Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
65 Reviews
1234.507695
| 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
April 7, 2013

My husband is a combat disabled veteran who was injured by the enemy in 2007 while in Iraq. Operation Homefront and their donors have tremendously blessed our family with much needed home repairs. Thank you Operation Homefront and thank you to those who have donated to this wonderful organization. They are making a difference in the lives of our combat veterans and their family members.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 25, 2013

I'm a combat wounded warrior that has suffered from retaliation and harassment by senior leadership at DIA, AFRC, and AFDW with no consideration of the extent of trauma I've endured despite formal medical notification of the care I was under at WRNMMC-Bethesda. I know there are countless other wounded warriors that are bullied, even to the point of suicide, by leaders otherwise trained to "take care of their people." We're betrayed by the superficial effort of the Military Services despite a requirement from Congress for DoD to be proactive and address serious concerns and suicide rates. After I retired, callous bureaucrats went out of their way in an effort to deny me employment even after I was hand-picked for specific qualifications. My family had to endure financial hardship and the progress I made in treatment suffered a set back. I followed numerous leads and made hundreds of calls for support but only one organization actually took concrete measures to help lift me from the pain of neglect I experienced. That was Operation Homefront, who continued to think outside the box and look for creative ways to help my family. I will forever be grateful to them and refer other wounded warriors to it as a first option. There are many non-profit organizations that will simply refer you elsewhere and consider that as help but Operation Homefront is the one that took direct action to help me.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 25, 2013

My husband and I recently had a son that was born with a very sever neurological disorder so we had to move into EFMP housing that is wheelchair accessible. We were only given a weeks notice that housing was available so we had little time to plan or save up for moving. My husband was injured 1.5 yrs ago and has had 3 knee surgeries since then so he was not able to help. Within 5 days OH had our moved approved and paid for. They made the whole situation a lot less stressful. I am very thankful to have received their help!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 7, 2013

more

February 7, 2013

When I was in Afghanistan I always tried to name someone my "hero of the day." I began to realize just how important the every day jobs are that everyone of us do (helicopter repair personnel, medics, etc.), so I wanted to be sure that these individuals were recognized. While at FT Drum I worked in the Family Life Center which was located in the Po Valley Chapel. Because our budget needed to go to more important things, we didn't have money to buy coins. I would make coins out of cardboard and "print them up" as the "Po Boy Coin of Excellence." Lisa & Operation Homefront are my Heros of the day and get an honorary Po Boy Coin of Excellence.
I've enjoyed my 33 years of service to this country. The past 8 years on Active Duty were rewarding, but at a great expense to myself and my family. Mobilized Reserve Soldiers are still fighting to be recognized and cared for at an equal rate as their active component peers. There is equal sacrifice, but unfortunately the compensation is not always equal. I'm still fighting for the medical care that I am authorized as well as for thousands of dollars of storage expenses that resulted from closing two offices (both mine & my wife's) so that I could be mobilized and shipped around the world. Your help at this time shines a light of hope into our lives as we continue to press on in the midst of struggles.
Thank you for all that you have done. Continue to take pride in serving this great Country. We have the best military services in the world!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 1, 2013

We were having car problems and we needed food assistance and Heather was able to make it all happen!! I am so appreciative to Operation Homefront for the services that you guys provide and I am appreciative to Heather because she worked her butt off to help us get what we needed and I know I might have been a pain but she dealt with it!!! Thank you guys for eveything.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 29, 2013

Although, I am grateful for the food assistance that we were given and Amy was absolutely wonderful and did what she could to help, I don't think it is fair that you were unable to help in other ways that we needed. My husband has been in USMC for 17 years and of that 17 years I have been with him for 15 of it. I was told because he wasn't hurt (but I am) that financial assistance would not be possible. We have lived on a two income budget for over 5 years. When a spouse of a service member gets injured and cannot work, it is just as detrimental to the family as if the service member was hurt himself. I was making almost $3000 a month and went to nothing a month when I was hurt November 7th. So, I have lost approximately $9000 of income. I used all of what we had saved for Christmas and bills that have had to be paid in the last 3 months of me being out of work. Instead of just saying that you couldn't help financially for our bills I was given information about financial counseling, which made me feel even worse about myself for not being able to be at work. I do not need financial counseling. I know how to pay my bills and I do on time every month. I never expected to get hurt. Our financial situation was under control and we still had money left over to put my kids into their after school activities that they so choose to do. I completely expected to have my disability money by now. However, still at this date I do not. I really do believe as an organization for military families you should take into consideration that the spouse of the military personal is just as beneficial to the family unit and when they are hurt bills still have to be paid. I would love to be able to say that I am a stay at home mom and my husband is the only source of income, but I am not. In this day and age I do not see a family with 3 children being able to have a stay at home parent anymore. I hope your organization will take this is consideration when someone else in my situation calls in for help. Please don't automatically assume they don't know how to deal with their finances. People do not expect to get injured. When I did not only did I become hurt physically I became emotionally hurt. I am use to doing almost everything for my family. It took me swallowing my pride to finally reach out to someone for help.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A little

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Unsure

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Okay

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 26, 2013

My car broke down and the repair bill was far beyond what we could afford. However it was our only vehicle and we have two special needs kids not to mention my Active Duty Husband. I had exhausted every option that I could think of, even tried to get loans to help. I was at my wits end and thought that the world was going to end. I knew about Operation Home Front and some of the ways that they help. I went to their web site with the intention on seeing what kind of assistance they offer. The application was so easy to understand and fill out, my 4 year old could have done it for me. I was quickly contacted by a representative. We went over the basics and why this was an emergency. It was a fast process and we were able to get our car repaired. To top it off, they went above my expectations, my registration and insurance expired while my car was in the shop. Operation Home Front knowing that I needed the car road ready) went ahead and got me insurance started, paid the registration but that was no biggie. Thank you Operation Home Front for being our Family's "Knight" in shining armour when we thought all hope was lost.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 18, 2013

Operation Homefront was amazing in helping me and my family. After the paper work was submitted, I had a call the very next day rep Rebecca of the DC chapter who went through my application with me and asked for additional documents. The next day I submitted the requested docs and that same day my application was approved and my rent was paid. The next month, since I had not started working, and although I thought I would be denied, I applied anyway. To my amazement, I was approved the day after all documents were submitted. We are able to keep our home today thanks to operation Homefront. My family and I will forever remain grateful. Thank you for what you do to us.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 18, 2013

more

January 18, 2013

My experience with Operation Homefront is a complete run around. After I submitted dozens of personal paperwork from my drivers license to my wife's income they continue to drag their feet in providing emergency assistance. Finally, after the paperwork was submitted out of San Diego, CA to to a director for approval Heather(Operation Homefront) came back and asked me to provide dates and times of injuries because they only help Post 9/11 military members or veterans. I stated to Heather that the information she is asking for is on the VA Disability Letter. This organization is not about helping the military community, but to line pockets of those at the top and to make it look like they are really helping those that served in the military. I am going to ask CNN "Keeping Them Honest" to investigate this so call charity and to fine out why they put a strain on veterans and military community when they clearly do not provide assistance as they claim. Terrible organization my advice to active and retired members of the military go to the U.S. Military Aid Organizations for emergency assistance because they are honest and upfront in providing assistance. Remeber these organizations are for profiting the pockets of their excutive board. Operation Homefront is quick to provide food assistance because its cheaper and does not really cut into cost.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 7, 2013

Operation Homefront was able to take care of the needs of my 2 children and I. I am a single father with 2 kids that was in need of a blessing to get through the last couple of months. I am not a prideful man and I was blessed to have Operation Homefront and Mrs. Nancy Scull go far and beyond what I knew of an organization to do. They completely took care of the needs and were able to provide the help that I needed in order to make sure that my children were taken care of. From the first email to the last phone call, Operation Homefront did exactly what they said they would and Mrs. Nancy Scull was truly an Angel because she made sure to let me know all that was going on. Thank you so much to Operation Homefront for taking care of my children and I in this great time of need. God bless Operation Homefront and all those that serve within the Organization that make these blessings possible. Thank you Jesus for their hearts and for the donors that help in giving.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers