Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
1234.909095
Write A Review
November 14, 2012

more


1 previous review
November 19, 2011

Operation Help Now is a nonprofit organization that has immediate and far- reaching impacts on the communities it services. We help homeless children in developing nations directly, by taking them of... more

November 14, 2012

I started working with Operation Help Now when they were still mostly a student organization at UMass Dartmouth. This group of students had been to Haiti before (several times) and I was helping fund-raise for Hurricane Katrina relief. I met Ibe (who is now Exec. Dir., is one of the founders, and at the time was President of the student club) and learned about his trip to Sierra Leone when he founded the Second Chance of Life Home. He literally solved the manifold problems of child homelessness for a group of children he met living on the street. He did this in the most logical way possible- he rented them an appt., hired a very nice lady to cook and help care for them, and ensured that their caretaker had the resources he needed to take care of the kids when Ibe went back to the states- although he returns (with a big group of OHN volunteers) a few times a year. The Second Chance of Life Home is now completely leased by OHN (before it was a 2 bedroom appt. in the larger building) and filled with 30 happy, curious, healthy children, often more in the rainy season. These children (who were living on the streets struggling to survive) along with 12+ children in Haiti and now 11 in India, are all being taken care of by caring adults, having their physical and spiritual needs met (like food for the belly and for the soul, love and positive role models). This is the tip of the iceberg for this organization, there is so much more they have done before, are doing currently, and plan to do in the future. Get involved, find our more about OHN and how you can get involved to help the communities in which we work and live, and your own community! Try and live by the OHN Motto- Learn the Facts, Speak the Truth, Serve the Fallen. If you learn more about OHN and the problems we are solving you have already gotton involved- a big part of our mission is spreading awareness!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

Operation Help Now is a nonprofit organization that has immediate and far- reaching impacts on the communities it services. We help homeless children in developing nations directly, by taking them off the streets and out of the cycle of poverty. The Second Chance of Life Orphanage provides homeless children in Freetown, Sierra Leone with a place to live, clothes, food and clean water. Our caretakers are members of the local community who love and nurture these children, and try to lead them down a positive path in life.

By providing the next generation with access to education we empower motivated young people to change their lives and help their communities. Our scholarship programs in Sierra Leone and in Haiti provide motivated children with the opportunity to change their lives and ultimately help their communities. We pay for tuition, books, school supplies, uniforms, and transportation to and from school.

Operation Help Now has already helped a lot of children, but we need donations to keep going. Since 2007 OHN has been helping people in the US and abroad. Around 90 children in Sierra Leone have been taken off the street and are currently housed in our orphanage. They, as well as children in Haiti, go to school through our scholarship program. When you hear their stories, and how much they want to go to school and make a difference in their communities, you cannot help but get involved.

The people I have met through OHN since I joined in 2009 have been some of the most caring, passionate people I've ever met, and they have made a world of difference in these children's lives.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Sierra Leone, where children who were formerly living on the street and starving for food and love are now living in a safe home. These children are now cared for, fed, and sent to school.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

establish a reserve fund for unexpected expenses. This money will be set aside in case of possible increases in tuition, medical care, food costs, or emergencies such as accidents, illness, or natural disaster. We will be looking for volunteers to tutor children in our scholarship program. Tutoring can be done via skype, with donated computers and an internet connection. We are constantly improving and finding ways to provide more children with a better future.

April 21, 2014

more

April 21, 2014

by far one of the best non profit organizations that i ever supported- i know that my support goes right to the needs of these children and the workers that support it. May God bless this ministry.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 16, 2012

more

December 16, 2012

Operation Help now is an amazing organization that helps less fortunate children. When the executive director of the organization told me about the OHN I was hesitant because I felt it was probably similar to other nonprofit organizations. Upon viewing the videos that featured their target population, it’s apparent that Operation Help Now is unique. It is unique because of the kind of children they help. Bonded by poverty, unique by personal circumstances, operation help now strives to provide each child with shelter and opportunity to attain education to become future leaders of their society. In reading the profiles of the children it really draws the reader in to reach out to the organization because the children of OPH are truly restricted due to insufficient access to scarce resources. It’s definitely a good thing that operation help now exist to bring awareness and support to voiceless children. OHN really embodies social responsibility.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Operation Help Now is a small organization, but it is changing the lives of the children involved, and giving hope and a chance to break out of the cycle of poverty to the communities involved. Rather than taking children out of their communities, the Second Chance of Life Homes are at the heart of the community, and really are its future. The orphans are not the only ones who benefit- the people are the market who sell the food to the cook, the people who will someday sell goods to, or be employed by successful adults who received their education (and guidance, and compassion) through the scholarship program, all benefit financially, and the hope that a generation of educated and compassionate youth instils in a community is a powerful force for positive change. The people in the community who attend the big meals and soccer games organized by OHN members when they visit on biannual (or annual) service trips benefit too. They are given shoes and clothing donated in the US which are shipped over (I have helped with this packing) but not distributed until the service group gets there- this makes sure that everything goes directly to people who need it. OHN also spreads awareness of diseases and healthcare tips to prevent them, info on clean water and nutrition to help parents who want the best for their kids. This is a great way to help people directly. They are extremely transparent about where the money goes (always directly to the people being helped). For example, money send to sponsor a childs welfare is sent by money order to the caretakers in charge of the Home you are sponsoring, and they spend this on food and a stipend for the cook. The lease for the buildings are paid ahead of time, but sponsors are encouraged to contribute. Money sent for the scholarship program goes to the child's tuition and school uniform. OHN leaders are extremely ambitious about continuing to expand, and they encourage donors and volunteers to travel to these communities, participate in the service trips, and get involved as positive role models for these children. I know that by sponsoring the welfare and education of a child I am ensuring that these communities (and the global community) have a brighter future.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Individual OHN members always spread education, learn about problems, and try to find solutions in any community they visit. OHN addresses the problem of child homelessness by setting up and/or funding small, home- style orphanages that provide loving care, guidance, and other basic needs. The scholarship program (which pays tuition, transport, uniforms and school supplies) ensures these kids can thrive and realize their dreams- and talking to these kids you will find many of them want to learn skills and attain knowledge so that they can help other people! We currently have three orphanages in communities that are particularly struggling (and where we have strong connections with the community), where children are in need and we have been able to completely change these children's lives. These children were living on the street and trying to take care of themselves, at risk of or being exploited, working hard for scraps of food and sleeping outside, exposed to mosquitoes and dirty water that could make them sick, and deprived of everything but their drive to survive. OHN gets these children off the street, immediately addressing the problems they face, but also helping the community in the long term by allowing the next generation to thrive and learn the positive values of education and helping others. This organization is making sustainable, long- term change, but also immediately addressing the life- or- death problems that people face. OHN helps the hungry by feeding them, helps the thirsty by giving them water and digging and covering wells (and spreading education about clean water), help the homeless by building homes. None of the volunteers are paid, yet this organization has completely changed the lives of all the children in our programs, and really affected the lives of all people in the communities in which we work. Not only people in developing countries are helped- kids in our local communities in Boston and New Bedford also benefit from OHN programs that provide guidance, promote health, and show by example the power to change and rewarding feelings of volunteerism. OHN volunteers this past summer helped the homeless in a soup kitchen with children from that community (who we connected with through the new summer soccer program). You know that not only are you helping an adult get food and stay healthy, but you are showing a child that they too are making a difference, and it feels good! The kids in our orphanages know this better than anybody- they have great role models and they want to grow up to be like them- kind, compassionate, and confident that they can make a difference. Never before have I met such amazing, charitable people. I have never volunteered for another organization run completely by volunteers and sponsors, and it has made me realize how kind and giving people really can change the world. Like the kids in the organization (although I am an adult), I have been inspired and had my life changed by Operation Help Now.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Operation Help Now is a great organization with Inspiring and motivated members who want to make a very big impact in this world. The vision of this organization is centered on making an impact on a grand scale in many countries across the world. From Boston to New Orleans to Haiti to Sierra Leone, Operation Help Now's helping hands has reached numerous locations in just a few short years. As its influence grows, Operation Help Now we'll seek to give more to those who don't have and provide the means for them to help themselves. The potential is very high with this organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 17, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

July 17, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I am impressed by your work in Africa, Haiti and now within your own neighborhoods of Boston. Because of your organization, a group of young potentially vulnerable kids within the community are able to re-channel their energy for the better. One day you will be rewarded, be patience and continue to work hard! OHN has my support!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 17, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

July 17, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

i have been with this organization since 07. a wonderful organization to volunteer your time. OHN provide that safe haven for abandoned kids around third world countries by providing food, shelter and education in all ramification.i am glad to be a member of this great organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

After seeing and hearing about Operation Help Now’s work around the globe I have been motivated to show support to this organization which works effortlessly to help feed, clothe, educate and shelter children around the globe. I have I never seen the look of an impoverish country up close but I know that many people around the world are currently living through inhumane situations. Just a meal and a pair of shoes can change a child’s outlook on their future. I would encourage anyone who is interested in helping children in Haiti and Sierra Leone to make a generous donation to Operation Help Now and help spread the message of love. I love this organization they will come to your home and pick up schools supplies, old clothes and can foods to deliver to people in need no donation is ever too little.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 13, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

July 13, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Last summer I had the incredible oppertunity to see the work of operation help now up close. I traveled with them to Sierra leone, west Africa and witnessed the work there involved in. I visited the second chance home for children that they operate and meet the youth whose life's are changing because of this organization. We traveled to different area's of the country distributing clothing and supplies to countless needy children. I personally was blessed to be able to put shoes on children and see the smile on there faces and also there parents faces. Every donation (time, talent, material goods or money) gets directly to the people that need it the most!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help organize a clothing and pack clothes to send to developing countries. organize a local food drive to help your community or another. hold a bake sale, sell t- shirts, or collect donations that can be used to feed, clothe, and house children, or to send them to school and pay for books, uniform, and tuition. learn about the problems poverty creates or augments and how they can help.