from Congress for DoD to be proactive and address serious concerns and suicide rates. After I retired, callous bureaucrats went out of their way in an effort to deny me employment even after I was hand-picked for specific qualifications. My family had to endure financial hardship and the progress I made in treatment suffered a set back. I followed numerous leads and made hundreds of calls for support but only one organization actually took concrete measures to help lift me from the pain of neglect I experienced. That was Operation Homefront, who continued to think outside the box and look for creative ways to help my family. I will forever be grateful to them and refer other wounded warriors to it as a first option. There are many non-profit organizations that will simply refer you elsewhere and consider that as help but Operation Homefront is the one that took direct action to help me.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

op_homefront 02/27/2013

Thank you for your kind words and for serving our country. We are always honored to help whenever and wherever it's possible.

Review from CharityNavigator

Lindsey18

Client Served

Rating: 5

My husband and I recently had a son that was born with a very sever neurological disorder so we had to move into EFMP housing that is wheelchair accessible. We were only given a weeks notice that housing was available so we had little time to plan or save up for moving. My husband was injured 1.5 yrs ago and has had 3 knee surgeries since then so he was not able to help. Within 5 days OH had our moved approved and paid for. They made the whole situation a lot less stressful. I am very thankful to have received their help!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

op_homefront 02/25/2013

Thanks for sharing your experience. It's our honor to provide some relief so you can focus on your family! Thank you for your service! We wish all the best for you and your son!

Review from CharityNavigator

David138

Client Served

Rating: 5

When I was in Afghanistan I always tried to name someone my "hero of the day." I began to realize just how important the every day jobs are that everyone of us do (helicopter repair personnel, medics, etc.), so I wanted to be sure that these individuals were recognized. While at FT Drum I worked in the Family Life Center which was located in the Po Valley Chapel. Because our budget needed to go to more important things, we didn't have money to buy coins. I would make coins out of cardboard and "print them up" as the "Po Boy Coin of Excellence." Lisa & Operation Homefront are my Heros of the day and get an honorary Po Boy Coin of Excellence.
I've enjoyed my 33 years of service to this country. The past 8 years on Active Duty were rewarding, but at a great expense to myself and my family. Mobilized Reserve Soldiers are still fighting to be recognized and cared for at an equal rate as their active component peers. There is equal sacrifice, but unfortunately the compensation is not always equal. I'm still fighting for the medical care that I am authorized as well as for thousands of dollars of storage expenses that resulted from closing two offices (both mine & my wife's) so that I could be mobilized and shipped around the world. Your help at this time shines a light of hope into our lives as we continue to press on in the midst of struggles.
Thank you for all that you have done. Continue to take pride in serving this great Country. We have the best military services in the world!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

op_homefront 02/07/2013

We admire how you sought to encourage those around you and we'd love to see a picture of one of your coins. It's our honor to help families, like yours, that may need it from time to time.

Ashley43

Client Served

Rating: 5

We were having car problems and we needed food assistance and Heather was able to make it all happen!! I am so appreciative to Operation Homefront for the services that you guys provide and I am appreciative to Heather because she worked her butt off to help us get what we needed and I know I might have been a pain but she dealt with it!!! Thank you guys for eveything.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

op_homefront 02/02/2013

Thanks for sharing your experience. We are honored to help families like yours who serve our country!

Review from CharityNavigator

Client Served

Rating: 2

Although, I am grateful for the food assistance that we were given and Amy was absolutely wonderful and did what she could to help, I don't think it is fair that you were unable to help in other ways that we needed. My husband has been in USMC for 17 years and of that 17 years I have been with him for 15 of it. I was told because he wasn't hurt (but I am) that financial assistance would not be possible. We have lived on a two income budget for over 5 years. When a spouse of a service member gets injured and cannot work, it is just as detrimental to the family as if the service member was hurt himself. I was making almost $3000 a month and went to nothing a month when I was hurt November 7th. So, I have lost approximately $9000 of income. I used all of what we had saved for Christmas and bills that have had to be paid in the last 3 months of me being out of work. Instead of just saying that you couldn't help financially for our bills I was given information about financial counseling, which made me feel even worse about myself for not being able to be at work. I do not need financial counseling. I know how to pay my bills and I do on time every month. I never expected to get hurt. Our financial situation was under control and we still had money left over to put my kids into their after school activities that they so choose to do. I completely expected to have my disability money by now. However, still at this date I do not. I really do believe as an organization for military families you should take into consideration that the spouse of the military personal is just as beneficial to the family unit and when they are hurt bills still have to be paid. I would love to be able to say that I am a stay at home mom and my husband is the only source of income, but I am not. In this day and age I do not see a family with 3 children being able to have a stay at home parent anymore. I hope your organization will take this is consideration when someone else in my situation calls in for help. Please don't automatically assume they don't know how to deal with their finances. People do not expect to get injured. When I did not only did I become hurt physically I became emotionally hurt. I am use to doing almost everything for my family. It took me swallowing my pride to finally reach out to someone for help.

Review from CharityNavigator

Tammie A.

Client Served

Rating: 5

My car broke down and the repair bill was far beyond what we could afford. However it was our only vehicle and we have two special needs kids not to mention my Active Duty Husband. I had exhausted every option that I could think of, even tried to get loans to help. I was at my wits end and thought that the world was going to end. I knew about Operation Home Front and some of the ways that they help. I went to their web site with the intention on seeing what kind of assistance they offer. The application was so easy to understand and fill out, my 4 year old could have done it for me. I was quickly contacted by a representative. We went over the basics and why this was an emergency. It was a fast process and we were able to get our car repaired. To top it off, they went above my expectations, my registration and insurance expired while my car was in the shop. Operation Home Front knowing that I needed the car road ready) went ahead and got me insurance started, paid the registration but that was no biggie. Thank you Operation Home Front for being our Family's "Knight" in shining armour when we thought all hope was lost.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

op_homefront 01/28/2013

So glad the process went smoothly for you and that you are back on track! We are grateful for donors who allow us to help patriotic families like yours!

Review from CharityNavigator

Client Served

Rating: 5

Operation Homefront was amazing in helping me and my family. After the paper work was submitted, I had a call the very next day rep Rebecca of the DC chapter who went through my application with me and asked for additional documents. The next day I submitted the requested docs and that same day my application was approved and my rent was paid. The next month, since I had not started working, and although I thought I would be denied, I applied anyway. To my amazement, I was approved the day after all documents were submitted. We are able to keep our home today thanks to operation Homefront. My family and I will forever remain grateful. Thank you for what you do to us.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

op_homefront 01/28/2013

Thanks for sharing your experience. We are glad the process went smoothly for you.

Review from CharityNavigator