Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
65 Reviews
1234.507695
| 1 ... 4 5 67 |
Write A Review
April 5, 2012

My husband was not working, we had just found out my son needed a medical treatment/procedure that would cost $2500, and (when it rains it pours) my car was in dire need of repair. I was struggling, juggling to balance the bills, groceries, and things that seemed to keep "popping up". I was in need of help. Even though I couldn't get the exact assistance I wanted (because I am the active duty member). The assistance I received was FANTASTIC. Everybody was so pleasent and helpful. I was able to recieve clothes for my two kids and groceries. It was so appreciated. At least that was one thing I didn't have to worry about and could focus on getting my son his medical care and getting my car fixed. Thank you so much Operation Homefront!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 18, 2012

Well, in a nutshell, our electricity was in jeopardy of being shut off. So no power, and no water. My husband was just medically retired almost 2 and a half years ago, and weve barely kept our head above water since then. We always pay our bills on time, but sometimes it wasnt always the full amount they were demanding because it was always a choice between, do I pay them this...or do I get more groceries. Do I pay them half, so I can get my kids the new underwear & socks they need, or pay them full and my kids will just have to understand and wait? Its been constant...We laid awake at night thinking about it, worrying had become my new full time job, as well as my husbands. We had pawned any and everything of value we had so we WOUDLNT have to ask for help, but I gave up, I ran out of ideas. Once I let my guard down, and the shame of this act of what I thought the OHF Reps would see as irresponsible out of my mind, I contacted them, and they was amazing. Totally professional, but relatable. Calm, when I sure as heck wasnt! And very direct, & to the point with what they could do to help me, and what they needed from me in order for them to do so. It gave me piece of mind, when I had none. My husband is leaving for his new job that is four hours away in another state, so now we have 30 days to move, and were really excited, but nervous at the same time. But were very thankful for OHF helping us pay our Electric Bill, so that we could have cool air on these strange yet VERY warm days & a nice warm shower for our kids that they always take the night before school. Its strange the things we all take for granted sometimes. Im so very thankful & grateful to Operation Homefront. And always will be.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

March 7, 2012

My husband is in Afghanistan and I am back home pregnant with our 4th child, living in a home we had recently purchased prior to deployment. Our basement was flooded by a back up of sewage on the cities side of things last month. A lot of sewage... It got into our brand new furnace and before breaking the furnace distributed it throughout the house. Lots of recoil because of this. The home was unlivable, but clean-up was unattainable due to such high cost as it was sewage. I felt like giving up. I felt like taking a loss on the house and letting us get foreclosed on in our first home 9 months in... But Operation Homefront stepped in and paid for the clean-up, and our Mortgage last month, as we had been spending our Mortgage money on hotels for 3 weeks, they also supplied us with gift cards to the commissary which helped me with diapers and food. They were all very understanding, and it was very difficult for me to take the help, even though I know we desperately needed it, I just always think someone else might be out there who needs it more... The thing is, we have families, and we need to think about our children and we need to think about our Husbands too. Like mine has been having a rough time of it over there, and for him to call me during this time and for me to be able to tell him not to worry, that Operation Homefront was going to take care of everything, that it would be okay, that we were going to get through it, I'm sure gave him a little peace of mind being that he can't come home right now. We would have been homeless without Operation Homefront. It was, honestly, a miracle.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 29, 2012

Being a Military Spouse Operation Homefront has helped me in so many ways. They provided my children with school supplies, and at Christmas we were honored with a food basket. But recently my Husband and I seperated and started our divorce. It has been rough I work full time and exhausted all of my savings finding a place for me and my daughter. I did not have enough money to buy food and gas to make it back and forth to work and her school and for a week I basicly lived off of crackers and whatever my daughter did not eat. I felt like I had no where to turn. My family being hundreds of miles away and My husband not helping me at all. I remembered how nice everyone had been over the past year at Operation Homefront so I filled out the application and they were so helpful. It was such a relief to know I could fed my child and myself. They treated me like I was a friend. And did not make me feel like a complete failure or look down on me for not being able to provide for myself or my child. Thank you so much for all that you do!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 10, 2012

more

February 10, 2012

I just medically retired and needed exhaust work for my 04 Silverado I contacted Operation Homefront and within a week my vehicle was repaired and i am able to make my VA appointments they were understanding, caring and worked with me all the through the process even talking to the repair shop I would encourage everyone to donate to this organization they help wounded warriors, vets, active duty and families i will donate as soon as i am financially able to. Please keep up the awesome work Operation Homefront

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 27, 2011

more

December 27, 2011

Combination of grass roots fervor and systematized, organized operation that is an exemplary steward of donor funds. Meeting the needs that, while not so sexy, support sustainable families.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 13, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
December 13, 2011

Operation Homefront is by far one of the best charities serving military service members, wounded warriors and their families. Not only have they committed 94% of every dollar earned to programs benefiting military families, they have programs that truly make a difference in the lives of those they serve.

This is furthered by wonderful, dedicated staff, volunteers, and donors who often go above and beyond the call of duty in meeting the unique needs of those they serve. These people care and share a deep commitment to the military community to which they serve.

There’s a reason they have a top ratings; 4-Stars by Charity Navigator; •“A” Rating by the American Institute of Philanthropy’s Charity Watch; and •“A” Rating by the Better Business Bureau.

Hooray for Operation Homefront! ;

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 9, 2011

more

December 9, 2011

As a family member of a disabled veteran I have been overwhelmed by the kindness and generosity of Operation Homefront. The staff is absolutely amazing and they truely care about the hardships these vets have been through. The way this organization helps soldiers make the transition to every day life is nothing short of a God sent. Words can never describe how grateful we are for their help.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 1, 2011

Beware this Orginization they do not do all they claim, nor do they serve the greater disabled combat veterans however they collected over 24 million last year alone. They gave me and my family false hope they have done the same to other family's I have spoken with. This Organization needs reform or adjustment it leaves the majority of disabled combat vets un assisted not even with a paper list of other help, this charity is no good Stay away BEWARE!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 2, 2011

more

November 2, 2011

Operation Homefront is dedicated to service members ,wounded warriors and their families. I know that they have great impact on so many lives . I think that what they do for our services members is remarkable. Operation Homefront does a great job at showing service members how thankful we as a country are for their services and sacrifices.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have personally seen how many cases Operation Homefront deals with on a day to day basis. Even if Operation Homefront is unable to provide assistance to the service member they always refer the service member to other sources.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

there really isn't anything I would change

More feedback...

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I feel proud to be associated with Operation Homefront

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers