Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
187 Reviews
1234.909095
Previous | 1 2 3...12 |
Write A Review
May 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Operation Gratitude is a true Charity where 96+% of all money donated goes back to the Vets for postage. All merchandise donated comes from Americas Best Companies such as,Target, Disney, Sony, See's Candies, and many many others. Additionally donations come from groups who send in donations of food, books, scarves, in addition to checks!
The volunteers are from middle schools as far as fifty miles away to seniors in their eighties, who show up every day! I have worked at other Charities, but this is the best.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013

more

April 9, 2013

I started volunteering because I was not able to serve my country. I wanted to do something for our soldiers and the families and friends that supported them. Being a wife of a Veteran, makes me happy just knowing how many incredible people out there. I am glad that I volunteer at such an amazing organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013

more

April 9, 2013

I have been working with OpGrat since 2010 and look forward to volunteering every time I get the chance to go. We drove 35 miles one way in LA traffic to get there and still enjoy the people and work that t hey do for our true American heroes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

This is an organization that makes soldiers in the field of battle know that they are not forgotten here at home and that what they are doing is greatly appreciated and important. Each box sent is filled with items that may be hard for them to get, but most importantly a hand written letter thanking them personally for their service. Heartfelt items like home made knitted scarves , woven bracelets, phone cards, girl scout cookies and candy are often included. Just having a place like this is so rewarding for volunteers who love our service men and women and want to help them in some way.

Irene S

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

What a wonderful group Operation Gratitude is! These people give their time and effort to send thousands of care packages to the men and women of our armed services serving overseas, our wounded warriors as well as the families at home . It is a honor to work with these dedicated, wonderful people. I have been moved to tears more than once when approached by an Operation Gratitude package recipient. Their gratitude and stories are always a moving experience.

I especially appreciate fact that people all over the country (even the world) can participate in sending the packages. Hand made items are included in every box and I know first hand these items come from all 50 states and beyond.

Here's to the March to a Million and BEYOND.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I 've been a volunteer at Operation Gratitude since it's first assemly day in the National Guard Armory. As a veteran, I am accutely aware of how important it is for the morale for our troops to know how much they are appreciated and supported. As a traveling representative for Operation gratitude I have come in contact with many all over the country who have been the recipients of our care Packages. Their response has been all one would need to want to up the ante and outdo what we have been able to do thus far. One of the best things about my experience with Op Grat is the kind of people I get to meet and work with; rich and famous, ordinary Joes and Janes, salt of the earth, giving and loving people of all ages who come together in a common patriotic effort. It has been one of the most satisfying and enriching experiences of my life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013

more

April 7, 2013

I started volunteering for Operation Gratitude in the fall of 2010. I have watched the organization grow over the past two plus years and am amazed at the dedication of this organization and its highly supportive volunteer base. With a simple cause, Operation Gratitude makes it easy to say thank you to our military currently serving as well as retired and former military personnel. I plan to continue to volunteer for this organization in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 9, 2011

This organization makes a difference in the lives of our troops. It is VERY important to let them know that they are NOT forgotten. These care packages send many goodies but most importantly CARING an... more

April 7, 2013

I have volunteered with Operation Gratitude since 2004. The organization is phenomenal in providing many avenues for American nationwide to express their thanks to the troops who put themselves in harms way in order to protect our freedom. Not only are the deployed troops supported so that they have no doubt they are NOT forgotten, but also Veterans, Wounded Warriors, Military Families, Children left behind (they serve too), First Responders and Care Givers.

Nothing is beyond Operation Gratitude's reach -- countless pallets of much needed items were collected and shipped immediately to aid victims of Super Storm Sandy right here at home on the east coast. People are touched near and far by this wonderful group and its FABULOUS team of volunteers of all ages, from all walks of life and all geographic areas.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 9, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

This organization makes a difference in the lives of our troops. It is VERY important to let them know that they are NOT forgotten. These care packages send many goodies but most importantly CARING and LOVE !!!!
I wanted to let them know someone is thinking about them - this organization does
it.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've seen the happy faces of those getting the care packages.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it to reach more people.

April 7, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 17, 2011

I started volunteering at Operation Gratitude on Memorial Day of 2004 and I knew immediately that there was no place I would rather be on such an important holiday. I continue to volunteer (now every... more

April 7, 2013

I have been volunteering with Operation Gratitude since Memorial Day Weekend 2004 and I have no intention of stopping! I knew immediately that it made Memorial Day more meaningful and personal to me & I still feel that way. I have been privileged to work in many areas and find good people in every one of them who are glad to be together doing something so personal to support our troops.

As the operation has grown, so have the friendships and determination to serve our troops, our vets, and their families and caretakers. I am always amazed at the generosity of our donors and the dedication of our volunteers, both on the weekends when we assemble packages to ship and during the week when all the behind the scenes get dirty kind of work has to be done.

I'm proud to be a volunteer and a donor to Operation Gratitude and I invite all of you in the LA area to come on down and check us out.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 17, 2011

I started volunteering at Operation Gratitude on Memorial Day of 2004 and I knew immediately that there was no place I would rather be on such an important holiday. I continue to volunteer (now every week day that I can) because Operation Gratitude gives me a tangible way to say thank you to our deployed troops.
The hearts of the people who donate and volunteer are focused on sharing a piece of home with our deployed military forces to remind them and assure them that we know they are 'there' and we miss and support them.
The donations are from volunteers and corporate sponsors. The work is done by a wide ranging collection of volunteers who come because they want to make a difference and leave as 'friends and family'.
The goal of our organization is not just to do more, but to do it better and to help donations get delivered intact and with a personal touch. Many donors come to put their donations into the boxes on the assembly line themselves.
It's a great place to 'serve' those who are serving us every day.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Thank you emails from dozens of deployed troops who take the time to let us know they received our package and what they did about it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them secure more protected storage areas for the donations and the processing.

April 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered in the community for over 40 years and helping with Operation Gratitude for 8 years has been the most rewarding volunteer experience of my life! Incredibly organized and always looking to improve. Operation Gratitude has developed an excellent reputation in the Los Angeles area and has thousands of volunteers who show up for every drive. Its founder, Carolyn Blashek, is one of the most honest, trustworthy and dedicated women I have ever known, and always handles things with class. It is an honor to be part of this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...12 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers